We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff but thats where it stopped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel staff was great, friendly, helpful and overall pretty cheery! Kudos for a great Staff! Thats where this experience stops as a weekly traveler i get to stay in many properties .. this was hands down the worst i have stayed at, Hilton Hotels should be embarrassed to have its logo attached to this location.. this was equivalent to a motel 6 suite!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your response. I would be pleased to discuss your response at length - your input is valuable. Could you send further details of your experience to jeff.bierly@hilton.com? We will then review with the staff in detail, Again - all responses are carefully discusses in our planning and forward thinking. Kind Regards and a Happy Summer Season to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here 2 nights Our room 410 was nice, and a corner with two sides of windows.Liked the kitchen setup and bedroom all fine. Nice view of Bushnell Park and the state capital. However 410 is on the Sally's bar side and reviewers are correct that the noise from it -- even on on a Wed/Thurs with windows closed was terrible. So stay here, but ask for back, much higher, or other side. Good breakfast and the light supper fare (pasta one night, meatball subs other, also veg, salad, a glass of wine and cookies) at no charge were an unexpected dinner opportunity for very weary people. (only offered Mon-Thurs) -- this is definitely a hotel geared to business folk during the week. Staff. Sandra in the food lounge is a treasure -- knew all her regulars, friendly etc. Better yet -- I left my handbag in the lounge and didn't realize it til the hotel called me next morning. Sandra had found it at 4:00 am when she came in (fortunately in the back behind a chair). Nothing missing (whew!). Other staff nice, too. Hotel is very convenient -- walk to local restaurants (we lunched out), Amtrak, Atheneum. On free shuttle stop and good bus route to Harriet Beecher Stowe Center and Mark Twain House, plus Aetna etc.

Room Tip: Avoid side next to Sally's bar. Back, other side, very high up much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We shared your comment with the breakfast /dinner staff immediately. We do have an excellent team here and glad your bag was found where you left it on the back of a chair and returned to you. Come back and visit us soon. Do contact me directly if you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Awesome as always! I always try to stay in this hotel before I even think about booking someplace else. Hotel is extremely clean, the rooms are like staying in my own house and the staff are very accomodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Happ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your review! We share all reviews with the staff daily and are delighted to communicate your good experience with us! Welcome back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Excellent facility for business or leisure stay. Serves free continental breakfast. Friendly staff; Provide shuttle service to office buildings nearby. Close to offices, highways, Amtrak station, restaurants, downtown pubs etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Sriram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Cannot begin to explain the level of outside noise that could be heard from our room. I believe I heard every person coming out of the bar next door on Friday and Saturday night. I did not sleep a wink due to that and the extremely hard and high pillows that keep your head about 2 feet of the mattress. Stayed here for a wedding and was extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank houdelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry the downtown / entertainment district Hartford week-end noise disturbed your stay. At times, we are at the mercy of the week-end activities that are scheduled in the city. Please contact me directly if you are traveling back to Hartford in the future. Once again - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is really good hotel for long stay. Staff is friendly also located in downtown Hartford. The breakfast is really good. Also I was able to find grocery stores and Indian Restaurant nearby. Overall good hotel and good rooms. Also having full kitchen. Will definitely suggest if you plan to stay in hartford downtown and for extended stay..

Room Tip: Good Hotel ... Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijayb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your review. Yes, the location is great for a wide selection of things to do, places to go and restaurants to visit. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed for one night during the week for a rehearsal. I had a great experience. The suite was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The food at the evening reception and at breakfast was very good - fresh and well-prepared. Everyone at the front desk was pleasant and helpful, particularly Patrick. After I got back from my rehearsal, I had the bag of microwave popcorn as a snack before I turned in. It really hit the spot. At dinner they have a hot entree, starch, and vegetable, plus bread, a small salad bar, fruit, wine, beer, hot and cold soft drinks, and hot fresh cookies! There is a similar spread at breakfast. The scrambled eggs were the best I've ever had on a buffet! The next time I'm in Hartford, I'm going to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for the time you spent on this entry. Yes, as a Homewood Suites brand, we offer a lot of value for dollars spent. The full breakfast daily, the evening reception Mon-Thurs with beer and wine and the oversized rooms give a sense of home away from home. Do contact me directly next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Goodwin
The Goodwin
#3 of 12 in Hartford
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 12 in Hartford
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Address: 338 Asylum St, Hartford, CT 06103-2020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range: £115 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our close proximity to the action of downtown Hartford, as well as the ease of traveling to Bradley International Airport, which is only 15 minutes away. We have all the comforts of home for your stay in Hartford, and our property is within walking distance to museums, nightlife and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Homewood Hartford
Hartford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing