We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Room and excellent Steak Pie!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Millport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Just returned after a one night stay for my husband's birthday!! Acccommodation was very comfortable with a jacuzzi bath. We had our Dinner which included an excellent steak pie. Home made the old fashioned way with sausages included. This came with lovely wee new potatoes done in butter with a selection of veg - cooked well - carrots, turnip, brocolli and cauliflower. After a very comfortable nights sleep had a great full scottish breakfast. Margaret Kennedy - the owner - was very friendly and professional. Will return for a weekend another time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

i booked this trip as a birthday trip for my husband's 70th -we love the island and he loves fishing. We had booked Monday to Thursday but, due to the weather, the ferries were cancelled. I phoned Margaret and it was no problem for her to change our booking to a day later. We booked The Waverley Suite which was beautiful - lounge, bedroom and a bathroom to die for. Food was great and all the staff made us very welcome -restaurant and bar. One downside - my husand didn't manage to catch any fish. Looking forward to our next visit ........

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We live 60 miles away and are ashamed to say we had never been to Millport. Six of us went over for the pipeband competition,we stayed at the Royal George Hotel for 1 night (wish it had been a week). Cannot praise it enough. Everything was 1st class, lovely rooms,great breakfast(cooked to order)and the staff were so friendly and helpful. A special thankyou to Margaret whose kindness and hospitality made our stay so special. We will definately be back next year. Thankyou for everything .
ps. your wee island is lovely!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

myself and partner stayed at royal george hotel for the one night wee were made to feel very welcome. room was beautifull so was the views had great day and night, got great sleep breakfast in morning was lovely. when myself and partner were leaving wee wished we had booked the two nights. recomend staying there i will defenetly be back. margaret and her staff were very friendly. would like to say thank you for your hospitality. Rose anne Tam

Room Tip: The Sannox has great views and very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseanne41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My wife and I have visited Millport many times but never to stay, the choice of hotels is limited to say the least. The service at this hotel was first class,the room we were given had excellent views, enhanced by the lovely weather we had. Cleanliness could not have been improved upon and the room was exceptionally well maintained during our stay. The hotel was very quiet at night and staff were all first rate and really friendly. The only negatives were that the bar was well used but fairly obviously the hotel is being "revived" so time will no doubt improve things in that department. Unfortunately meals were not served after 6.30. p.m but we were told this in advance as it was early in the season. Would most certainly return and intend to.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacillus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Had a great meal, food was brill.staff was so friendly could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

rooms superb grubb firstclass staff were amazin i was workin on the police house i stayed ther twice i hope to be back very soon i felt as if i was in my own house i was made that welcome .(wee tam fea morris& spottiswood )

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graffter186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millport
4.1 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
20.7 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
14 mi away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
16.8 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal George Hotel

Address: 1-3 Quayhead Street, Millport KA28 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > The Cumbraes > Great Cumbrae > Millport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Millport
Price Range: £35 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Millport pier the newly refurbished George Hotel now boasts 5 suites, 3 luxury rooms and 3 standard rooms. The suites have their own lounge, double bedroom, Jacuzzi bath or twin steam shower. Luxury double rooms have balconies with stunning views over the River Clyde, shower/steam room or a state of the art shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal George Hotel Millport, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing