We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Oasis in Litchfield Hills; a Bit Overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Interlaken Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Interlaken Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Tranquil Oasis in Litchfield Hills; a Bit Overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I very much liked our 1 night stay at the Interlaken. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, Morgan's restaurant is phenomenal, and my wife got an excellent massage from the on-site Ellora spa.

We paid $199/night on hotels.com and despite that being a relatively low rate for the Interlaken, I still feel like that is a bit much. This is not a fancy, elite looking property, and has more rustic charm than any "wow factor." I'd definitely recommend it overall, but I can see why those paying higher rates in the summer could be a bit underwhelmed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTravelerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! I am so glad that you enjoyed your getaway here, as we strive to create a comfortable, relaxing destination that you'll fall in love with.

As the summer season approaches we do hope that you'll return to take advantage of all of our property amenities. Our staff will soon be preparing the lake front (canoes & kayaks are complimentary for Guests), the numerous gardens & plantings, the swimming pool, tennis courts and more (golf is right next door too). Frequently our Guests find that everything they need is right here, making us a good choice for an "all-inclusive" property in this area.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a favorable review. We do hope that you'll visit us again this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    89
    45
    21
    13
See reviews for
111
147
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The staff at the Interlaken are phenomenal. I have been coming to this hotel for almost 10 years. Every year the food is wonderful, the staff is helpful, the rooms are clean and the atmosphere is hospitable. I spend 3 days and 2 nights here every year, along with a group of up to 40 women, yet the staff makes me feel like I am the only one they are worried about pleasing. It is usually booked to capacity with other events but they want to make sure each and every customer is enjoying their stay. I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub you should request the lower level. All of the rooms have been remodeled and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbfoot845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments of the staff here at Interlaken. We truly enjoy taking care of our Guests and I am so glad it shows - it's truly our pleasure! We so appreciate your loyalty to our property for so many years. We look forward to serving you and the entire group of ladies again in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A large group of us have been traveling to the Interlaken for a scrapbooking weekend for at least the last 8 years and always have a great time. Everyone is always so friendly and there are faces we recognize year after year (a good sign that a business can retain its quality staff!) This year though, they went above and beyond in the hospitality department. They were so accommodating - anything we needed or wanted but beyond that, they anticipated our needs and even spoiled us with some sweet treats for National Peanut Butter Day! Can't wait to go back next year!! I highly recommend the Interlaken for a group event or even a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Down stairs bathrooms have tubs - upstairs rooms have walk-in showers if that matters to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you, Melaine, for writing such a wonderful review about your weekend with us. Your compliments are so very well appreciated! The entire staff at Interlaken loves to welcome the entire scrapbooking group every year - thank you all so much for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Live Oak, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I, yes Granddaughter too, were making a planes, trains and automobiles trip from Florida to Upstate New York. Florida, as usual, was warm and sunny. Upstate New York was, uh, well ... We stumbled upon the Interlaken. What a surprise. The accommodations were excellent. The staff outstanding. Restaurant great. The grounds and scenery were out of this world. The room was warm and comfortable, through the window we could see a winter wonderland. We plan to return in the summer for several days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for including Interlaken on your long adventure from Florida. We are so pleased you enjoyed warming up with us! What a wonderful experience your journey must have been. I hope all of this snow will be melted before your return this summer! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at our property. See you in warmer weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The restaurant serves farm fresh, local food, and the chef rocks. I had the best burger I've ever eaten - grass-fed organic beef, carmelized onions, local cheddar. They also keep 4-taps of fresh, local craft beer.

Every employee I encountered was over-the-top nice. Glad to help with anything.

It's got a really cozy, small-town feel to it. $10 Pay-per view movies? NO. There's a cabinet full of DVD's for free in the front lobby.

After I got home, I noticed I left my laptop charger in the room. 1 phone call - "yes, we have it here. What's your address? We'll mail it out today."

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philr420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at Interlaken. We are so glad you enjoyed everything - the entire staff appreciates your kind words. We'd love to take care of you again the next time business brings you to this area. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coxsackie, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Girls Weekend at the Interlaken Inn this past weekend was FABULOUS! Stayed in the Townhouse and it had all the amenities you could desire! Loved the fireplace and spacious rooms – very comfortable, clean and had that warm “home away from home” feeling. Plenty of room for 4 women - highly recommend. The food at their restaurant (Morgans) was excellent and the breakfast buffet was extremely generous (loved the oatmeal and fresh fruit :)

There is a spa on premise if you are looking to be pampered. While we were awaiting our treatments, we relaxed in the beautifully appointed library/ game room. The rich wooden bookcase wall and comfy chairs made for an inviting reading space. The huge game room with a pool table, ping-pong and air hockey was great for competitive fun and lots of laughs (would be great for a family getaway!)

I cannot speak highly enough about the management team at the Inn- Kevin Bousquet does a wonderful job and the team couldn’t be more accommodating (thanks Vanessa!) I highly recommend and looking forward to having another memorable Girls Weekend at the Interlaken!

Room Tip: Townhouse was spacious, quiet and had all the amenities needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review of our property. It was our pleasure to have all of you stay with us! It sounds like you had a great weekend enjoying our amenities and spa services. The staff and I will look forward to you taking care of you again, hopefully very soon. Thank you again for choosing Interlaken!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I'm going to start by saying that our stay at the Interlaken was EXCELLENT! My wife and I went to the Interlaken Inn for the New Year's Eve Celebration, which turned out to be much more than we expected from the food and service to the lodging. The food was excellent, service was top notch, and the lodging was exactly what we were looking for. Rooms were clean, quiet and pleasant. The food was gourmet and had a great selection. I don't want to say that we were surprised, but we are happy to say that it was a more than we expected. The only constructive recommendations that I would make are to include music across all generations to cater to a more diverse population and make sure the bar stays fully stocked all night. Neither of these take away from an awesome New Year's Eve at a great place!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArmstrongPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are are so pleased you and your wife had an excellent time at our New Year's celebration. Your positive comments mean so much and I thank you for taking the time to share them on Tripadvisor. I also thank you for your suggestions for making the celebration even better for next year. I hope you both will return to the property soon to experience many of the special packages we offer. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
2.9 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
18.8 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
11.4 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hilltop House  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Inn

Property: Interlaken Inn
Address: 74 Interlaken Road, Route 112, Lakeville, CT 06039-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Interlaken Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming country resort in the heart of New England with 78 gorgeous guestrooms on 30 manicured acres, nestled between shimmering lakes. All rooms have A/C, cable TV, DVD, phone and private bath. Complete with recreational facilities including tennis, outdoor heated swimming pool, health & fitness center, massages & spa services, gameroom, golf, canoes & kayaks, more... An abundance of cultural attractions and antiquing is nearby.  Pet friendly accommodations and top-rated dining in Morgan's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Interlaken Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Hotel Lakeville
Interlaken Resort Lakeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing