We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonecroft Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We decided on the Stonecroft Inn to celebrate our one year anniversary. We stayed in the Nor Easter room. Everything about Stonecroft exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, comfortable, and cozy. The bathroom was HUGE and the heated towel rack and jacuzzi tub were amazing. Our doors opened up on to the "shared porch," but the Nor Easter is the only room on that side of the building, so we had plenty of privacy. The grounds are beautiful and perfect for a mid-afternoon stroll. After dinner in Old Mystic (Captain Daniel Packer Inne-also wonderful!), Jim was nice enough to start a fire for us outside so we could finish off our bottle of wine. Jim and Marcie were gracious, friendly, and unobtrusive hosts-everything you want in a b&b. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Erin,
We are so glad that Stonecroft "exceeded your expectations." Thanks for telling everyone how great the Nor'easter room is with its "HUGE" bathroom. The outside fire in the fire pit is always a big hit with our guests. Thanks for mentioning it. Glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

This quiet B&B offers a tranquil setting but does not fall short on a hearty breakfast. A summer morning offered the opportunity to eat out on the veranda. It was affordable and comfortable. We opted to stay in the charming house with a feel for the past and by gone days. The clean room and pleasant atmosphere makes for an easy decision to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear roadrest,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience here at Stonecroft. Regardless of where people stay here at Stonecroft, we always encourage them to visit the common areas in the 1807 house and explore its charm and history. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay there and the first with Jim and Marcie as the hosts. They are a friendly team. The rooms were as we remember them. We stayed again in the Shubel suite which has a huge comfortable bed and a gorgeous open bathroom. This is a very quiet setting set far back from a country road.

This does not appear to be a place for kids, although the rooms did have a DVD that took movies. I suspect sounds will travel in a place made mostly of wood. Plus,There were almost no television stations, so bring a good book. There are some nice outdoor spots to read.

Our only gripe was the limited selection at breakfast. Only one hot item was offered. We are not sure what would have happened if we said no to the one item or if we had a dietary restriction. But the meal was delicious if you like the item offered.

We missed the bar that Stonecroft used to have. There is a package store nearby. It is the sort of place you might quietly sip wine outdoors. Our room did not have a refrigerator for keeping anything cool.

So this is a quiet and restful spot in a great part of Connecticut. You can get all the excitement you want at the two fabulous casinos nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Peter S,
Thank you for such a thorough review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Shubel suite with its extra large bath and huge comfortable bed. Thanks too for mentioning how quiet it is here, as we are set far back from the road. Like most inns, we offer one hot entree for breakfast, but our kitchen will always do whatever is possible to accomodate dietary restrictions as well as personal preferences. We have considerd in-room refrigerators, but opted for one common frig in the hallway, so as not to disturb people's sleep. Thanks again for a great review!
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Stonecroft Inn was absolutely wonderful. Jim and Marcy really know how to run an Inn. We'll definitely return there ASAP. It was so quiet and restful and the breakfasts were great too. The Inn was also in a very rural area, all you can hear at night was the sound of crickets and other " night life"

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were really nice and well appointed. I really don't think anyone could be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Robert G,
Thank you for your very kind and complimentary review. Our 6+ acres provide a quiet and restful setting with plenty of wildlife to watch and listen to. You would never guess you were so close to downtown Mystic or the casinos. We look forward to seeing you when you return "ASAP."
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Looking for a B&B close to the casinos? Close to Mystic? Close to many lovely seaside towns and wonderful dining? A place with beautiful rooms, savory breakfasts and the the most attentive innkeepers you'll meet anywhere. You've found it! We stayed for 5 nights in mid-August in Lily. Our room was immaculate, the in-room coffee was a welcome touch and the whirlpool tub so nice after a day of shopping, antiquing or visiting the nearby villages. The French doors lead to a lovely deck perfect for that first morning cup of coffee or an afternoon glass of wine. Though Jim and Marcie say they are new at this, they act as if they are seasoned pros. They have a wealth of knowledge about the area. Ask them for dining recommendations and then go there! So enjoy the hustle bustle of the surrounding areas but when "the shadows grow long" return home to Stonecroft.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "barn" are large and there's no need to go outside to get to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoVeinncentralNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Central, NY,
Thanks for a wonderfully written review. We couldn't have said it any better if we had written it ourselves. Glad you enjoyed both the "hustle bustle" and the "serenity" to the fullest.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here in February for our 5th anniversary. So close to the casinos and to town. Our room was beautiful and so romantic. This was our first time staying at a B & B and I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a nice, clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anista08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Anista08,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Stonecroft. "Clean, comfortable and romantic" are the words we love to hear from our guests. Thanks for your great review!
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Stonecroft Country Inn while in town for a wedding. We love staying at B&B's, and found this place while searching the area online. What a fantastic find!! It was secluded, but only about 10 minutes from Mystic proper. The grounds were absolutely beautiful, the room was clean, comfortable, romantic, all the things you look for in a B&B. We had a room with doors that led out onto a deck overlooking the beautiful grounds, which included a fire pit, a large lawn, and many trees. On top of that, the innkeepers were absolutely wonderful! Extremely friendly, very welcoming, and quick with a good recommendation on what to do in the area. Also, breakfast both days we were there was fantastic! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice weekend away, or an extended stay in a lovely area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orlando Room - WONDERFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Andrea C,
Thank you for such an encouraging review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Orlando room and that you found Stonecroft to be "all the things you look for in a B&B." Thanks for recommending us!
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledyard
3.8 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,466 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
757 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.7 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Inn

Address: 515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339-1637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range: £155 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country elegance for the discriminating traveler. Located less than 5 miles from Mystic and the Casinos, Stonecroft Country Inn, an 1807 sea captain's country estate, consists of a sunny Georgian colonial and more recently renovated Yellow Barn. The 1807 House has four common rooms, six fireplaces, and four historic guest rooms with private baths, three with fireplaces. The Yellow Barn offers six luxury guest suites with gas fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Voted Best of New England 2012 by the Editors of Yankee Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stonecroft Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Hotel Ledyard
Stonecroft Country Inn Ledyard, CT - Mystic Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing