We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“P&G”

The St Michaels Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St Michaels Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“P&G”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is a nice relaxing place to eat, the food is we'll cooked and tasty, all is clean, however Toilet lets it down could do with refurb of Bar toilet, However that would not put you off.the staff friendly and attentive and I got the impression that the Management does go the extra mile. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    32
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
42
34
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

2 of us enjoyed a lovely meal last night at this Hotel. Very quick service considering there was also a function on. Ordered steaks , cooked exactly as we requested.Pleasant surroundings and altogether a nice experience

Room Tip: Didn,t use the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had dinner here on a Saturday evening and found the lounge of the St. Michaels Inn to be clean, cosy and comfortable.
The menu was varied, the food was very good and the staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive. The price was very reasonable. We had an enjoyable evening and intend to go back. As none of us stayed overnight we can't comment on the rooms or sleep quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JScott371987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Been in for functions a couple occasions in the past and everything was not too bad, but recently went in one evening with my husband, food looked appetising enough, not sure about the chips, bit too spicy for me - however it was the very large, sparp bone that was in my steak-pie that really put me off, along with the attitude of the management.
The bone had cut the inside of my mouth and when my husband asked for another napkin, the poor young waiter did not know what to do (dont think he liked the sight of blood) - he was most appologetic and instantly removed my plate (without being asked to) with more than half my meal still on it................... Im still waiting for it to be returned.
Management were on site and were told of the incident, although they passed us numerous times neither came to see if I was alright.................
When my husband went to pay the bill - FULL BILL - he was told Ohhhh sorry I didnt realise your wife wasnt finished her meal, half eaten, badly cut gum and a 16 year old telling us that the boss will contact the supplier about the bone................... Not the best customer service from the boss
We certainly wont be back.......................

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alibumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stopped here for lunch on two occasions whilst travelling from Dundee to Clayton. To be fair on both occasions the food was excellent to good but it was the service that varied.
The first time there was a wedding in another part of the hotel and the older gentleman serving us was very up front about it and told us there may be a longer than usual wait. There was, but since we were pre-warned at least we'd had the choice to stay or go elsewhere. Since we weren't in a rush we ordered drinks and chilled out. The food took about 40-50 minutes but when it arrived it was good, hot decent pub/restaurant fayre. Our server, waiter, barman was very attentive, friendly and polite but unfortunately was on his own and so service for drinks etc was slow.
On our second visit there was no wedding so the food was served much quicker by a young woman this time. So quick that my baked camembert was served in about 10 minutes, which means it must have been partly microwaved since it takes at least 20-25 minutes normally (I make it at home regularly). The food was not quite as good as the first time (or else my expectations had been raised) but there wasn't much in it, and although the service was quicker it was slightly less friendly and personal.
Overall though, still a nice place to eat, lots of parking, didn't need to book, nice decor etc. Not too dear, just about pub grub prices to be honest. We will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangerousbryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just been to a family funeral in Leuchars and went to St Michaels afterwards.More people than expected turned up but the room,food and service were first class.Many thanks to the owners and staff for making a bad day a little more bearable

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveyboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Good food, great location near b&b and great service ...will eat here again next time we're visiting st Andrews for the golf! Didn't stay in the inn but b&b was two minutes walk away. We hadn't booked but staff were very obliging and fitted us in .. no complaints what so ever.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank franfigures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leuchars
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
5.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Michaels Inn

Property: The St Michaels Inn
Address: St Michaels By Leuchars, Leuchars, St Andrews KY16 0DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Leuchars
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St Michaels Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your The St Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Michaels Hotel St. Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing