We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap little campsite perfect for visiting Colchester”
Review of Strangers Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strangers Home
hull england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap little campsite perfect for visiting Colchester”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Small site with hook up available.

Dead quiet at night.

Toilet block acceptable but basic, field has generous spacing between plots. Our kids liked it and the pub onsite is very convenient. When we were there there was a bouncy castle for kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    6
    7
    17
See reviews for
22
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Nearly didn't go there because of the bad reviews. But people are usually only motivated to leave reviews on sites like this if they had a bad time, so.....

Our weekend camping there with family and friends was just fine. It is a pub with a field for camping with electric hookups in the English style. The shower blocks are tired but were cleaned regularly. We did eat in the pub once, it was bog-standard pub fayre. There was a bouncy castle which the kids enjoyed.

There was a laid-back vibe to the place, the owners were friendly and very relaxed about things and it was good to have the cool pub on-site on what was a severly hot weekend. The pub had musical acts both on Sat night and Sunday pm. And good ale.

It did what it says on the tin and I'd go back there again.

Room Tip: You might want to pitch away from the pub if you want to go to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigStringster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and i went here for lunch today, we were very dissapointed! i ordered the cod,chips and peas, and couldnt eat it. The fish was overcooked on outside and undercooked inside, obviously on to a high a heat, peas looked like reheated and chips were hard crispy end of a bag style. My husband ordered lasagne, chips and salad, he said best bit of meal was the salad, chips same as mine and lasagne not cooked properly and inedible. Definatley wont be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradfield hotels

Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed in our caravan on the site but my friends stayed in the bed and breakfast nothing like the picture in the brochure had to share bathroom and shower wasn't very clean .caravan site is good relaxed atmosphere but the toilet and showers badly need cleaning and refurbished.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My boyfriend and I visited The Strangers Home for sunday lunch just recently.
We were disappointed with the service given to us.
We were expecting a lovely roast dinner with plenty of vegetables. We duly paid for this but were informed after ordering and enjoying our drinks that the only vegetables that were left were pea's.
Although we reluctantly accepted this, the most disappointing aspect was that we were not offered a discount or some form of compensation.i.e free drink or sweet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jilly103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradfield
1.7 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
281 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
8.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strangers Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strangers Home

Property: Strangers Home
Address: The Street, Bradfield, Manningtree CO11 2US, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Manningtree > Bradfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bradfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing