We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”

Ivoryton Tavern Cafe
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Ivoryton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
309 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stopped in for lunch as we were driving by. Did not know what to expect, but to our surprise it turned out to be very good. The burgers are fantastic and huge. Everything was to our liking. Very laid back place, will be going back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaguar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent food not what you would expect.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here last night With some friends. I had a two pork chop special with sweet potato fries and my girlfriend had grilled chicken on a croissant with blue cheese. My food was okay I felt like it needed a lot of salt and pepper it was kind of bland. My girlfriend said her she her soup had no flavor and she never finished her chicken sandwich. Overall the food is decent but I would only go there if The Blue Hound Cookery was closed or booked. The place is old and beat up . We sat in the corner where the floor was uneven I felt like the table was 3 or 4 inches too high. The window was covered with plastic but didn't keep out the cold.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vince6575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Return - not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Well - I was told Tavern changed hands - so we decided to give a go . Went early on a Friday night. We walked in around 5:30 and stood by the door for a about 5 minutes. Hmmm. So we saw an open table to the left and decided to move toward it - ALL of a SUDDEN someone pops out of somewhere, points at us and yells - YOU CAN"t SIT THERE! Go sit over at that table...." sheesh - that was welcoming - we were in a pretty good mood , so after pointing out that I could not sit at a high top "she" said - "well go take that one over in the corner..."? - Outstanding hospitality skills....anyway - we brushed it off, sat down and ordered some drinks, the waitress was nice and accommodating. Food was just 'ok'- I had the fish and chips (which I have had here before) and the chips were soggy and unseasoned and the fish was cooked to proper level, but also no seasoning and the batter was kind of soggy too.... the other meal ordered was a salad and was decent - - apple dumpling was fine...the kicker was the menu pricing was not a great deal given the quality of the food on a Friday night......so, not sure I would recommend to my friends if they ask where to go grab some dinner - but, ok for drinks (also a wee bit more $$ given the venue)..http://www.ivorytontavern.com/

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xenonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
�G|ϗϨ�
Level Contributor
720 reviews
501 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Need a giant stomach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Ate there before the ivory town playhouse for the first time. The tavern burger is beyond enormous. I felt like I was on "man against food." Tasty bar food and a cool atmosphere for the casually inclined.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Giant hamburgers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hamburgers here are plenty large for sharing and taste good too. Kind of funky place with a rectangular bar in the center of the one room, A good place for beer and a decent meal with fun atmosphere and it's across from the Ivoryton Theatre too, very convenient.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sigohall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivoryton Tavern Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ivoryton Tavern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing