We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gosport, IN
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at the Downtown Marriott on business in February. They do an excellent job servicing their customers. The weather was horrible and they shuttled me to my business meeting and came back and got me. My taxi cancelled on me and they took care of getting me transportation back to the airport. Customer service is clearly a number one goal for them. I would stay there again without hesitation. The rooms were clean and room service was prompt and very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    246
    74
    16
    14
See reviews for
104
115
31
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Traveled to Hartford for a United Way event that was being held at the Marriott. Thought it would just be another boring business trip, but turned out to be a good time. The facilities are all in great shape, the staff very pleasant and happy to help. We not only ate at the event but also at the bar, Crush, and breakfast at Vivo, and they all were good! We were also close enough to walk to two meetings in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upintheairtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear that you had a great weekend and we appreciate you sharing your comments with other travelers. We hope to see you again should you have the occasion to be in Hartford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Staying at this Marriott for work. Downtown Hartford is pretty desolate at night, and this place is within walking distance of where I am working. The hotel has a Starbucks and a pretty nice looking restaurant in the lobby. The lobby looks to have been renovated fairly recently. The rooms are definitely on the older side, but clean. No complaints, other than they are definitely not vacuuming those carpets. Most hotel rooms, the carpets aren't sparkling but these are especially grubby. Room service is decent, although I wish they would have the same menu as the restaurant, at least during the hours it's open. It's solid place for business travel.

Room Tip: Since it's not super busy downtown, I don't think noise is a big factor. But there is a fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twill504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for a concert in January.

Hotel itself is pretty nice - convenient location, nicely decorated and has a nice lobby. Rooms themselves are nice and clean, but a little on the small side.

Only issue we had was when calling for a taxi - front desk never called me back and I had to go downstairs to talk with the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback to TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel decor pleasing, the rooms clean, and location convenient. We apologize that you did not receive a call back from the desk regarding your taxi reservation. We have made the front desk staff aware of your comment to ensure special attention is paid to this area to avoid future occurrences. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel. The lobby is pretty spacious and has a great entranceway. Great being here for a convention because it is so close to the actual event. Didn't have to travel far between the venue and the room. It could use more elevators though. They were very crowded. The rooms are nice, not to much if a view but that is more the city than the hotel.
Food in the area is good. They have a few options in the area and within a couple of blocks away. They also have a really good restaurant in the hotel. Food was very good. The bar needs to be bigger though. Not a lot of room for the amount if people they had. But the bartenders were great. Vanessa and John really handled things well. Great drinks and made my party feel good. But everyone who worked there were great. Really good people who seem to know about taking care of people. Best place to stay in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BigCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed our Vivo restaurant, our staff and the hotel. We will share your positive comments with the staff members you mentioned -Vanessa and John- and recognize them for their efforts as well. This weekend there were two large conventions being held at the Connecticut Convention Center with sleeping rooms at our hotel, which made for quite a busy environment. We apologize for any wait times you may have experienced with the elevators or in the bar. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I came here for a convention. Wouldn't go to hartford for pleasure. Not much there. But the hotel is the best location if you are at the convention center. The hotel was really busy but the people there are great. The room was nice and the gym and spa area are definitely above average for a hotel. The restaurant at vivo was very good. Busy, which caused a wait. But eating at the bar is a great option. John the bartender really will keep you laughing while you wait for food. Drinks are great too. Bar is a bit on the small side, though.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katevball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I am not a fan of Hartford, however, the Marriott is a tried and true experienec. Nothing special, but certainly clean, comfortable rooms. I can always count on gett8ing a room at a rteasonable rate and I always get what I expect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Property: Hartford Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing