We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing getaway, so close to home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Copper Beech Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ivoryton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway, so close to home!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We took advantage of The Copper Beech Inn's winter special (1 night, $100 dining credit and breakfast for two for under $300) for a short getaway. We had such a wonderful time! The room was lovely! I can't say enough wonderful things about the bathroom - heated floor, whirlpool tub, bath robes, rain shower! Wow! The bed was super-comfy and there were tons of pillows to get cozy.

Our dinner that evening was incredible and the cocktails were even better! So glad we only had to walk back to our room after ;). The breakfast was also lovely - the bacon was so flavorful ... sweet, salty and spicy all at the same time!

I would have given this 5 stars, except for two small things. 1. The couple in the room next to us kept their TV on all the time and we could hear it through the walls, which was just a slight annoyance. They also took advantage of the room's snow-covered balcony to smoke - which drifted into our room. Ick! 2. In the morning we had a very hard time getting enough hot water. I assume it was just because everyone else was trying to shower at the same time, as we didn't have any problems with filling the bathtub the night before. But, overall, we had an amazing time and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    56
    36
    25
    17
See reviews for
26
173
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, CT
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We just returned from a top-notch Valentine's Day stay at the Copper Beech. We found it now has new owners and management. They're doing a great job! The staff is excellent and the ones we met seem to enjoy working there. All are striving to make the inn and restaurant a memorable experience. We received a great deal which included a delux suite in the newer Comstock House as well a dinner certificate and breakfast. After being cheerfully greeted at the main desk, we were shown by the same wonderful lady to our suite, which was more than we expected. Both dinner that night and breakfast were culinary delights-- the chefs should be complimented. The wait staff also were excellent... very attentive and friendly without being intrusive. We had been to the Copper Beeach a few years ago but, with this new staff and their dedication, we plan to return very soon. The inn is close to the center of Essex and the Essex steam train. Anyway, we can't say enough good things... thank you to the staff and management- you're doing an excellent job!

Room Tip: Our room was in the Comstock House in back. You can easily walk to the main house and dining room fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTTomChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I have friends who live in New York and we live in Massachusetts. We have developed a new tradition where we meet at a half way point for dinner. My birthday was this month so my husband suggested we meet at the Cooper Beech Inn for my birthday dinner. What a beautiful Inn with a real New England feel. My husband surprised me with an overnight stay. During check-in the staff was pleasant and welcoming. The room was beyond belief...beautiful, warm, comfortable and quite. After changing we went down to the fire placed lobby to wait for our friends. When they arrived we went to the dining room and had a wonderful meal from appetizers to dessert. Oh my god...what a birthday meal! Breakfast the next day was delicious and afterwards we went upstairs to relax and savior our experience before checking out and getting on the road. An overall experience I will remember for a long time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Copper Beech in mid-December 2013 to attend a friend's wedding. We arrived as the area was in the grip of unseasonable early snowfall, which of course made the festive decorations and lighting even more beautiful.
The hotel rooms are in three areas: the old inn itself, and the Carriage House and the Comstock House both of which are separate buildings at the back of the complex. You can drive your car round the back to get your luggage in, but the Carriage House doesn't have a lift if your room is not on the ground floor. Not sure if the Comstock House had a lift either. Umbrellas are available at each main door in case you need to dash to reception in the rain.
The room (212 in the Carriage House) was spacious and spotless, with a comfortable half-tester bed and a large well-lit bathroom. The photos on the hotel's website are old I think, as the room is now much more modernly decorated. Room-controlled heating and a view of the snow (with a verandah for warmer days) made the place nice and cosy to come back to. There was plenty of storage space, a decent hairdryer in the bathroom and of course a TV.
We didn't dine at the inn but we did have breakfast there, and if that's anything to go by I would recommend eating here. The bar is large with friendly professional staff, even when the Brits started a sing-song in the early hours of the morning....
We were part of a large group of people who had travelled from all over the world to reunite for this wedding, and at times I am sure we were more boisterous than we should have been. But the lovely Peter Payge and his team were most accommodating and friendly even when we arrived late for breakfast. By the way, the complimentary lemon strudel that is served at breakfast is reason enough to be on time.
They even went out and bought us an electric kettle when we asked for tea-making facilities in our room.
All in all a lovely three-day visit to this charming place. Congratulations to Peter and the team for making the Copper Beech Inn such a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't worry about choosing the more expensive rooms - the more reasonably priced ones are roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A Perfect New Year's Eve package with a fabulous French style gourmet dinner, beautiful room at the Inn and a New Year's Day brunch. The service was perfection and the food and wine excellent. The new owners have committed themselves to excellence in both the Inn and dining room. They have succeeded.

Room Tip: Loved the rooms in the Comstock House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilepstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Copper Beech in for three nights as part of a wedding entourage.

The staff did everything possible to make our stay a plesant one, including purchasing a kettle so that we could make tea in our room.

Peter Payge took exceptional care of us during our stay, and nothing was too much trouble for him and other staff members.

When our wedding party came back to the hotel for a late night sing-a-long, the bar stayed open until 02.00 in the morning, and the bar staff endured our late night singing and antics.

We were there during a heavy snow storm. The snow ploughs continued until late in the evening and the roads were clear when we awoke in the morning.

The Copper Beech is positioned on the outskirts of the town but this is only about half a mile from the the church where the wedding was beeing held.

The Copper Beech is a one hour walk from Essex and the fanous Griswold Inn however, with a car, this distance is easily traversed.

The holel has one main building and two satalite buildings which are ideal for groups of friends to have their own space, and interact like neighbours in a complex.

The rooms are very plesant, comfortable and warm, and have french doors that open onto the garden areas.

Room Tip: If there is a group of you, you will have more opportunity to interact with each other by staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeditopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Its a great place w great service but the desserts will keep me coming back for more. The pastry chef is a master. Id like to lick the plate. So so good! Ivoryton is such a pretty town, and now it has a real pastry chef. Congratulations!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivoryton
6.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
727 reviews
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,728 reviews
4.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper Beech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper Beech Inn

Property: The Copper Beech Inn
Address: 46 Main St, Ivoryton, CT 06442-1004
Region: United States > Connecticut > Ivoryton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ivoryton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Copper Beech Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Beech Inn portrays subtle and refined elegance in traditional New England style. The intimate country hotel is situated in the hamlet of Ivoryton, Connecticut, one of three small villages within the historic town of Essex on the Connecticut River.Rediscover the art of relaxation and experience luxurious comfort in one of the inn's 22 guest rooms and suites in the Main House, the Carriage House or the most recent addition, the Comstock House. Period antiques, oriental rugs, and richly textured fabrics and upholstery are abundant, combined with thoughtful amenities.The quaint villages of the Lower Connecticut River Valley are just minutes away, each one evoking the essence of the New England village of long ago. The history and culture, the pristine Connecticut River, the seaside landscape of Long Island Sound and the abundance of recreational opportunities are endless in this very special area of the Connecticut River Valley, all just a two-hour drive from New York or Boston.Begin with the discovery of the riverside village of Essex, with boutiques, art galleries, antique shops and the Connecticut River Museum. Just a few miles up the river is the picture perfect town of Chester, offering the visitor art galleries, gift shops, unique clothing stores, and antique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your The Copper Beech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Beech Hotel Ivoryton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing