We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, Restful and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haddam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nehemiah Brainerd House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Haddam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This charming, quintessential Bed and Breakfast totally suited my tastes.  The home is beautiful; the quiet, bucolic location overlooking the Connecticut River is special; and the hosts superb. Highlights included enjoying delicious homemade cookies, a steaming bubble bath, and a late-winter walk along the Connecticut River next to a bird sanctuary at sunset. Maryan and Jeff Muthersbaugh are excellent, thoughtful and accommodating hosts. Their recommendation that I, an artist, visit nearby Chester--an art and restaurant mecca--was spot-on! I had a wonderful time, and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starcompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

My fiancée and I stayed at the Nehemiah Brainerd House this previous Valentine's Day and loved it! Maryan and Jeff were both very welcoming upon arrival and throughout our stay. Prior to arriving, Maryan fowarded me a great list of restaurants in the area that helped me choose where to make our reservation. When we arrived, they gave us a tour of the house that was restored to historical accuracy and very clean. We stayed in the Victorian Room, which was not only clean like the rest of the house, but also had a very comfortable bed and beautiful antique furnishings. In the butler's pantry, they had water, coffee, tea and cookies that were available to us during our stay. The living room was very comfortable to hang out in before we left for dinner, and Maryan and Jeff were very easy to talk to, especially if you like history and traveling. To top off our wonderful stay, Maryan's breakfast was delicious! She served fluffy homemade blueberry pancakes as well as fresh fruit, yogurt, granola and coffee. We also had a great conversation with both of them during breakfast that lasted almost until checkout!

We will definitely return to the Nehemiah Brainerd House and are excited to see both the Laurel Cottage and the Carriage House once it is completed!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PatrickCT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My fiance and I spent a night here in February. We had a fantastic time. The house itself is gorgeous. We stayed in the Victorian Room and it was great.

Jeff and Maryan were extremely friendly. This was our first time at a B&B and we will certainly be back. We are both vegetarians, and Maryan was very accommodating with making great food that we could eat for breakfast. There is also a very good vegan restaurant in the nearby town of Chester.

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great B&B in the area!

Room Tip: If you are looking for more privacy, book the cottage. We stayed in the Victorian room in the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have stayed in many B&Bs- but this one was outstanding. The innkeepers could not have been more helpful and genuinely nice. They like people- which you expect from an innkeeper, but not all convey this like Maryan and Jeff, who were helpful with directions and great conversationalists. The house is beautifully restored and filled with gorgeous antiques, and it set on a lovely piece of land overlooking the Connecticut River. The mattress was the most comfortable I've ever slept on. We only stayed one night, and normally I like to try different towns for variety, but we will definitely be back in the spring to check out that season in the Haddam area, and stay with Mayan and Jeff again. Looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: We loved the library- the cottage looked really cozy too, and may stay there next time. They are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were looking for a quiet place to offset the hustle and bustle of NYC. I lucked out finding this Gem in the Conneticut River Valley. I received alot of helpful information about attractions and restaurants in the local area and it was conveniently located near the Goodspeed Opera House where we attended a play. Maryan and Jeff went out of their way to make us all feel very welcome in their house which was wonderfully decorated, warm and inviting. I would not hesitate to give them the highest of reccomendations and if given the chance to visit the area I would most definitely stay at The Brainerd House again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We've spend the last four days here and must leave tomorrow. Excellent accommodations in their beautiful home and cottage. Jeff and Maryan are sweet and wonderful innkeepers. Food is excellent. They suggested wonderful things to do. Lovely place, lovely host and hostess, lovely trip. The only thing wrong is that we are not able to stay longer!

Room Tip: Cottage was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had only one night to stay which is too bad because this is a truly lovely place. Quiet and set back from the road, the house and its furnishings are very high-end, very comfortable and relaxing. The owners are a delight, the food excellent and plentiful. They are very close to the river and there is a easy and relaxing walk to take nearby. If you have the time and resources, rent the cottage! - which we did not, but will consider in the future if we come back to the area. We really needed some comfort time and this was the place!

Room Tip: There is not a "second choice" in the place. Any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomcheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nehemiah Brainerd House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nehemiah Brainerd House B&B

Address: 988 Saybrook Road, Route 154, Haddam, CT 06438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Haddam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Haddam
Price Range: £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nehemiah Brainerd House B&B is a restored 18th-century home located on five acres overlooking the beautiful Connecticut River in historic Haddam, Connecticut. Antique-filled rooms provide comfort with modern conveniences and include a hearty breakfast. The Laurel Cottage is the perfect secluded romantic escape. Come enjoy the rural beauty of Connecticut. Hike, bike, kayak, shop or dine. The acclaimed Goodspeed Opera House is only five minutes away! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing