We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning,fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westbourne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westbourne House
Ranked #1 of 4 Millport B&B and Inns
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“stunning,fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

me my wife and friend stayed in 1 of the caravans over august bank holiday for scooter weekend ,very clean and the views were amazing,the owners were very friendly from the time we arrived till the time we departed,will be returning next yr.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you enjoyed your Bank Holiday Break with us, it is always a pleasure to have guests like yourselves to stay.

See you all next year.
Kind Regards

Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westbourne for 2 nights; it was our first visit but hopefully won't be our last. Jane and Stuart exchanged friendly communications with us from the time of booking, giving tips on places to eat and so on, and gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived. We had the Wee Cumbrae room which was immaculate, with a very comfortable bed and side sea view over to the room's namesake island. The hotel is set in a peaceful and picturesque corner just outside of Millport but still within a 15 minute walk (or short taxi ride if you prefer!) of the town centre, pubs and restaurants. Breakfasts were tasty with plenty of choice - including vegetarian sausages and smoke salmon with scrambled egg - and the dining room had breathtaking views over to Arran and Bute. We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor and choosing Westbourne House for your recent stay.

Hope to see you both soon

Kind Regards

Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was our third time staying at the Westbourne and we were not disappointed. We had the family room, Bute, which is spacious, stylish and comfortable, with amazing views of the Islands of Bute and Arran. The service by Stuart and Jane is personal yet discreet. Breakfast is delicious and the breakfast room is very grand. Our party consisted of myself (granny), my two grandchildren aged 10 and 7 (their third time at the Westbourne too) and my daughter and her little girl of 13 months (first timers!). There was plenty of room for all of us, although we did bring our own travel cot and "baby stuff". We stayed for three nights and had a great time. This is Cumbrae's hidden gem and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for posting your positive feedback on Trip Advisor and choosing Westbourne House for your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience during your stay.

Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to Westbourne House.

Kind Regards

Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My family and I have stayed in Westbourne 3 times now staying in the cottage and caravan and my Dad in the hotel. All are very clean and comfortable and location is lovely and peaceful. The owners Stuart and Jane are very friendly and helpful and always make us very welcome. We will return again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COCKBURNS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor and choosing Westbourne House for your recent stay.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you all again soon


Kind Regards

Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We had a really lovely over night stay. Hotel was very clean and we were welcomed by Stuart. Our room was Wee Cumbrae, which was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast which was served by Jane was very good. My grand daughter cant wait to go back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Gran & Sophie
Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor and choosing Westbourne House for your recent stay.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you both again soon.

Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

a wonderful B&B where myself and my girlfriend were made to feel extremely welcome and comfortable by stuart and jane.
We just stayed for one night but it was really delightful the room was lovely, very comfortable, nicely designed and with a great view of the sea. We stayed in the 'wee cumbrae' room and it was ideal for our needs.
The island of millport itself is so relaxing and it was great to forget the stresses of art school for a while.
the whole process was a breeze, communication with jane and stuart was excellent and we knew we would be in for a treat before we even got there.
breakfast was also delicious and served in a delightful and relaxing room and served by our delightful hosts.
we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to visit again and stay for longer.
highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Westbourne house as your getaway in Millport

We thank you once more for your valuable time and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jane and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We only had one night at the Westbourne which was a real pity. My friend and I had a room each with a shared private bathroom. Both were spotless and whatever I needed in my room was there to be found. The view from my single room was probably the best view I have ever seen out of a window with the sun setting beside Arran and Wee Cumbrae and Bute also lit beautifully by the sun.

There were fresh flowers in my room along with tea making facilities and tourist information.

Recommendations were given when we booked about travel, restaurants all of which made our stay go like clockwork. I think the rooms were all full that night but we had a quiet undisturbed night with a pleasant breakfast to follow, having chosen what we would like to eat the night before.

I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Sea view is preferable because it is so gorgeous to look out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaberGlasgow, Owner at Westbourne House, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review on Trip advisor. It is good to know that we have succeeded in making your stay so enjoyable.

Thank you for your positive comments.

Kind Regards

Stuart and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millport
14.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
4.9 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dawn Break Guest House
4.2 mi away
The Broom Lodge
The Broom Lodge
#11 of 24 in Largs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne House

Property: Westbourne House
Address: Westbourne House West Bay | Millport, Millport KA28 0HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > The Cumbraes > Great Cumbrae > Millport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millport
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering cottages and static caravans available sleeping a maximum of 4 plus a baby, min 2 nights stay during low season, 3 , 4 and 7 nights during high seasons, please see website or telephone for further information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westbourne House Millport, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing