We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hemlock Hill Camp Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn(Torrington)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$894
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$851
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
5
6
1
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
6
1
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Words cannot express how disappointed I am with the experience my family had at this campground/Co-op. Dirty pools, nasty people and the grounds are poorly kept. No pride in the campground. Too many issues and negatives to list. Beware! SPend your money at the campground in Bantam.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheStar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

There is a battle between the co op and the owners and both sides are dishonest and direspect ful!
This campground is a terrable place to be.
Nobody wants to care for the place on weekends. The pool is dirty and the bathrooms are nasty!
Nothing to do but sit at your stinky site!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sage T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Management seems to be absent with no monitoring of rowdy guests. No cleaning crew! We arrived on a Saturday afternoon. We went to the registration area that is just a canopy with a table and chairs and no one was there. We had to walk down the road to an RV to register. There was no toilet paper in the mens room near us until Monday afternoon! And the bathrooms were never cleaned so the mens room smelled of urine. Saturday night there were some rowdy guests partying and arguing until midnight even though quiet time starts at 10:00pm. The hot tub was out of order and the pool had a lot of dead bugs in it. The camp store was almost never open so we had to keep going to town for ice. Very dusty place with lots of pot holes. We will not be going back there anytime soon. we pulled out a day early we were so discussed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband & I have been regulars to Hemlock Hills for over the past 5+ years. We have always found the owners (especially Mary) to be cheerful & helpful. We love many of the activites, especially at Halloween time, but also during select times during the summer. They have two really nice pool areas, and a whirpool for the adults. Playground area could be alittle more developed for the kids, but there is enough going on in/around the campgroud that this is not too big of a deal. The owners have invested alot of time & money into trying to spruce up/modernize the facility; their rec hall is very nice. Campers also need to "pick up" behind themselves as well; not everything, such as toilet paper on the floor in the bathroom, is the owners fault! While some of the recreation programming could use a boost, I think that most kids will find the activity schedule OK. A few years back, they ran a campground-wide "olympic theme" weekend. To us, that was the best weekend ever! From the archery and shooting contests, to the swim races, track events and most especially "allegator races" in the pool and all the accompanying activities around this event, we had the best time! (wish they'd run that again!) There is a good sense of neighborhood/community here, and newbies are always welcomed. We have never encountered any overt deception (in reply to "cb" from Fall 2011). My cell phone service (ATT) works fine. I'm on vacation; I really don't have a great pressing need to check emails on-line or do alot of phone work - weekends are meant to unwind, relax and get away from all that, in my book! We like the neighborly get-togethers, or the campground-wide potlucks, crafts, movies, shows/contests and bingo. You should try this campground on one of their major activity weekends at least once.....

Room Tip: Some paths/dirt roads are a little more rough than others - it will depend upon your vehicle if you can make steep climbs, turns, etc, There are many nice sites all around the campground - something will surely be "a-ok" with you here!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RockawayCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The owners charged us a $60 fee to LOOK at the campground and refused to refund it! We made our reservation in person, but when we found out that my cell phone (t-Mobile) had no service here, the wi-fi signal would require me to buy a booster (recommended by the owners), and there is no cable service (I work while traveling and we tested this in areas throughout the campground though we were booked at site 3 up front at the office) we went back to the office and showed them I had no service and reluctantly had to cancel for this year. They said they understood but when we got our credit card statement there was the charge. We called and they said, "Oh well. No refund." Why would you do that to a customer?? We spent nearly an hour there talking to you about spending fall and the next spring there. So let me also say that besides the blatant behind the back charges we received...the website looked great...the front of the campground has alot of potential and looks nice and clean for the first 2 sites, but that is where it ends. Like other reviews noted...debris, trash, electrical hazards, severe potholes...go there and judge for yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews