We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Lunch”
Review of Chowder Pot IV

Chowder Pot IV
Ranked #20 of 439 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Another Great Lunch”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have met here for lunch on several occasions with my brother and sister and their spouses and always had a good experience. My sister and husband who lived in the area before moving to Florida have called this one of their favorite restaurants. We cannot disagree. We sit at the round table for six near the entrance and the service and food is always terrific.

I had the gourmet fish sandwich and my wife had the lobster roll. Everyone else had something different off the lunch or special menu. Everything was very good and fresh and we had a nice family lunch once again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    100
    62
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“portions good, was cooked well”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have not had a bad meal here. Portions are good, everything cooked well. Restaurant is always crowded and so if you want to come, come early or after dinner rush.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank momofbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chowderpot IV Not Impressive”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Four of us went to the USS Chowderpot IV for dinner and I was not particularly impressed. The server was excellent but I really expected my lobster to be superb and it was not. The legs were very good but the claws and tail were overcooked and rubbery. Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Large portions. Well prepared, fresh food. Awesome waitress, fast service. Very reasonable pricing. Only issue was the non-descript building in the somewhat overgrown parking lot. Large sign indicates the area of the restaurant, but building itself has no signage at all. Not being from the area, we weren't sure we were in the right place as another building is located off to the side. But I didn't come to look at the outside, and the interior was clean with a nautical theme. Would definitely visit again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SINYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whatever happened to customer service”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Entered restaurant with my elderly father. Young, tall female hostess, I believe she was of Latin descent, was very abrupt and rude, especially when asked if it would be a problem to change seats. She acted as if we were looking to borrow her car. She literally grabbed the menu from my father's hands and tossed them onto the other table walking away. Seriously, if I wanted to spend that much money on being treated poorly, I'd not have driven three hours to meet my ailing elderly father at this establishment. Better yet, the server comes over after waiting for what seemed a long time; when asked a question about the menu, he replies, "I don't typically work lunch, so I cannot answer any menu questions". I suggest consumers spending their hard earned money elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chowder Pot IV also viewed

 

Been to Chowder Pot IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing