We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place To Rest After A Concert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Place To Rest After A Concert”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped by at noon to see if I could early check in cause we were headed to a concert. Had ZERO issues. Could not go to the room cause they were cleaning them. Got my room key & left. Came back to a very clean room with very nice beds. Room had a computer table & a table for 2. Another good Holiday Inn experience !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikieJ34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear MIkieJ34,

Thank you for such a nice review and I am glad you had zero issues--that is what the team strives for. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

The Comcast Theater and XL both have good shows and our hotel is so convenient to their locations.

We hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    125
    49
    20
    19
See reviews for
109
86
43
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus,OH
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed with a large group. The inn treated us so well. The room was exceptionally clean, the beds and pillows perfect. The room was an upgrade. However, the design is bit confusing in that there is a low wall and pilar separating the bed from the sofa/living area which makes no sense. There are two large flat screen TVs just because the pilar makes it impossible to see one or the other. The location is out of the way. One good restaurant is adjacent which is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Baily03;

Thank you for the four stars and such a nice review. We are glad that you and your group chose to stay with us. I believe you are referring to the Chowder Pot and we always here of good reviews of there as well.

Thank you and hope to see you again!
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stay at Holiday Inn properties every week. This hotel had the usual amenities you expect from a city hotel. Free parking, a short drive to downtown, free breakfast, pool, decent rooms, etc. However, when comparing many hotels, this place is not at the top of my list. Upon checking in at 10 pm on a Wednesday, the front desk counter was littered with junk food wrappers (at least four opened bags of chips with crumbs everywhere). The manager was leaning on the counter looking very unprofessional. The carpet in the elevator was filthy and appeared to have not been cleaned in some time. The hotel was below the Holiday Inn Express standard overall.. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Steve375;

First let me apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have looked at the schedule for the last two weeks and I did not have a male scheduled at 10pm last Wednesday or the Wednesday prior. I know your time is valuable but I definitely want to follow up and discipline the correct employee. First impressions are so important.

If you could please email me at hartfordgm@wnwhospitality.com with your last name and/or room number so I may investigate and follow up accordingly.

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I had booked my stay with a third party company ,and requested a room at the end of a hall,but unfortunately when I arrived, there were no rooms available upon check in. Which didn't seem like a big deal anymore once I checked in quick with a very pleasant attendant at the desk. There were a few interuptions I could clearly hear coming from the hallway. I would request a more a room at the end of the hall to anyone that may choose to stay. This is not a noisy hotel, but the doors sure are, so if you are a light sleeper ,such as I, keep that in mind. The Hotel management was extremely accommodating when I requested a room change , Arsenio Lozada(mngmnt) was very understanding ,and eager to make my stay as comfortable as he could. In which he moved me to a room down the hall, and on the backside facing the pool. WOW! The suites are worth the extra few dollars to stay. Very Spacious, and a different feel. I will be returning!!! For someone who may be selective on their choice on hotels, this ones a win!!!!

Room Tip: I would choose one of the mini suites, its worth a price difference. Also, end of the hallway (you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comstocktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear comstocktraveler,

Thank you for writing such a nice review. I am glad Arsenio was able to honor your request. He is an asset to our Front Desk team and sets the example for the staff.

We hope to see you soon!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here with a family group during HAS graduation weekend in July, and glad we only had to pay the discounted rate. Front desk service was good, but rooms are old, with mildew in the bathroom, peeling wall paper and HVAC that are noisy and leak. It says suites, but you have to pay extra for a tiny 'fridge and microwave, which are battered. Breakfast was OK, but they kept running out of coffee (every day for 3 days). I made this reservation based on previous experiences with HIE; this venue doesn't come close to the others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knittermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear knittermom,

I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. Connecticut did experience a heatwave in July and the air conditioners were working hard. We do have suites that have a kitchenette area with a built in microwave and fridge; however, our standard rooms are not equipped with a microwave and fridge but we have them available at no addiitonal fee.

I am not sure which room type you booked but please feel free to contact me at 860-525-1000 or hartfordgm@wnwhospitality as it is our goal to have everyone enjoy their stay.

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

My family and I couldnt take this heat wave anymore. The moment we walked in we were greated. Everyone was so nice, breakfast was abundunt the pool was large for a few hours my family had the pool to ourselves. The room was large and clean. We would love to stay longer but hubby has to work. Thank you for our short escape

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEVECT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear LeveCT:

Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you were able to stay and be refreshed by the pool. Thank you for acknowledging a great team we have here.

Thank you
Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

The queen suite was clean and quite. The shower had not been cleaned from the previous guest. Hair and shampoo left. We cleaned it ourselves. Hopefully this was a one time oversight. The rest of the room was clean. The breakfast was standard fare . The attendant was not very attendant as egg and sausage trays were empty the entire time we ate, about 15 minutes. The. Front staff were friendly and helpful. Access was easy. Overall good value.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank harv2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear harv2u, Thank you for giving us 4 out of 5 stars. I do apologize that the shower was not cleaned and wished you had called the desk as we would have moved your room.

I appreciate you acknowledging the front desk team! We do hope to see you again!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
2.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,089 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Address: 185 Brainard Rd, Hartford, CT 06114-2102 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites in Hartford, CT is located just five - ten minutes from downtown and at the crossroads of New England - Routes I-91 and I-84. The hotel is conveniently located 1.5 miles from the Hartford Convention Center, and is near the CT Expo Center, XL Center, Downtown Hartford corporate offices, The Mark Twain House & Museum, XFINITY Theater, Six Flags(R) New England, Goodwin Park Golf Course, Wadsworth Atheneum, Hartford Hospital, and St. Francis Hospital are nearby as well, including Aetna(R), the University of Hartford, Trinity College and the Connecticut State Capitol building. Our patrons stay connected with business amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a business center. We also boast 943 square feet of meeting space, ideal for most meetings or events in Hartford, CT. Our hotel's location is a few miles from some of Hartford's most popular attractions. Take a tour through Hartford's many historic homes like the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center and The Mark Twain House & Museum. You can see contemporary and classic works of art at the Wadsworth Atheneum or spend the day outdoors at Bushnell Park. Let our hotel in Hartford be your home away from home. Join us each morning for a full hot breakfast buffet, enjoy a refreshing swim in our seasonal heated outdoor pool, relax in our indoor whirlpool or get an invigorating workout in our fitness center. The hotel is 100% non-smoking in all Guest rooms and Public areas. This Hartford, CT hotel's location near downtown Hartford makes us the ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. We provide complimentary shuttle service to 7 miles radius within the greater Hartford area. Book your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites today! Must be 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Express Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing