We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome, Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leuchars
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #1 of 4 Leuchars B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome, Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We arrived early at the White House and Anne greeted us warmly. The room was lovely with a beautiful view of the fields and horses beyond the house. Very comfortable, nice large bed. The bathroom was the biggest and most beautiful bathroom we had during out 2.5 weeks in Scotland with plenty of space to move around and surface area to put our toiletries, etc. Great towels. The guest lounge was beautiful and the breakfast was just wonderful. Bowls of fresh berries, pineapple, at least 5 or 6 other fruits as well, yogurts, breads, etc. along with fabulous eggs, bacon and Scottish breakfast fare. Just terrific quality. The best part, though, was Anne herself. She is lovely, warm and authentic. Welcoming and kind and just great at what she does. This was our favorite b&b during our stay and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WethersfieldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

After our long driving trip we were made very welcome by Anne. Our room was excellent for the 3 of us with a wonderful en suite. In the morning going into the dining room the amount of fruit and cereals was unbelievably abundant and the full scottish breakfast was amazing. Anne was really really helpful when we asked anything and we would recommend The White House 100%. We will definately be ringing Anne next year if daughter qualifies again for St Andrews!Sophie really enjoyed her stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed just for one night with my family - will definitely come again if we ever go to St. Andrews. Spacious clean and modern rooms, extensive breakfast, very friendly owner.

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had a fantastic time. The breakfast was especially enjoyable. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Anne's friendly welcome and attention to detail providing everything a family could want made this a great place to stay when we were thousands of miles from home. The setting is idyllic and recommend the White House Inn without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughLizMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

A lovely bandb made even more enjoyable by Anne Wotherspoon's hospitality in meeting my needs as a coeliac with a gluten free breakfast. The accommodation was great and we were made welcome. It is always reassuring when your host not only understands a special dietary problem but is pleased to help. Many thanks. JandJMittagong

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJMittagong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leuchars
1.6 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
5.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 4 in Leuchars
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Leuchars Lodge, Leuchars, St Andrews KY16 0EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Leuchars
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leuchars
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing