We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

The St Michaels Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The St Michaels Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Myself and my wife enjoyed a short break in th St Andrews area, using The St Michaels Inn as our base. I would definately recommend this hotel, not only for price but also for the food and the friendly staff. The room tends to get warm in the evening and being on a busy road the noise can be a nuisance, this however is a small price to pay and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlie_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    32
    14
    5
    13
See reviews for
43
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Whent to St Andrews for a few day's holiday,and found this charming Hotel a five,ten mins just out side St Andrews.We went for food and for the price it was good and a very lot of food on the the plate.The staff were freindlay.So thought we would just stay here.We got a family room witch was good as the kids where in a room just off our's and had a big bathroom,the rooms wree nice and big,in the morning we went down for breakfast and had the full scottish,that set us up for the day trip out.All in all very good place too stay,the kids loved it there and want to come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a great time and the staff were so helpfull and our room was just perfect.
The breakfast was just fab and thank you to sarah for looking after us so well .
The bus service was very good every 15 minutes to St Andrews and it took us 15 miutes to get there .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sibina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Having booked 4 rooms for family members for 1 night 1 room for 2 nights at what turns out to be a very over rated price of £80 per night was then told on check out that our room was a family room at a cost of £120 on booking rooms my wife was told that was the only room left. After discussion re room understood wrongly as it would seem that she had agreed a price of £80 as there would only be 2 of us therefore no only 1 bed to make up and only 2 breakfasts not 4.
She was also told that the rooms would be available from 11 am which was good as we had to be at said wedding for 12.15pm we would have time to check in and get dressed etc.
On arrival we met Mr Cruickshank ( owner ) who told us the rooms would not be available untill 12.30pm and that the person (one of his staff ) should not have said 11.30 am and that he should not meddle in things he knew nothing about.
Not what we wanted to here however it gets worse he then told us that we could share with our sons until our rooms were ready so there we were grandparents and parents sharing rooms with sons and grandsons all getting dressed for a wedding, family members sitting out on landing and corridors not ideal.
Next morning breakfast was another disaster 2 young girls taking orders and cooking breakfast ,toast arrived cold 4 at the table the girls breakfast was served and finished before they eventually arrived with the mens which I might add looked disgusting and tasted same no surprise there.Obviously not chefs !!!!
The egg was cold the haggis if you could call it that needless to say did not even
attempt to eat. Two ladies at another table had to ask for their order to be taken you must be getting the picture by now,looking at other tables almost everybodys plate had most of contents left. Need I tell you more.
The rooms and decore are dated back in the eighties,the whole place needs a good tidy up and modernisation/refurb.
On check out I questioned the bill at £120 for our room to the have a conversation with owner re he could have sold room 100 times over and that we have to pay full price no come and go even after pointing out that he had 4 rooms let to our family and 1 for 2 nights had no come and go.I pointed out that if that was his attitude then we would never be back he replyed that that was up to me.
We could have booked a room at St Andrews Old Course for £120.
Lesson to be learned always go and check out before booking ask to see rooms and get price confirmed.
To sum up not to be recommended whole experience a total disaster as for the owners I reckon a course in hotel & hospitality management and people skills is a must

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wotherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We had to return one of our meals (bangers and mash).
The mashed potato was neither mashed nor potato, rather a lumpy, soggy disgusting goo.
The caramelised onions were not caramelised and the Cumberland sausage had a deathly grey pallour.
Although the waitress was most apologetic, neither the manager or chef bothered to grace us with their presence to explain why such sub standard food was presented.
We shan't patronise this establishment again.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gar27Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I spent my wedding night at this Inn, the staff were great and the food was good pub food. My only real problem was the room, for starters we had booked the room they use for honeymooners but this was given to one of our guests. Never mind we were given a small double bedroom with en suite. The room was dated but clean but it was freezing!! Being an old Inn the windows were not double glazed but the problem was one small radiator beside the window to heat the bedroom & en suite. Even the one blanket supplied was not enough to make the bed cosy so no romance that night. The bathroom had no heating just a heated towel rail and I gave up on the shower as after 10 minutes a luke warm spray appeared with limited water pressure. I gave up for fear it would go stone cold. All in all even to cold for my new husband who loves keeping cool. A nice Inn just would not want to stay there again unless I was practicing for Artic training.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Contrary to the stated address, the hotel is neither in Leuchars nor St Andrews. Google maps told us it was 1.4miles from our destination, in reality it was closer to 10! Staff are aware of this and yet have done nothing to solve the issue.

Double room requested however we arrived to find three single beds instead! At no point were we contacted by the hotel to inform us of the change. After requesting to see the manager we were left to wait (he never did turn up!). Staff had no customer service skills (with the exception of one lovely girl on breakfast).

Shower had next to zero pressure due to a leak in the hose but nothing was done to fix it even after a complaint.

All in all a disappointing experience, would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leuchars
2.0 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
206 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 16 in St Andrews
3,065 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 16 in St Andrews
1,263 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
5.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Michaels Inn

Property: The St Michaels Inn
Address: St Michaels By Leuchars, Leuchars, St Andrews KY16 0DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Leuchars
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The St Michaels Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The St Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Michaels Hotel St. Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing