We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, but not what we expected!”
other traveller has booked this property
Surucua lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Surucua lodge
Surucua lodge Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Surucua lodge
Surucua lodge
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
Eco-Portal de Piedra, private reserve
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Palma Sola, Province of Jujuy, Northern Argentina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judith D
Villanueva de la vera
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, but not what we expected!”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We thought we were staying in Surucua lodge, but had actually booked for Las Lanzas. Las lanzas is a shortish walk up a very steep footpath through the forest. It sits in about 1 acre of cleared land, but is surrounded by natural forest. It is nowhere near as luxurious as Surucua lodge; hot water is available by lighting a fire underneath the water tank in the garden, the oven is also in the garden....a tin box with a wood fire underneath. First sight after a long drive left me underwhelmed to say the least.
The kitchen is reasonably well equipped, the hot water ,once heated, works well. A 2 ring camping stove was adequate for most meals. There are no wardrobes or drawers for clothes although there are plenty of beams to drape them over. Wifi reception is erratic.
After my initial shock, the benefits of Las lanzas became apparent; total seclusion, fantastic profusion of birds, full length windows on all sides of the house...no need to get up at dawn to view the birds, just sit up in bed with the bino´s and the house, though basic is comfortable.
The owner Carlos was most helpful and knowledgable; he transported all our shopping and luggage up to the house via landrover, lent us his beautiful alsation for the night and made us feel very welcome. Wifi reception in the administration centre ..down the hill... is reliable and fast.
I think that the advertising should be a little clearer i.e that there is no internal oven and the hot water system is not at the flick of a switch. Also the restaurant does not exist and if you want breakfast in reception it is a fair walk.
However, we spent a very relaxed 2 weeks there...if I´d known what to expect I´d still have booked it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincheste...
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A comfortable birder's paradise”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My wife and I spent two nights, along with our traveling friends, in this remote and comfortable hacienca. We sat on the porch and watched toucans and flocks of parrots and a variety of other birds fly across the yard. Later, Sylvia and Carlos led us on a birding hike into the mountain behind us. We cooked our meals in the kitchen and slept comfortably in the bedrooms, but sitting on the porch in the mornings and the evenings was the best place of all. The place was the perfect combination of rustic charm and comfort. It seems to be well-known among birders -- but it deserves to be known among travelers simply looking for a quiet, beautiful piece of unspoiled acreage in northern Argentina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, comfort, seclusion
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thanks for the review, it was a pleasure to have you as guests in Eco-Portal de Piedra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habbinala...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Setting to see Fantastic Birds and Landscapes”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed 4 nights as part of the NW leg of a 4 week Argentina birding trip. Our wonderful and attentive hosts were also our guides and organisers for birding in the local area, followed by an adventure to Calilegeua NP, Yala, Tilcara, N to Yavi and back to Jujuy.

The lodge is a magnificent building in a wonderful valley setting, traditionally furnished and surrounded by birds, pasture and forest. The relative isolation (20km along an unpaved road S of Palma Sola) is the key to the rich habitat and range of birds, yet is only a few hours drive from Jujuy airport and a little further from Salta. We visited a neighbouring couple for some fantastic evening meals.

It's a perfect base for some of the best birding in the country or to just spend some time enjoying nature in the private reserve and along the Sierra de Santa Barbara.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attentive an accomodating hosts and a perfect setting
Liked least: Should have stayed longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thank you Alan and Judith for your comment, we are very glad you enjoyed your time with us, you are always welcome to visit Eco Portal de Piedra again-
Regards from all of us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing