We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely litle Hotel not far from St Andrews”

The St Michaels Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St Michaels Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely litle Hotel not far from St Andrews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was our second stay at this Hotel and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. We had an evening meal on both nights of our stay and the food was very good. The full Scottish breakfast is second to none, neither my partner nor myself could it all but only because of the amount of food. Service is very good and the staff so friendly. The owner cannot do enough to help and look after you. Other reviews have said that the Inn is dated, thats its charm to us. We thorougly enjoyed our stay and have already booked our next weekend at St Michaels Inn in October. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    32
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
42
34
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Fantastisc food, excellent service and really nice prices. Try the steak pie - its smashing. You also have to try the cajun chicken salad! For dessert you must try the varm chocolate cake or the sticky toffee pudding.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuchars, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stopped there on passing for Sunday lunch. Selected the daily special of Roast beef which was overcooked and tough. The gravy was watery and pretty tastless. The mixed vegetables gave the impression of being left overs. My first and last visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spikemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed one night on the way north. The room (en-suite double) although a bit dated was clean and comfortable.The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was very good (evening meal) only minor issue - 1/2 pint guinness served in wine glass and promptly went flat.
Would thoroughly recommend the full Scottish breakfast - beautifully cooked, piping hot and very satisfying.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wemyss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stopped here for lunch with family. Cracking meal well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnybhoy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Spent a week here at the end of June. The floors are squeaky and some of the furniture is a bit worn however , apart from these minor issues the place is good and very reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and helpful , providing a great service , even showing me directly to my room on arrival. The food was delicious with plentiful servings. It is really handy for cycling or walking in the Tentsmuir forest and Fife Coastal Path. St Andrews is about 5 miles away with a very regular bus service passing next to the hotel. Will stay again on my next trip to Fife.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to overlook the road so none is particularly quieter than another. Room 4 had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTripover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed for one night in May the accommodation is fine a bit dated and a bit chilly not the best heating system but a comfy bed.
The food is really great and the staff are pleasant So overall a great weekend stay while walking the Fife Coastal Path

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4me4you4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leuchars
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.0 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
5.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Michaels Inn

Property: The St Michaels Inn
Address: St Michaels By Leuchars, Leuchars, St Andrews KY16 0DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Leuchars
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St Michaels Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your The St Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Michaels Hotel St. Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing