We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite Indian spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumin India

Cumin India
Ranked #16 of 163 Restaurants in Hamden
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I go to Cumin at least once a month! Sometimes twice. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. I never wait long for my food. My favorite is the chicken korma or bangin bharta. Everything I eat there is always good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
357 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a Great buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went here to try the lunch buffet and we're really glad that we did. Everything was fresh and hot with nice flavor. Chicken Tiki Masala was very good as was the Nann and Mango Chuney and of course a shared ice cold bottle of Taj. I highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely returbn

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
249 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Don't let the converted IHOP exterior fool you- the Indian food here is very good and the service is also nice. Once inside, the decor is far from what you would expect. Prices were very reasonable. I would recommend this restaurant for someone looking for quality Indian food in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the old IHOP in Hamden. I expected it to look like the old IHOP on the inside. It didn't. The decor was nice, tasteful and I thought authentic. I felt like I was in an Indian restaurant and not a house of pancakes. The service was EXCELLENT. They filled our water glasses constantly and the staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. Ordered the veggie samosas for an app (never had them). They were good. Different. Ordered the chicken naan. GREAT. The naan was hot and fresh and there was fresh cilantro in it. Delicious. My husb ordered the chicken patia (mango sauce) & I the chicken madras. Both were delicious. I liked his a bit more but then, I like slightly sweet things. The prices were reasonable. Actually quite affordable. Everything was between $11-$15 a plate, I'd say. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank schweig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I love this resturant. Authentic food fair pricing ...wonderful service..They really cater to the customer..I enjoy going here

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luvin1nacharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cumin India also viewed

 

Been to Cumin India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing