We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold weather-Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Harwell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We booked a two night stay with dinner,b&b on a snowy weekend
We stayed in room 9, at the side of the hotel overlooking farmland
The large L shaped room was well equipped including an i dock
The large bathroom had massive bath and separate shower cabinet with twin headed power shower
All three course at dinner both looked and tasted amazing and were served by excellent friendly staff
The only down side was that the hotel book boasted of a bar with locally brewed ale but only had Wadworth 6X keg beer, but the up side was that I drank less
A warm welcome, great staff, wonderful food and a lovely comfortable room means we will be back in warmer weather

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Met up with family for a Sunday lunch in the nice, oak-beamed restaurant, the staff were excellent from start to finish, attentive but not overpowering. All our meals were of good quality, very tasty and filling, with a good menu choice.
The wine list was comprehensive and pleasant.
If in the area would visit again and possibly stay over.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

These don't always go hand in hand, and so often you get one without the other or neither! But I just had to let everyone known about the great meal I had last night at The Kingswell and how I slept like a baby.... The lamb was succulent and the suggested wine was a delight. I was slightly nervous about road noise but to be honest it wasn't a problem - I have suffered far worst in other locations. Will definately be returning...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angels26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Only 20 mins from oxford but clearly out of town. Courteous staff and a comprehensive wine list to compliment very nice food. Rooms were clean and modern with a wonderful umbrella shower. Good parking and a fab breakfast - would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjcamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed one night due to work commitments as their were no Premiere Inn type establishments nearby. Cosy countrified bar and restaurant, would undoubtedly have felt a tad cosier with more people in.
Very hospitable welcome and attentive staff in the restaurant.
Evening meal was fine and served very quickly which makes you think of how its pre-prepared and so forth, but fine nevertheless. Hotel room was spacious and well appointed.
Free wifi is a good value add service which i think all hotels should now offer.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank mike reed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Went for lunch with extended family...lots of children. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The children's meals were ordered when we arrived and arrived swiftly - which pleased us all. The salmon and celeriac starter was very nice - the prawns also looked worth trying! next time... Delicious perfectly cooked roast beef and very well cooked varied selection of vegetables - which is nice as many a Sunday lunch is let down by boring veg. I didn't have room for a pudding but others did and they looked good. Very good value for money and very large portions. It would have been nice to have been offered a bit more gravy - maybe a small jug for the table - We will go back...Recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Pleasant enough hotel, staff friendly.
Evening meal quite good, but vegetarian option was really take it or leave it. Although the Blue Cheese Soufle that was the option the night I stayed there was very good. Breakfast leaves something to be desired, again as a vegetarian I found the choice very llimited.
Rooms very good but mine was parallel to the A34 - coming from the middle of the countryside I found it very noisy indeed and didn't get a lot of sleep.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper make sure you don't get one parallel to the A34
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwell
1.4 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,144 reviews
6.7 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
176 reviews
9.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Steventon House Hotel
Steventon House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Steventon
230 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#1 of 7 in Steventon
204 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Volunteer Inn
The Volunteer Inn
#3 of 4 in Wantage
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Reading Road, Harwell OX11 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Harwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harwell
Price Range: £93 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingswell has a welcoming atmosphere & provides the highest standards of freshly cooked, locally supplied food, drink & effortless service. Located in the beautiful south Oxfordshire countryside only minutes away from Harwell Campus, Abingdon, Wantage, Milton Park & Didcot. We also have 20 fully equipped bedrooms & meeting facilities within our traditional building, parts of which used to be a 16th Century Farmhouse.General informationThe sixteenth century oak-beamed restaurant offers extensive menus, as well as a traditional Sunday Lunch.Luncheon is served between 12 pm and 2 pm Monday to Sunday. Dinner is available between 6.30 pm and 9.30 pm Monday to Saturday and between 7 pm and 9 pm on Sundays.All dishes are freshly prepared in our kitchen, with an emphasis on using local produce. To the best of our knowledge no GM ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Kingswell Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing