We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moulton St Mary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage Campsite
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is quite simply the best campsite I have ever stayed at. The grass is lush, it's in a nice and quiet location and the lack of caravans is a bonus! The facilities are just right - the composting toilets don't smell bad (they just smell of the sawdust you use to cover your... erm... business) and the showers - fed by a big black tank of water above them that's had chance to warm up over the day - were refreshing rather than chilly! All in all a brilliant campsite and I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We loved this campsite - lovely atmosphere, well kept and only what you need for proper camping. Bernie who runs the site was very welcoming and helpful. The composting toilets were so much nicer than toilets at most campsites. There's no electricity so you are not annoyed by other peoples' music or tvs and it's just very relaxing. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just had a relaxing 3 nights here with a group of friends.

The campsite does exactly what it says on the tin, it's a no frills, easygoing site which has all the amenities you need and none of the malarkey you don't.

When you arrive you get a warm welcome from Bernie who will bring his enormous wheelbarrow to help decant your stuff to the pitch you have chosen. We weren't resticted by pitch size and piched where and how we liked.

Bernie is available day and evening to help with any concerns and is always happy to help...

The camp fires/braziers are an added bonus which you really don't get elsewhere.

Composting toilets and open air showers take a little getting used to but great idea and really clever.... Only one complaint is that a couple more showers would benefit during busy periods.

Recommend for anyone who wants the back to basics camping experience. We will be booking up again.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We loved our holiday at this campsite. The facilities are great considering this is supposed to be no frills camping. Loads of wood for the BBQ too :) Lovely like minded people on their holidays too. Great location, we were able to get out and about to loads of things we wanted to see. Of course you can always stay on camp and hope to see the lovely Bernie ;) !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantsaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This is a tents only campsite that is only 2 miles from my house yet I felt in a different world. Lovely huge field with no defined pitches, you can pitch wherever you want and take up as much room as you want with windbreaks etc. Facilities are basic but clean and please remember this is 'proper' camping. There are 2 composting toilets which do not smell and 2 showers with unlimited hot water plus water taps for drinking water and cleaning water. There is no electricity which we thought we would miss but it just taught us to crack on with camping as it should be.

The BEST bit of the entire stay is the free brazier fire put which Bernie the owner brings to each tent. He has made them himself and they are brilliant for cooking on or just sitting around. We cooked every meal on it including steaming new potatoes in a sealed foil bag, breakfasts and steaks, sausages etc. Firewood is supplied at £5 per load but its a good size load and all very dry and cut to the right size.

We had such a relaxing weekend and it was just what we needed. Extremely safe for children and cars must be kept in the adjoining field. Very quiet yet Acle for supplies is only 2 miles up the road.

We will definitely be back and VERY soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We only stayed one night, but were thoroughly impressed. The campsite was very neat and tidy (despite it being fully booked over the previous two days)...the composting toilets were clean with plenty of loo roll and the showers were hot (and free!) with lots of room to hang up your clothes. The braziers are a fantastic idea and the basket of wood costing just a fiver was ample to last the evening. It was also a bonus not having a set arrival/departure time. We will definitely be returning very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouTurner0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edingworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My sister and I wanted a short break together so this seemed perfect.. and it was. Bernie provided us with a great tub of wood which lasted 2 nights on his brilliant brazier. The compost loos are not smelly and the showers were clean with enough warm water. We cooked our tea on the fire and sat watching the stars and listening to the owls.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MazzyMaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moulton St Mary
1.5 mi away
School Lodge Country Guest House
10.3 mi away
Waveney River Centre
Waveney River Centre
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Station House
The Station House
#1 of 2 in Lingwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Tyto Alba Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 80 in Norwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
14.6 mi away
Keepers Meadow
Keepers Meadow
#7 of 34 in Norwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Campsite

Property: The Old Vicarage Campsite
Address: Old Vicarage Moulton ST. | Norwich, Moulton St Mary NR13 3NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Moulton St Mary
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Moulton St Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open from the 1st May until the 28th September 2015 Norfolk's proper camping experience. Situated in the Norfolk Broads, close to the Norfolk coast and city of Norwich. Enjoy the open space of the un-crowded 2 acre site. Cook on a camp fire. Let your children run free on the safe, car-free campground. Gaze at the stars in our unpolluted skies. The Old Vicarage Campsite was created by people passionate about camping especially for people passionate about camping. These are the features that we believe make all the difference: •Have a campfire with one of our custom made braziers; Cook in the fire or on the hotplate, toast marsh mallows in the embers, enjoy the warmth or just get mesmerised by the flames of a real wood fire. •Camp where YOU want; We have no formal pitch boundaries, so families or groups can group tents together to make their own camp while couples can have a peaceful corner to themselves. With nearly 3 acres and a limited number of bookings, you are guaranteed plenty of space. •Relax; Children can run free and play safely on our car free campsite. Park in our convenient car park beside the campground. •Great value for money; Camping should be affordable. We charge a low, flat rate through the whole season, regardless of holidays or high seasons. •Great rural location; Middle of nowhere, centre of everywhere! Ideally situated to enjoy the Norfolk Broads, Norfolk Coast and the City of Norwich, as well as the local countryside. In the evenings, enjoy gazing at the stars in our clear, light-pollution free skies! •Open to everyone; Families, friends, couples, individuals, pets and small organised groups are all welcome. The Old Vicarage Campsite is an excellent place to stay, relax and enjoy the Norfolk countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Campsite Norfolk/Moulton St Mary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing