We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most things are amazing, a few are flops” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Hound Cookery

The Blue Hound Cookery
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Ivoryton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: cookery and taproom located in the center of Ivoryton across from the Ivoryton Playhouse. Casual dining for lunch dinner and late night. New taproom opened with ct craft beers.
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
625 reviews
455 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Most things are amazing, a few are flops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ate here for the first time the other day and loved most everything: the smoked Caesar sale was phenomenal, the seafood sweet potato chowder was delicious, the fried oysters were declared "the best ever" by two in our party. Crab cakes were a little flat, and the scallops in cream sauce were disappointing (drowning in cream). Succotash was perfect, fruit (bananas and blueberries) foster was wonderful. Beers were good; the wine list is short but good. Service was great, ambience was pleasant, prices are very reasonable. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank v0yageur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, reasonably priced food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Blue Hound. It's a tiny, attractive place with a casual atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, and delicious New Orleans-style food. My seafood sweet potato chowder was superb, and the portions were generous. We'll go back the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hidden gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have had lunch once and dinner twice at this tiny spot tucked away in quiet Ivoryton - all were terrific! Try the fried green tomatoes - delicious! My brother couldn't stop talking about the fabulous grilled Caesar salad...he wants to go for lunch the next time he's down this way so he can have it topped with buttermilk fried chicken as his meal. The menu offers a range of Creole/Down-home Southern items.....there are always a few dinner specials in addition to the regular menu. The owners are hands on - the husband as chef and the wife as hostess - and it is clear they take pride in offering deceptively simple, delicious food in a charming setting. Try the Key Lim Pie for dessert...sublime!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivoryton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really in Ivoryton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Ok so i was thinking ...this kind of food in little Ivoryton, but oh my it is so worth the trip....cute inside, nice owners and really good food! Love having this resturant in our little town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tammy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
217 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“New Orleans or Ivoryton, CT?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I was in a different state Saturday evening! What an amazing restaurant. From the moment we were promptly greeted at the door until we left we were delighted with The Blue Hound Cookery. The laid back dining experience is such a lovely change. The service was great and unhurried. They recently got their wine and beer license. The menu was perfect with something for everyone. We loved the Zydeco background music and the laughter and chatter of the kitchen staff brought back memories of trips to New Orleans. We can not wait to come back!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank diddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Hound Cookery also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Hound Cookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing