We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Proclaimers in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gawsworth Hall

Gawsworth Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Gawsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Proclaimers in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Went to see The Proclaimerslast Friday at this venue - what a beautiful place and appreciated being made to feel so welcome at what is the family home of the Richards family - being greeted by Mr Richards on arrival at the gates. We enjoyed a lovely relaxing afternoon having a picnic in the grounds down by the lake & enjoyed listening to The Proclaimers rehearsing ahead of the concert which was a bonus for me ! The house is well worth a visit as there is much interest in there and it is so relaxed - no-one saying 'don't touch' or 'don't walk here' - we sat in their garden on a bench and just enjoyed the environment. An excellant day which was completed by another great Proclaimers performance

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    21
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were greeted at the ticket house by Mr Richards himself who was friendly and jovial. I like their home grown way of doing things. So refreshing when some places seem so formal.The rose garden complimented the beautiful house perfectly. The grounds were free to walk around and we could hear the choir practicing "Les Miserables" for the coming evening concert which we were not there for. Not my kind of music I am afraid though I would consider an event more to my taste in the future as the setting is so lovely and intimate. We met a charming resident cat who was very friendly. Mrs Richards greeted us in the main entrance of the house and was equally as friendly. It is so nice to meet the real family of an historic house who live there. The house itself is stunning inside and packed with interesting personal family archive photos and information giving an open book insight into their lives. So many rooms to see which makes the entrance fee about right. The only disappointment for me is the cafe. We paid £6 for 2 teas and small pieces of carrot cake. To be fair, the cake though small was absolutely delicious and very rich but I am afraid we were served just 2 small cups of tea, one not even full. After finishing the tea we noticed everyone else had been given a pot with milk and water which would have made a second cup each. Why we were not given a pot is a mystery as tea was written on the menu as a pot. As the staff were so busy I didn't have the chance to question it. Again, just a small niggle but do make sure they serve you a pot of tea and not just a cup. We will visit again but will probably take our own lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank melodymakerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"The Proclaimers"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went to see The Proclaimers last night at this venue .
The weather was kind to us and the band were great !
Galsworthy Hall is a beautiful venue and we enjoyed a lovely picnic in the grounds prior to the event . All the staff were very very friendly and full of good advise ... We'll be looking into other events here without a doubt

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charlotte and Jonathan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had the best time at Gawsworth Hall on Friday 2nd August. Grounds were beautiful and the view across the lawns to the lake were stunning. My sincere thanks to Elizabeth Richards and Wendy for their help in every thing they both did for us. Staff and facilities were great and we hope to visit again despite the 270 mile round trip..... for any concert held here it is well worth the trip

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonbbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“60s night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went to Gawsworth Hall for a 60s night concert. Arrived mid afternoon and set up picnic on the beautiful lawns leading down to the lake. Great atmosphere, typically British, with champagne corks popping off around the lawns. Stroll around the stunning grounds and the hall itself, well worth a visit. When the bell sounds it's off to the rose garden for the concert. I'm sure every single one of their summer concerts is wonderful, but the 60s night was amazing, don't miss it next year. Within minutes people were up and dancing on the lawn, or 'doing animations' as the owner and host, Timothy Richards called it. A truly fab 60s night with everyone joining in the singing and dancing.
I cannot recommend Gawsworth Hall concerts highly enough, a unique experience. Absolutely fab!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 336Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gawsworth Hall also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Gawsworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing