We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leuchars
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #1 of 4 Leuchars B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had an extra day and hadn't booked ahead or checked out any website - so this lovely house and host was a wonderful surprise. A warm welcome, a beautiful house and a great breakfast.

The room was comfortable, the bed just perfect for sleeping and the bathroom was marvelous. We watched a deer in the meadow out of our window in the morning and the new born foal in the neighbors field - such a nice start to the day! Breakfast was a fabulous assortment and we ate while looking out across the fields, so peaceful.

Anne was a joy to meet. She keeps the house immaculate, makes a great breakfast and makes sure you have anything you need. There is lots of information at hand as you leave so if you have any free time, you'll find something fun to do.

I was so happy we found this lovely place, and have no doubt we'll be back. If you want the excitement and golf of St. Andrews, but a peaceful nights sleep, this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_n_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed in the White House B&B for a week and had a wonderful experience! The room was spacious and had a lovely view of fields and horses. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless and extremely large. Anne was a wonderful host who went out of her way to accommodate me as a guest! She was truly a wonderful host! For breakfast you had a variety of options all of which were delicious. This B&B is also right on a bus route which will take you to either St Andrews or Dundee, both of which are about 10 minutes away. I honestly couldn't have asked for a better experience and will definitely stay here again in the future! Thanks for a great experience Anne!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Booked this B&B as it was reasonably priced and close to the train station as we were going to a weddnig in St Andrews. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Rooms are clean and spacious with big en suite. Breakfast was great the next morning. Very friendly lady. Will be using this as a base for all our Scottish trips!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJJCOOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We arrived early at the White House and Anne greeted us warmly. The room was lovely with a beautiful view of the fields and horses beyond the house. Very comfortable, nice large bed. The bathroom was the biggest and most beautiful bathroom we had during out 2.5 weeks in Scotland with plenty of space to move around and surface area to put our toiletries, etc. Great towels. The guest lounge was beautiful and the breakfast was just wonderful. Bowls of fresh berries, pineapple, at least 5 or 6 other fruits as well, yogurts, breads, etc. along with fabulous eggs, bacon and Scottish breakfast fare. Just terrific quality. The best part, though, was Anne herself. She is lovely, warm and authentic. Welcoming and kind and just great at what she does. This was our favorite b&b during our stay and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WethersfieldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

After our long driving trip we were made very welcome by Anne. Our room was excellent for the 3 of us with a wonderful en suite. In the morning going into the dining room the amount of fruit and cereals was unbelievably abundant and the full scottish breakfast was amazing. Anne was really really helpful when we asked anything and we would recommend The White House 100%. We will definately be ringing Anne next year if daughter qualifies again for St Andrews!Sophie really enjoyed her stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed just for one night with my family - will definitely come again if we ever go to St. Andrews. Spacious clean and modern rooms, extensive breakfast, very friendly owner.

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had a fantastic time. The breakfast was especially enjoyable. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leuchars
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Leuchars Lodge, Leuchars, St Andrews KY16 0EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Leuchars
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leuchars
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing