We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Building, History and Tour - Excellent Price”
Review of Old State House

Old State House
Ranked #15 of 63 things to do in Hartford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Old State House is a registered National Landmark and open to the public year-round. The restored historic chambers, and grounds are now the site of events such as exhibits, curiosity museum, hands-on history, guided/self-guided tours and more! It is managed by the Connecticut General Assembly
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fascinating Building, History and Tour - Excellent Price”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stopped here kind of spontaneously as we had just finished touring the nearby Wadsworth Atheneum and had just the right amount of time to cover this place. We got in for half price using our AAA discount on what was already a fairly inexpensive place to get into. The admission included a free optional tour which we take advantage of, finding ourselves on basically a private tour of the building led by a very knowledgeable intern who gave us an incredible amount of information about the building itself and Connecticut/Hartford history which went along with it.

The curiosities museum on the upper level seemed a strange addition to the Old State House (I mean it's not the first place I'd think of going to see a taxidermied two headed cow...but what the heck...) it was fun!

The education center on the lower level was top notch and had we brought out 5 year old with us we know he would have been amused for hours down there.

This is a great place to go to learn about Connecticut History and is well suited to both kids and adults. So glad we stopped in!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rickpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting building”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was the old capitol, there are the usual recreated rooms where lawmakers would meet but there is a little more. A fun thing is Phineas Taylor Barnum's seat-aka PT Barnum of circus fame who was a great antislavery advocate, you can put on his top hat, tails and hold his cane; small joy for a Barnum fan. The 1st of the Amistad trials were held here and there is a lot of information about this. While we were there, 1 replica of an artist drawing of several of the main men involved in the "mutiny" fell from the wall. The aide said that he was the last one to die and he keeps falling off the wall-maybe the place is haunted like some have claimed. The interesting part of this State house is the Joseph Stuart museum of curiosities which used to be on the 3rd floor until he outgrew the space. It is an interesting natural history collection, also with a few 2 headed animals. It is a recreation of what they knew for a fact was in the exhibit. They looked long and hard for a 2 headed calf but they eventually found 1. The lower level is a museum on all things Hartford, Mark Twain's bike is there among many other interesting facts and items. Interesting indeed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SFLollyPopCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to see”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had Jennifer as our guide around the Old State House today. She was very informative and gave us a great tour of the building and its history. Well worth the time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenni048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting & Fun”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

There was lots to see and learn in the Old State House. I liked the lego house a lot. There were many school children in there at the same time as us but the staff did a very good job of managing the children around other guests. An employee even let us in the baseball history room that was not yet complete! That was an added bonus since my spouse loves baseball.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripsandTravel41813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored building”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Admission is gained through a ticket office on the lower level. Guided tours cost the same as unguided. We were glad that we chose the guided version and appreciated the insights that our guide, Ron, provided. The building itself has been through many changes over the years, but has been restored to its original state.
Don't miss the great museum on the lowest level, "thirty feet under the bricks". Its great for all ages, but especially geared toward kids.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SM510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing