We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet but nice meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St Michaels Inn

The St Michaels Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St Michaels Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quiet but nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stopped here for a Saturday evening meal a few weeks ago, theother diners in the window area were mostly elderly, and atmosphere was a bit flat and quiet, however this was more than made up for, by the varied menu and the excellent food! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMayesFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
42
33
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I stopped for lunch, they had a very good menu, I opted for the cullen skink as a starter and the fish pie for my main course, my wife did not have a starter but opted for the chicken pie. The soup was ok and fresh, the fish pie was dry as a bone and consisted mainly of mashed potato. My wife's chicken pie looked ok until you removed the pastry to see what could only be described as grey soup. We did not stay for anything else, one of the worst meals I have ever had and I eat out a lot especially in Fife.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was here on Saturday night with my aunt. She lives locally and has been lots of times and I have probably been there three or four times. We had an excellent meal. The staff were very friendly, particularly the young guy who served us There is a big car park and I have never found it difficult to get out of there even though it is right beside the main road.

Room Tip: I have never stayed there so cannot comment on the rooms or facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shesheanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stopped here for lunch two weeks ago. Nice welcome and best haddock ive had for a long time
Good menu with lots of choice. Enjoyed a couple of games of pool afterwards.Only negatives were a slightly surly waitress and the inns located at a busy crossroads so not easy getting out of carpark

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Realdiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Recently enjoyed an evening meal here and really, in general was impressed with most aspects of this restaurant. Reviewing anywhere has to be realistic and essentially,you are not going to select the St Michaels Inn if what you want is a gourmet feast.However, on the evening that we ate there, we had good service, food which was hearty and good value for the price we paid and generally a pleasant enough meal.
Decor is dated and jaded as with nearly all eating places in Scotland - and hotels - but all in all, we had a nice enough experience.

Most restaurants use frozen chips so I expected this to be the case here also and it was - but, I have to say,I didn't at all like the frozen chips used here-they seemed to have a coating on them which is very unnatural - also not at all suitable for the many people who are coeliac, as the coating inevitably contains gluten- so not a positive in that respect - maybe the chef needs to be aware of that.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stopped off on the way back from Dundee, we didnt have a booking but there was a vacancy even though it was mothers day. The trip to Dundee was to take our mind off the recent bereavement with the meal to finish off a nice day. The young girl showed us to our table and was soon replaced by a young lad, we place our order for the gammon steak and the Balmoral chicken. We asked the waiter what the veg was and head advised chips, which we ordered along with a side salad. The drinks were supplied and shortly afterwards the starter arrived for me, tempura prawns, deep fried prawns served with a chillie sauce.
The batter on the prawns could have done with a little longer in the deep fat fried as the batter was still a bit soft, we then sat back and awaited the main course to which mine duly arrived, my wifes arrived in a bowl of chips and a side salad. I believed that the other dish would shortly arrive when the waiter returned to the kitchen so started to eat my meal. Whilst eating my meal I noticed that the staff appeared to be congregating around the bar area for some reason, trying to get attention to order my wife another drink was nearly impossible. When I did get someones attention I then awaited another 5 mins before the drink arrived, it was at this moment that I inquired as to my wife's meal, he looked a bit lost and then rushed off into the kitchen. He came back shortly and then attempted some form of apology and explained there was a minor problem in the kitchen and that the meal would be delivered soon. I continued to eat my dinner, calling over a waitress to take away the bowl of chips as by this time they were cold and needed heating. At this moment my wifes meal arrived and there were chips on the plate along with seasonal vegetables which were supposed to be a side salad. Needless to say both my wife and myself were totally unimpressed with both the service and the actual meal and since we were already suffering from the bereavement we left the location as soon as we had finished our meal. Im sorry but I have to say that this has been the worst service that I have received in some time, I do travel a lot and dont expect a lot but I do expect to be served adequately and served what we order. For £50 (Actually £48.10) the meal was appalling to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scotsnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is a nice relaxing place to eat, the food is we'll cooked and tasty, all is clean, however Toilet lets it down could do with refurb of Bar toilet, However that would not put you off.the staff friendly and attentive and I got the impression that the Management does go the extra mile. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leuchars
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.1 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St Michaels Inn

Property: The St Michaels Inn
Address: St Michaels By Leuchars, Leuchars, St Andrews KY16 0DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Leuchars
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuchars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St Michaels Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The St Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St Michaels Hotel St. Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing