We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
CT,USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Convenient stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed at the Homewood Suites for the first time following matinee at the nearby Hartford Stage. The Suites is easy to find, has its own parking, and we were greeted warmly by reception staff. Breakfast is included, with a variety of cereals, pastries, two or three warm offerings, and other items to choose from. The restaurant was well cared for, with attention paid to a guest's needs.

Th reservation did indeed include a very large two room suite with two baths, a work area, a lounge area, and a small kitchenette. More reminiscent of a small apartment than a hotel stay. We had a bit of trouble regulating the heat, but a call to the desk at someone there within minutes. Very helpful.
The Suites is convenient to the theater, walkable to several nearby restaurants. It is also convenient to Hartford's Elizabeth park, the capitol building, and the nearby Wadsworth Atheneum. The price is very reasonable given the value. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AddVenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    114
    68
    49
    46
See reviews for
94
64
26
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great location to stay at when going to shows at the Bushnell. Went to see the musical "A Christmas Story" - which was awesome - and it was only about a 4 minute walk to get there." The staff is very friendly and helpful, and there is some interesting history to the building.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNR6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I love history so this hotel really has the best of the past in it and lots of good options for restaurants in the area, walking distance to the amazing State Capitol, museus and more. Used hotel for a 50 person meeting in The Arches room that is also part of the Howard Catering system they have there. The room has interesting "funky" art and a lay out that is refreshing after typical rectangular boxy hotel meeting spaces. Have a look in the lobby at some of the memorabilia from days gone by - they have items from when it was The Bond hotel in the early 1900's - and yes...the room rates back then were.... "wait for it"... $1.50. It then went up to $2.50 one year. The desk staff said they will be doing a big renovation in 2014 that will be done floor by floor. They described the new freight elevator that was installed to keep the renovation out of the public eye - smart. The rooms were exceptionally clean, but I do agree that a change in colors and updating will add to the value of a modern day hotel. Used the business center for last minute printing needs. The people who were staying over also had a free evening gathering in the lobby food area with beer and wine as well as salad, stuffed peppers and garlic bread was had. Parking was $16 - but in the search did not find any hotel in Hartford with a lower price (in fact some were higer up to $21). I have three meeitngs in 2014 I will likely use the hotel for - location is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for using The Arches room and for the overnights as well. Please contact our sales department directly for your next meetings and do ask about multi-event value deals in 2014. We appreciate your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a good, solid, mid-level hotel. The room was clean and well-appointed, the daily free breakfast had many options and the area was immaculate and well-supplied. The hotel staff was universally warm, helpful and very attentive. The location can't be beat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKB127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We posted your comment of "The hotel staff was universally warm, helpful and very attentive" for all the staff to see. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The room was excellent and the staff was very helpful. The location is very good as well, except that it's near a number of bars and around 1am we could hear the police outside asking people to go home. I'm not sure if it was a regular occurrence, or if you can only hear it from the side of the hotel we were on, but it was hard to sleep as a result. In general, the hotel is very good and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGBTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We appreciate your input and share it with all the staff. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The staff at this hotel try to accommodate your every wish. They were terrific. Accommodations were fine and meals certainly adequate. Staff was quick to fix any problems. Parking is extra $ so watch that. All in all, great place to stay. Within walking distance of restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank tstajcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, city parking is additional in all the in-town hotels. Come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great hotel in the center of Hartford. We were pleased with quality of our 2 bedroom suit. Location is perfect with fantastic view of Capitol building. One block away from RR station and few blocks away from financial district with many good restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank peterzasada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, our location is close to the XL Center, Max's Downtown, the State Capitol and much more. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Address: 338 Asylum St, Hartford, CT 06103-2020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our close proximity to the action of downtown Hartford, as well as the ease of traveling to Bradley International Airport, which is only 15 minutes away. We have all the comforts of home for your stay in Hartford, and our property is within walking distance to museums, nightlife and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Homewood Hartford
Hartford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing