We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Millport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having stayed here a few times I can only say that the rooms are lovely, the views spectacular ( if you're at the back) and the staff friendly. However, I feel that the breakfast lets it down. There is no fresh fruit, a lack of choice of cereals and the cooked breakfast is inadequate and not good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your review; I am glad that you enjoyed the most of your stay at the Royal George - however I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your breakfast.
There should be fresh fruit, 2 choices of fruit juice and breakfast is cooked to order; we have never had a complaint about breakfast - if anything we have had many complements but I have recently employed a new member of staff to cook breakfast. I will monitor breakfast over the next few days and make changes/employ training as required.
I feel that breakfast is a large part of a guest's stay at a hotel and will ensure that we regain our former standards.
Please contact me via email and I will send you a gift certificate for your next stay at the Royal George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I was at the same birthday weekend and would just like to say that the food was good too. So good that Jackie the manager thought that I'd licked my plate. The curry was lovely. Would return for a quieter weekend too!!!

Room Tip: Sannox looked out over the sea. Scenic. Rooms on other side of hotel overlook the square...good if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caulieflowerlettuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My whole family stayed here last weekend for my son's 30th birthday. There were 21 of us and we were made to feel most welcome. The staff organised tables for us and kindly brought out the birthday cake after dinner. The rooms were equipped with towels /toiletries etc . The bar staff were very friendly and helpful despite us being quite a noisy bunch. ! I have no complaints and would certainly return for another (quieter) stay .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeana58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Dont know where the earlier reviewer was, but Ive always found the rooms to be spotless, the staff,friendly and the scenery gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and mine had a balcony overlooking the sea and it was perfect for a romantic weekend away with my partner. Highly recommend

Room Tip: I loved the room with the sea balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FanHeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited the Royal George with friends for an evening meal and although the decor was rather run down the atmosphere was good and the service quick and the staff very friendly. We even discovered that Elvis Presley was a regular visitor to Great Cumbrae! A good selection of dishes on the menu and at very reasonable prices. Easy parking and the hotel is right next to the harbour - a good view and the bus to the ferry stops outside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have just read a response to a review left by my partner. In it the manager practically calls us liars. We DID have to wait half an hour to get a key to the wrong room. Also, the statement that two different rooms were booked in the same name. Again, untrue. The name for our room had been taken incorrectly by the hotel.
A point I would like to make, in the hospitality business usually a hotel/restaurant/bar go out of their way to make sure guests/clients are content. They also take feedback in and use it to improve their service. Simply replying with allegations of lying and weak excuses is not good enough. And a decent hotel would have offered discount after showing guests to the wrong room and failing to provide them with a working shower in the morning.

Room Tip: Faulty towers. I'd camp in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jonnyginge666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meganIsleofCumbrae, Manager at The Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your review
here is a copy of my response to your partner's review
10 October 2012

Thank you for your review.
I do remember your stay as we do not often have a mix up with keys, however I am positive that you did not have to wait half an hour for a key.
As was explained to you the problem arose because we had two guests with the same name both book standard rooms for the same weekend - the other guests arriving the day before you did and were given the standard room booked to you. As this was a mistake it appeared that the key for your room was missing and you were given a spare key for the room which was already occupied. This was an error on our behalf for which I do apologise, as both rooms are exactly alike you were then shown to the other room.
No request for any discount or compensation was made.
As for the problem with the showers - again as would have been explained to you that occasionally when the Island (not just the hotel) is very busy the water pressure can drop; if the setting on the shower is changed from that which is marked as recommended for use then the power will not come on - I have not ever had an occasion when the showers have not worked when used at this setting.
Your comment about Karaoke really surprises me though, as we did not have Karaoke on the evening of your stay - entertainment that evening was a Cabaret night.
Can I also add that any complaint addressed to the management is dealt with in a courteous manner and any issues raised as to service or facilities are also dealt with to make improvements. I must admit however that direct communication with any management is more likely to achieve a positive outcome than a gripe on a public website where the management response to a what can often be an anonymous review can takes days to be published.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed overnight in the Balmoral Room. On arrival we were shown through the bar area which was pretty dated to the reception desk. Well what can I say except chaotic and untidy. There appeared to be a separate entrance for residents but it was so untidy and looked awful. However our room was nice bright and had a super sea view, nice toiletries, fluffy towels and plenty tea and coffee, the only thing that let it down was the 2 holes in the wall where something had clearly fallen off and the curtain at one end was hanging off the rail, may sound trivial but all it takes is the owner to do a room inspection once a week to keep things up to date. Overall it was good and certainly good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millport
4.1 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
180 reviews
20.7 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
369 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#5 of 24 in Largs
77 reviews
4.3 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#9 of 24 in Largs
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal George Hotel

Address: 1-3 Quayhead Street, Millport KA28 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > The Cumbraes > Great Cumbrae > Millport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Millport
Price Range: £35 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Millport pier the newly refurbished George Hotel now boasts 5 suites, 3 luxury rooms and 3 standard rooms. The suites have their own lounge, double bedroom, Jacuzzi bath or twin steam shower. Luxury double rooms have balconies with stunning views over the River Clyde, shower/steam room or a state of the art shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal George Hotel Millport, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing