We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here with a family group during HAS graduation weekend in July, and glad we only had to pay the discounted rate. Front desk service was good, but rooms are old, with mildew in the bathroom, peeling wall paper and HVAC that are noisy and leak. It says suites, but you have to pay extra for a tiny 'fridge and microwave, which are battered. Breakfast was OK, but they kept running out of coffee (every day for 3 days). I made this reservation based on previous experiences with HIE; this venue doesn't come close to the others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knittermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear knittermom,

I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. Connecticut did experience a heatwave in July and the air conditioners were working hard. We do have suites that have a kitchenette area with a built in microwave and fridge; however, our standard rooms are not equipped with a microwave and fridge but we have them available at no addiitonal fee.

I am not sure which room type you booked but please feel free to contact me at 860-525-1000 or hartfordgm@wnwhospitality as it is our goal to have everyone enjoy their stay.

Thank you
Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

My family and I couldnt take this heat wave anymore. The moment we walked in we were greated. Everyone was so nice, breakfast was abundunt the pool was large for a few hours my family had the pool to ourselves. The room was large and clean. We would love to stay longer but hubby has to work. Thank you for our short escape

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEVECT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear LeveCT:

Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you were able to stay and be refreshed by the pool. Thank you for acknowledging a great team we have here.

Thank you
Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The queen suite was clean and quite. The shower had not been cleaned from the previous guest. Hair and shampoo left. We cleaned it ourselves. Hopefully this was a one time oversight. The rest of the room was clean. The breakfast was standard fare . The attendant was not very attendant as egg and sausage trays were empty the entire time we ate, about 15 minutes. The. Front staff were friendly and helpful. Access was easy. Overall good value.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank harv2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear harv2u, Thank you for giving us 4 out of 5 stars. I do apologize that the shower was not cleaned and wished you had called the desk as we would have moved your room.

I appreciate you acknowledging the front desk team! We do hope to see you again!

Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

THE GOOD
Stayed 3 nights, April 2013 for a convention in Hartford where ALL the hotels were booked solid. Hotel is right off I91 south of Hartford ... very convenient. Plenty of free parking - very noisy Days Inn parking lot immediately next door. Arrived late and our reservation was as booked. Room 236. Room was a "junior suite" (OK size w/sofa bed and, king size bed). A small, dorm-size fridge was sitting in the room (almost stubbed my toe on it) and a microwave was on top (kind of like my old college dorm room). Not so aesthetically pleasing but, they both worked.

THE BAD
Ridiculously noisy old-style window heater/AC. Cycled on and off all night ... made more noise than the airport next door. Bathroom: OK sized with some toiletries BUT, the toilet seat would not stay up without holding it up - found out the 'hard' way on that. The granite overhang on the counter behind and above the toilet juts out way too far so, this was a real annoyance for any guy. Pillows: awful. Marked "Soft" and "Firm" - both were very uncomfortable. Mattress was so-so.

THE UGLY
Breakfast - everything is pre-fab (eggs, pancakes, etc.). The "World's BEST Cinnamon Buns" (their claim, not mine) were frozen in the middle and sat under a warmer (maybe the guy putting this stuff out figured that the bun would 'eventually' warm up?), no such luck. Even the bacon was lousy. Coffee was luke warm but, we later discovered that there was an urn going with HOT coffee. Best part of breakfast was the fresh fruit ("World's BEST," mind you).

Surprise Guests: For our 3rd and final night at this motel, the management gave us a send-off "surprise gift!" That's right, a really obnoxious bunch of high school-aged girls running up and down our hallway, slamming doors, talking/screaming/laughing loudly in the hall outside our room and generally unsupervised by chaperones and/or parents. After repeated dirty looks opening the door to our room and glaring at them several times, I finally stormed out into the hallway, told them to stop or else I'd call the front desk. Finally, QUIET. But, why should this be? *Note to Management: When you have adult guests staying more than one night (paying BIG $$$, no less - this isn't an inexpensive motel), maybe it would be thoughtful TO NOT stick a bunch of noisy, adolescent girls in rooms surrounding MY room? Just one of those timely suggestions.

To sum it up: the motel is indeed, an easy hop, skip and jump into downtown Hartford. Other than that, we won't be back. Holiday Inns used to be a lot better. These days though, I'll pass and try to stay at a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 236.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomGNorthport_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear TomGNorthport_Ny;

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did have many groups in house that weekend as Hartford had many ongoing functions. Depending on room types requested we do try to block groups near each other. In the future, if you are staying at a hotel if you notify the front desk of another guest disrupting your stay we do act on it.

Please know the cinnamon rolls are not frozen the warmer is not to cook them but to keep them warm and the glaze melted. The guest makes the pancakes by depressing the quantitiy desired and the batter is made fresh daily. The breakfast is standard to Holiday Inn Express's and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your express start breakfast.

If you would like to contact me directly you may email me at hartfordgm@wnwhospitality.com.

Thank you

Lisa Bublitz
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We arrived late and were greeted warmly. No problems checking in. The room was standard Holiday Express - very clean, comfortable, and affordable. We got a good nights rest. Rooms were quiet.Breakfast was free and pretty basic. Since we are not big breakfast eaters, I can only it had the stuff we liked. It was very easy to access the freeway when leaving. All staff members we interacted with were very cheerful and efficient. We did not use the pool or weight room but they looked nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bentonwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Bentonwoods,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were greeted warmly upon arrival.

Many guests enjoy the convenience of our hotel off of the highway and complimentary parking with the free shuttle service.

We hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Good experience for a week long business trip. Hotel was clean staff was nice. Best part was the shuttle service. Very knowledgeable and personable driver named Santos. Gave good recommendations on all sorts of things to do during my stay. Would love to visit again with less work, more playtime.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear jason201,

More play and less work always sounds better. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge Santos, our Shuttle Driver. He is a team player and knows Hartford area to make great recommendations.

We hope to see you again and of course for more play!

Thank you,

Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I don't usually write reviews of hotels but this was a good one for being a chain on the lower to mid level. While not in a neighborhood that offers much other than business, the hotel is easy to find from the Interstate and next to the general aviation airport. Plenty of parking and the outside is well maintained. The rooms are clean and in good shape. The staff were very welcoming and engaging. They seemed happy that I was there, good sign!
The breakfast is a little weak but not terrible just limtied selection. I can always find cereal or yogurt and a banana. If you want a breakfast buffet you should go elsewhere.
Overall a good experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Robert H,

Thanks you for the recommendation of our hotel and staff! I appreciate your time. Many guests do enjoy the convenience of complimentary parking as downtown charges and we offer a free shuttle service so you don't have to worry about traffic!

Hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
2.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,149 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 12 in Hartford
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hartford Downtown
2.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites

Address: 185 Brainard Rd, Hartford, CT 06114-2102 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
Price Range: £66 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites in Hartford, CT is located just five - ten minutes from downtown and at the crossroads of New England - Routes I-91 and I-84. The hotel is conveniently located 1.5 miles from the Hartford Convention Center, and is near the CT Expo Center, XL Center, Downtown Hartford corporate offices, The Mark Twain House & Museum, XFINITY Theater, Six Flags(R) New England, Goodwin Park Golf Course, Wadsworth Atheneum, Hartford Hospital, and St. Francis Hospital are nearby as well, including Aetna(R), the University of Hartford, Trinity College and the Connecticut State Capitol building. Our patrons stay connected with business amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a business center. We also boast 943 square feet of meeting space, ideal for most meetings or events in Hartford, CT. Our hotel's location is a few miles from some of Hartford's most popular attractions. Take a tour through Hartford's many historic homes like the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center and The Mark Twain House & Museum. You can see contemporary and classic works of art at the Wadsworth Atheneum or spend the day outdoors at Bushnell Park. Let our hotel in Hartford be your home away from home. Join us each morning for a full hot breakfast buffet, enjoy a refreshing swim in our seasonal heated outdoor pool, relax in our indoor whirlpool or get an invigorating workout in our fitness center. The hotel is 100% non-smoking in all Guest rooms and Public areas. This Hartford, CT hotel's location near downtown Hartford makes us the ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. We provide complimentary shuttle service to 7 miles radius within the greater Hartford area. Book your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites today! Must be 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Express Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing