We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accomodations - No Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Accomodations - No Complaints”
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Brainard Road in Hartford, CT on Saturday, August 8, 2009. The staff allowed us to check in early (11:00 a.m.). I reserved a non-smoking room with a king bed. The room did not smell smoked in. The carpets were clean. The bathroom was clean with no dirt in the corners. The sink, toilet and shower drained well. This hotel has eliminated comforters and uses a cotton thin blanket for the comforter. I never like using the comforter at hotels because I know they are not cleaned with each new guest. The continental breakfast was fully stocked and contained a wide variety of food for those who chose to eat healthy and those with a sweet tooth. Lastly, the staff was friendly and accommodating. I give this stay a 5 star. I am fair but very particular when it comes to cleanliness. This hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel is located minutes (7 to be exact) from the Comcast Center. It is also an easy commute for out-of-town visitors who do not know the area. One last important detail, the hotel is located in a quiet area. We did not hear other guests or traffic.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Running_In_Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 September 2009
Dear Running in Vermont;

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. The staff and I take pride in our Hotel and the guest service we provide. We are fortunate as we receive many great comments and we appreciate yours!

I have a daily stand up meeting with the staff and I will read your comments to them tomorrow with pride!

Lisa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    117
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
96
82
40
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I thought this hotel was great. The rooms were in excellent shape and everything was comfortable and well maintained.

My only gripe was the smokey hallway. I've traveled quite a bit and have had non-smoking rooms on the same floor as smoking ones, and I've never walked down a more stifling hallway. I'm convinced the high school kids who were staying there were hanging out in the hall and smoking.

Sadly, there are no signs asking people not to smoke in the corridors.

Also, there's no indication that my room was a non-smoking room. Fortunately, there was no cigarette smell, stale or otherwise, so long as I stayed a few feet from the door (away from the vicinity of the hall), but the walk from the elevator to my room gave me pause due to how badly the hall reeked.

I told the front desk about it the next day and they said that I definitely had a non-smoking room, but that half the floor has smoking rooms. I still think that even when people are smoking inside their rooms it shouldn't filter into the hallway so strongly.

I wish they'd put up signs, one for no smoking in the hallway and ones on the non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monstybz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 April 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback . The staff and I appreciate the 5 out of 5 stars!! We, as a team strive daily to exceed quest expectations..

I honestly have not thought of displaying non smoking signs in the hallway and I, too think that is a good idea.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Take note as this is not exactly in the convention centre but about 7-10 mins away.But overall for a family travel - its excellent value for money- very polie staff, Hot breakfast was very welcome , so was the choice of pastries and yogurts and fruits and variety of coffees.
Staff were polite .

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 April 2009
Thank you very much for acknowledging the staff and the hot Breakfast. We appreciate your positive feedback as we strive to exceed guest's expectations daily.

The Convention Center is 2.33 miles from Holiday Inn Express at 185 Brainard Rd. We offer a complimentary shuttle from 7am to 9:30pm.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NS Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Florida from NS. We have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inns and normally have a good stay. Of course the most important thing at any hotel, in my opinion, is the bed. Unfortunately this one was as hard as a rock! A blanket on the floor would have been about the same. The pillows and bedding were nice but didn't help. There was also no heat in the bathroom so you would have had to heat the whole room too much to get the bathroom warmed up.
Everything else was OK. Room was clean, internet worked and the free breakfast was their normal fare.

  • Liked — Free breakfast, clean room
  • Disliked — Rock hard bed, no heat in bathroom
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chris Duc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfordgm, General Manager at Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2009
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally and may be reached at hartfordgm@wnwhospitality.com. This would give me an opportunity to know the room number and investigate the room. If a guest check ins and is not comfortable with their room they may contact the front desk and we give you another room or offer an upgrade, if available. I understand that you may have not realized until later when you went to bed; but a Manager on Duty is on 24 hours per day to ensure guest satisfaction. Or guests have the opportunity to speak with me directly. Holiday Inn Express' have a new bedroom and bathroom package which we normally receive rave reviews from our guests.

Thank you
Lisa Bublitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Very basic hotel, good bargain, even tho i did not spend much time here, basically a "sleep and go" though I did sit in the hot tub for a bit, which is indoors, though the pool is outdoors and closed i the winter. The hotel was recomended to me by the convention I was here for at Hartford University, so alot of college age students staying here, and pilots from the private airport next door (yes that airport is NOT bradley, as alot of people ask, the holiday inn near Bradley I think is the Asylum rd location, which was the other hotel recomended to me, however they were more expensive and quite honestly, I would not stay anywhere on a "Asylum" street...call me crazy, but would you?)
The room was basic but tidy, The breakfast was much better then typical motel fare- gotta love those morning cimimon thingys they bake. They had 2 computers for public use, which was great if you didnt bring a laptop nd take advantage of the free wireless. The shutle bus to go downtown certainly helps out to. Only drawback was the piercing stench of powersrubb upon walking in the lobby. Perhaps it wasonly the week i stayed there, but still, made me wonder what happened in there prior to me comming!
Mmmm sitting in a hottub after a long day was nice.

  • Liked — Mmm hot tub
  • Disliked — power scrub
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank speedotorpedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

I and my husband stayed here for one night on our holiday and found it clean, quiet and cosy. It was everything we looked for in a hotel and thus were very happy. The free internet connection was a nice extra.

I would like to add that we got some excellent advise on where to go on the next day of our holiday from a gentleman working at the reception. I believe his first name was Kevin (?). We had a very nice chat with him and looked over the road maps together. Our best wishes to him :)

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fantsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business trip. After having a horrid experience at the "inn" that was booked for me through my office, I decided to arrange my own hotel and decided upon a Holiday Inn secondary to their reputation and rooms that I have stayed at in the past. This hotel was absolutely everything that I expected. The room was clean and well prepared. The free high speed internet was a plus, and all staff were pleasant and cooperative. I did not participate in the free breakfasts, but it sure did smell good. I also looked at the outdoor pool and indor jacuzzi which were both clean and seemed to be well enjoyed by the other guests. The only thing that was inconvienient was the construction on Brainard Road which was of no fault to the hotel. My neighbor however decided it was appropriate to get on the phone and scream to whomever she was talking to nightly at 11 and continue until about 2 am. I think that the reason that I could hear her was because the rooms were adjoining. It did not ruin my stay here, and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is coming out this way.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the nice demeanor of the staff
  • Disliked — No wireless internet in the room...
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank singer216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
2.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Address: 185 Brainard Rd, Hartford, CT 06114-2102 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites in Hartford, CT is located just five - ten minutes from downtown and at the crossroads of New England - Routes I-91 and I-84. The hotel is conveniently located 1.5 miles from the Hartford Convention Center, and is near the CT Expo Center, XL Center, Downtown Hartford corporate offices, The Mark Twain House & Museum, XFINITY Theater, Six Flags(R) New England, Goodwin Park Golf Course, Wadsworth Atheneum, Hartford Hospital, and St. Francis Hospital are nearby as well, including Aetna(R), the University of Hartford, Trinity College and the Connecticut State Capitol building. Our patrons stay connected with business amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a business center. We also boast 943 square feet of meeting space, ideal for most meetings or events in Hartford, CT. Our hotel's location is a few miles from some of Hartford's most popular attractions. Take a tour through Hartford's many historic homes like the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center and The Mark Twain House & Museum. You can see contemporary and classic works of art at the Wadsworth Atheneum or spend the day outdoors at Bushnell Park. Let our hotel in Hartford be your home away from home. Join us each morning for a full hot breakfast buffet, enjoy a refreshing swim in our seasonal heated outdoor pool, relax in our indoor whirlpool or get an invigorating workout in our fitness center. The hotel is 100% non-smoking in all Guest rooms and Public areas. This Hartford, CT hotel's location near downtown Hartford makes us the ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. We provide complimentary shuttle service to 7 miles radius within the greater Hartford area. Book your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites today! Must be 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing