We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Litchfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield
Winchester, MA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a clean and comfortable hotel. Just make sure that you are in the new section of the hotel. The heat doesn't work so great in the old section. Each room is very large. They have a nice continental breakfast and a bar/restaurant on the first floor. This past weekend they had a drummer and guitarist singing. I haven't eaten in the restaurant so there is not much I can say about it.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the "new section"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to have you again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    74
    25
    22
    20
See reviews for
63
92
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our wedding will be in the area this fall and we scheduled appointments with the caterer and venue as well as the Justice of the Peace. Rather than driving back and forth, my fiance suggested that we stay overnight. What a lovely inn. Yes, they are under new management and due to the long grueling winter they are behind in their planned updates but overall we were very satisfied! The dront desk staff were great and were able to help us print tickets for a show at the Infinity Music Hall. We returned from the show and went to the bar for a cocktail and were happy to hear that we could get dessert even though the kitchen was "closed". The bartender was pleasent and there was a duet performing. The desserts were huge and very tasty!
The next morning we went into the lounge area where their self-serve breakfast was being offered. Scrambled eggs, waffle maker, bagles, bacon, sausage, yogurt, coffee, tea etc. were set up and ready for the guests. As we left, the Sunday brunch was set up in the library area and had a wonderful selection of foods. The buffet was substantial, which leads me to believe that they were expecting a pretty big crowd.
We are very happy to say the we have blocked off rooms for any of our guests who wish to stay over after our wedding in October!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the newer updated rooms but we have seen the "theme" rooms and althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLMC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks for your valuable feedback and we assure you best of our services at all times.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just returned from a disappointing stay at the Litchfield Inn. There were several things that made the Inn comfortable and it IS very pretty, as well as reasonably priced, but our experience with the restaurant was appalling. Since I don't want to get upset all over again, you can just take my word for it that the experience was one of the worst I've ever had in a restaurant. And I'm also confident that the other guests would agree. The Manager did credit us back a small amount for the cost of the meal, but we would never return to the Inn based upon our experience with BOTH the food and the service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing your feedback but I feel sorry on behalf of the Bistro for not being able to come up to your expectations. We always strive to impress all our guests with good services and good food. Our chef and his team has been great but we missed to make you happy. I sincerely apologize on behalf of the team for the discomfort you had. No reason can make you feel better but we will look forward to your visit and be the best to make you feel better and believe in us.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Litchfield hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Port Chester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

It was my first stay at the Inn and the first getaway with my girlfriend so I wanted everything to be perfect. I was a little worried at first, having read some of the reviews but we couldn't have had a nicer stay. The grounds and the building were beautiful (especially covered in snow) and the library and rooms were well kept. The heater in the first room they put us in was broken so I told them and they happily put us into into another room; it was a fall forward as the room was older and had the colonial New England theme that we were we both seeking. The room was comfortable and clean with an electric fireplace (ambiance only). We had a great stay and meal at the Bantam Bistro. They also provide a continental breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, and waffles. It's close to the village green plus some other attractions (the oldest CT cinema, wineries, galleries). An excellent price performer.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301. 1 Large queen size bed; older tv, electric fireplace, velvet couch. If they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback and we appreciate your compliments. It is indeed amazing to have somebody understand the possibilities of any malfunctioning and as our front desk staff makes all possible efforts to ensure the best available comfort, your feedback is encouraging for them. I am sure on your next visit, you will be able to experience the stay in same colonial room with a renovated interior and appliances. We look forward to serve you better each time.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The new restaurant menu is greatly improved under new management. The grand opening showcased the new chefs culinary skills, along with the new decor this place is on its way up from what it used to be.Room was very nice ,good service

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It was an honor to have you at the Inn and have a great experience. Thanks for sharing the same. Your words of appreciation motivate us to do better each day and I am sure your next visit will also be full of pleasant surprises.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were driving through the area visiting friends and decided to give the Inn a try. Upon entering the place looked great. We were told there were two kinds of rooms, a bed and breakfast feel theme room and a more modern room. We checked out both and decided to go with the Western room, it was unique. The girls at the front desk were informative, letting us know of all the fun things to do around town and what to visit while we were in the area. We decided to take a walk at White Memorial conservation. We had a great couple of days in the area and will be back around soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It was an honor to be able to contribute towards your short & sweet getaway and I am sure the charm of Litchfield & the Litchfield Inn will definitely bring you back for another one. We are glad to have come up to your expectations and will keep up the same always.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Much attention to cookies, bottles of water, bathrobes. But where it counts, they failed. The room was dirty (rotten almond on the floor); the sheets were skimpy; the bed was old and broken down; 5 degree turn on the knob took the temperature from freezing to stifling; bath towels but no wash cloth or face towel. If I stretch a star for the room, the manager gets no stars. She took our complaints about the room as a personal affront and told us if we had complained during the night we would have been moved (this despite our having been told we got the last room, and the horrors of the room unfolded gradually during the night). Unsatisfactory room; unacceptable treatment.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie A, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you had when you were at the Litchfield Inn but it is quite surprising to note that there were so many issues pertaining to your room and while I am on the property most of the time, it was not put to my notice by my staff. I am till date unable to retrieve your reservation. Please give me your reservation details to look into the matter. I will like to address this issue and in no way such hospitality is acceptable.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield
8.8 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
14.8 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 4 in New Milford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
16.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Torrington
Days Inn Torrington
#1 of 3 in Torrington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litchfield Inn

Property: Litchfield Inn
Address: 432 Bantam Rd, P. O. Box 798, Litchfield, CT 06759-3201
Region: United States > Connecticut > Litchfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Litchfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litchfield Hotel Litchfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing