We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low-key upscale bistro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pastorale - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pastorale
Cuisines: American, French, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Low-key upscale bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I've eaten many meals over the last 5 years or so, and I've never been disappointed. The setting (a tastefully updated colonial house) is has an elegant but relaxing feel. Whether you choose the relaxing feel of the pub room or the more sedate feel of one of the dining rooms, the food is the same high-quality, inventive bistro fare. One hallmark of the chef is his penchant to integrate vegetables into the meat dishes (e.g., perfectly cooked slices of roast leg of lamb sitting on a bed of a warm salad made with French green lentils, or roasted salmon filet on a bed of lightly seasoned mashed potatoes and surrounded by a warm corn relish). The appetizers and salads receive equal care. Two of my favorites are the arugula salad of with grilled artichokes, prosciutto, roasted beets and an orange lavender balsamic glaze, and the grilled marinated tiger shrimp (served with a lime, cilantro and avocado salsa and some mache). Solicitous but low-key service, delicious desserts and a nice array of wines by the glass round out things. Definitely worth a special trip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureLoverMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“French Cuisine in Lakeville, CT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A group of us from the Berkshire Choral Festival drove down to this restaurant on our one night off. It was worth the trip. The cocktails are to die for. The food is great. The service superb. A great place to go along highway 44 but bring a thick wallet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great meal, interesting building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We shared the grilled artichoke salad as an appetizer, which was amazing -- very highly recommended! We then both followed up with the rib eye steak special, one medium and one medium rare, both prepared perfectly, and nicely complemented by the recommended Rioja. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we had a lovely evening in what appeared to be a historically old and well-preserved structure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoloNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bequia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We returned to Lakeville this summer to find Pastorale is still marvelous. Five of us at the table, five different entrees, five wonderful meals. Pasta primavera was perfect, with fresh veggies and shaved parmigiana. Garlicky mussels were wonderful. Calimari, pate, crab cakes, soup, all wonderful. Service was attentive without being invasive, just right. Can't say enough good things about Pastorale.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mangomon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Really bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Ate here with a group of 6., but there seemed to be a larger party upstairs. Service very rushed... When I asked if a meal could be altered I received an eye roll, then the answer yes while her head shook no... I asked which one was it?

Food was metocore for NYC standards and even other places I dined on my trip. Lovely building and room however.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pastorale also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing