We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Copper Beech Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ivoryton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A great place to stay and was superbly recommended. With a private entrance to our room it really did feel like our own place. The bed was very comfortable and well supplied with pillows and blankets. The bathroom was amazing. A two person jacuzzi style tub was perfect as a place for a romantic getaway. The only down side that we felt during our stay was the locale. There was not much to do or see locally but that is not a direct issue with the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

we were surprised to find such an excellent Inn in the countryside.We found very friendly and helpful staff to aid our needs,the food in the restaurant/tavern we strongly recommend and our beautiful,oldfashioned room 105 we would have loved to take along...an absolut delightful stay Klaus and Mimi Neubert,Cologne,Germany

Room Tip: Room 105 was our choice,a very good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juanitaneubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I just returned from our second stay at the CBI. Our first visit was several years ago and the property has since changed ownership. I am happy to report that the accomodations are as nice as we remembered them from our first visit. Our room was spacious, clean, and had a nice romantic rustic feel to it. Our bathroom included dual sinks, very nice marble/tile, a jacuzzi bathtub, and a walk-in rain shower. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. There is a small coffee maker but no refrigerator or mini-bar, so make sure to byob if you want a nightcap. Our room had a door to a 'semi-private' deck, which was actually a shared deck with 3 other rooms... they should consider putting up partitions so you can enjoy the deck with some privacy. The grounds are very well maintained. Even though the restaurant has lost some of its luster over the years, it is still very good and very convenient. I love that you can have cocktails and a bottle of wine with dinner without having to drive afterwards. We took in a great production of 'Dreamgirls' at the Ivoryton Playhouse and had some great meals in Essex and Old Saybrook, all within 10 miles from the CBI. Lastly, they should consider opening up weekends to single night stays if there are open rooms as it hurts them that you can't be spontaneous and book a room for a one night weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cluesct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our first visit for dinner after the change in ownership. Food was actually decent but the service was so horrible it was almost a caricature. Imagine waiting 10 minutes to be seated while the hostess (and us) listened to another diner's complaint in front of us in a half empty restaurant. Imagine the waitress stacking the soup dishes on your placemat right in front of you before carrying them off! The waitstaff appears never to have worked in a restaurant before and their training seemed nonexistent. I could go on and on but suffice it to say, the service makes Friendly's seem like a high end Manhattan special occasion restaurant. No one came over to ask how things were during the meal. The ownership should be ashamed but perhaps they were out consulting their bankruptcy attorneys while we were there on a not-too-busy Saturday night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I had a great experience at this little gem. The room is basic but we got a great nights sleep. Shower was very nice and they provide lots of bathroom goodies. They take pride in their Inn and you can see that in the cleanliness, guest service and food. Top notch breakfast. I really felt like I was on vacation during breakfast hour. The wait staff is incredible! The tall man who took care of us is one of the best in the business - I hope they are paying him big bucks. He deserves it!

Room Tip: Just make sure you wake up for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneHennessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I spend a lot of time researching places before we visit or stay at. I don't know how anyone could say something bad about this property. Visitors should be aware this is an Inn and not a hotel. They do not have full time staff 24/7. They have the necessary personnell for the number of guests staying with them. Upon our arrival the General Manager, Klemens Zachhuber, greeted us and escorted us to our room in the Carriage House. He personally looked over the room to make sure everything was agreeable with us and working. The room, #218, was quite large and spotless. I was told this building was new. We had dinner there that evening and food was exceptional. The wait staff, from the hostess to the person serving bread, were constantly watching their guests, to assist with any questions or problems they had. We stayed 3 nights and our room included a full breakfast each morning! Peter waited on us each morning and selection for breafast included many options. Goodspeed Opera house is only 15 minutes away. We highly recommend staying at the Copper Beech Tree Inn.

Room Tip: Stay in the Carriage House. Do not stay in the main house where the restaurant in located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

One must measure reality against expectations, and in this case, the Copper Bch Inn in Ivoryton Ct was highly recommended. My wife and I booked a suite for the night of August 10th, arriving early that afternoon. Although check in was at 3PM or so, the rooms were in fact ready. Leaving our luggage in the suite, we went out for lunch, and returned about 4PM to dress for an evening function.

All seemed well, although I must say that the "suite" was not something we are used to. A smallish bedroom, with a toilet and bath, of much the same size adjoining, and with the "parlor" on the other side of the bath which was accessed only through the bathroom. However, for one night, we could live with this.

The decent into hell began when we returned to our rooms about 11:30PM. A window airconditioner had rendered the bedroom freezing, Turning it off, we went to open a window. All of them were sealed. Further, the a/c, which was next to the bed, was loud enough to keep us awake in any event, and so, unuseable, but as I mentioned, for one night we could live with it (we thought.)

The bed itself, or more properly, the mattress, was laughable. one did not know where the next lump would surface. Adding to this, they provided granite pillows. Now, the Chinese have mastered sleeping on porcellain pillows, but 4-5 inch high pillows, and we could have managed as well. Unfortunately, the pillows were about 11 inches thick.

As I mentioned, we turned our a/c off, but the guests above us did not. Their a/c, which was like the Frederich design with the compressor separate from the fan, kept recycling every 45-60 seconds, running about 10-15 seconds and shutting down. This would not have mattered had the proprietors isolated the a/c, but they did not, and the vibrations of it came through the framing of the window and down to our lovely nest.

All through the night.

Of course, minor irritations, like the fact that the batteries in both television remotes had run down and one could not easily operate the tvs would not even be mentioned, had these other problems not arisen.

We really were pinioned. It was late at niight, and we have been in more unpleasant situations, but on reflection, I think the only night that compared to this was when I flew into Zagreb, Yugoslavia about 30 years ago, the day the army entered the town. I was the only guest as it turned out in the Intercontinental Hotel, and that evening, too, I got little sleep.

And, yes, was it really that bad? Frankly, it was, but as I mentioned, it was only for one night, and maybe if we were less tired, and not everything (mainly the windows and a/c) we could have gritted our teeth and moved on. And had we booked for more than one night, we would have been long gone the next morning. It's just that this Inn with what seems to have a very good reputuation has some problems, and they really should be addressed.

Michael Zinman

Room Tip: Read Dante first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank michael z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivoryton
6.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
759 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
698 reviews
2.4 mi away
Griswold Inn
Griswold Inn
#1 of 1 in Essex
335 reviews
4.5 mi away
Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper Beech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper Beech Inn

Address: 46 Main St, Ivoryton, CT 06442-1004
Region: United States > Connecticut > Ivoryton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ivoryton
Price Range: £153 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Copper Beech Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Beech Inn portrays subtle and refined elegance in traditional New England style. The intimate country hotel is situated in the hamlet of Ivoryton, Connecticut, one of three small villages within the historic town of Essex on the Connecticut River.Rediscover the art of relaxation and experience luxurious comfort in one of the inn's 22 guest rooms and suites in the Main House, the Carriage House or the most recent addition, the Comstock House. Period antiques, oriental rugs, and richly textured fabrics and upholstery are abundant, combined with thoughtful amenities.The quaint villages of the Lower Connecticut River Valley are just minutes away, each one evoking the essence of the New England village of long ago. The history and culture, the pristine Connecticut River, the seaside landscape of Long Island Sound and the abundance of recreational opportunities are endless in this very special area of the Connecticut River Valley, all just a two-hour drive from New York or Boston.Begin with the discovery of the riverside village of Essex, with boutiques, art galleries, antique shops and the Connecticut River Museum. Just a few miles up the river is the picture perfect town of Chester, offering the visitor art galleries, gift shops, unique clothing stores, and antique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your The Copper Beech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Beech Hotel Ivoryton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing