We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was expecting more...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chowder Pot IV

Chowder Pot IV
Ranked #24 of 431 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was expecting more...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Celebrating my father's 80th birthday, so we had reservations for 12. No problem being seated but service took far too long between appetizers and main course. Restrooms (at least Men's room) was in poor condition. Food was average on the whole, the Prime Rib was excellent though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    92
    61
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
265 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good place for birthday seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Came here for my wife's birthday dinner. There were four of us. We came on a Sunday evening, and only had a short 10 minute wait. I had broiled scallops with seafood stuffing. Very good, I am the only one in the family who loves scallops, and the stuffing was wonderful. Another one of the family had a fried clam dinner. Very good size portion, and the fries were crisp, not oily. I tried a couple, and they were very good. A few weeks earlier, I had eaten a fried clam dinner at a highly regarded roadside diner, featured on a cable TV program. Here at Chowder Pot, the portions were bigger, an the price was much less. My wife had baked stuffed shrimp. She reported it was good, and the portion was too large to eat it fully there. The salads were crisp, and the freshly baked whole bread was also delicious. Overall, a good place for seafood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
263 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Five adults and two under 6 yr old kids. We got there at opening time on a Sunday and we were among the first to be seated. When we left, the place was full and there were people waiting. Most of the adults ordered one of their fish entrees (lazy lobster, crab cakes, scallops) and everyone was completely satisfied with the food. One person ordered the large cut prime rib and it was perfectly done. Service was very good and the food/beverages were brought promptly to the table. Some of us also had a cup of either the NE or RI style clam chowder, both of which were fine. The little bit of honey drizzled over the bread was a tasty touch. We can recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerandnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our arrival time was 7:30 pm and the parking lot was 3/4's full on a Tuesday night. We approached the Hostess desk and within a few moments were seated at a booth. We were served unsliced bread freshly baked. We started out with Escargot, not everyones favorite but certainly ours. It reminded my husband and I of those served in Paris. They were prepared just the same way. Next was the hot Lobster Bisque. Creamy, flavorful and had good size pieces of lobster. Our entrée was the Lazy man's lobster with seafood stuffing. Large pieces of lobster throughout the "casserole", and the seafood stuffing was excellent also. The service was prompt, courteous, and obliging. Our waitress was Jane, who did an excellent job. We topped our evening off with cappuccino and after dinner drinks. It was a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

this restaurant continues to go downhill. Fried Calamari very oily and waiter did not offer to bring back. Salads brown and charged $1.00 extra. Only vegetable offered included in the price was zuchinni. Baked potato over cooked and old. Sat by window everything very dirty. Swordfish okay nothing great for 26.99. Carpet and condition of restaurant dirty, old and outdated for the price of the menu go somewhere else.What a shame this restaurant is so grimy. Even the glasses and utencils not clean and shiny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frequentdiner749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chowder Pot IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing