We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the view, not for the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, CT
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go for the view, not for the food”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have been here for lunch twice and dinner once. The view is spectacular, and I really want to say I love the restaurant, but I can't. We have had great service at lunch, but our dinner experience was chaotic at the very least. We waited over 20 minutes to get a drink, finally going to the bar ourselves. The food is just mediocre at best - very bland and boring menu. Generally I would suggest this if you are willing to wait for a table outside, and have plenty of time to sit, but dont have great expectations for a memorable dining experience. I can't vouch for the rooms, but the lobby of the hotel is quite nice and the staff very friendly. I hope they can ramp up their restaurant, because this has all the potential to be THE place to go on Connecticut's shoreline.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    129
    58
    23
    24
See reviews for
160
328
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Too bad such a beautiful location is wasted with such poor management and wait staff. My husband and I spent a beautiful afternoon getting annoyed and frustrated in this restaurant. They didn't come over to even take our drink order for nearly 45 min before we left! Come on! Don't waste your time, or money (they are not cheap, either). Hopefully they will get their act together...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank yorkiegirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Madison Beach Hotel was quietly lovely. The rooms were beautiful, the massage at the spa incredibly relaxing, and the service is very friendly. Also very importantly, it's easy - easy to reach without a lot of traffic, easy access to a walkable beach, and easy to get to a downtown with cute shops and a fantastic bookstore. While laying on the hotel's provided beach chairs and towels, we were offered complimentary water with lime and lemon, and a little later, frozen grapes. Overall, the place was just pure relaxation.

The only thing I wasn't obsessed with was the restaurant, which was fine, though a little overpriced as hotel restaurants typically are. Next time I may venture into town for dinner, if I can work up the energy.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms face the ocean, so you really can't lose
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieNYC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott,CT
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

First let me tell you that the staff is excellent. From the moment you arrive you are greeted like you are a VIP. We decided to dine on the deck the views where par none and the hotel beautiful. My only compliant was that they used plastic glasses on the deck. I had ordered a $12 dollar Lemon Basil Martini. It was excellent... but did not do it for me in a plastic martini glass that did not stay chilled. The manger explained something about glasses breaking regarding some guys who put there drinks on the deck and a wind blowing them over. The wine also had to be served in plastic glasses. They ran out of glasses and served it in a champage glass. The pasta dish we had was mediocre and the shrimp wrapped in bacon good. I would probably stick to the burgers, calamari and pizza that they offer for the deck and order a beer in a plastic glass. Eat in at the bar and go for a martini in a glass.

Room Tip: Didn't stay over but plan to try again for a long weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu5419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

While in Madison with family, we decided to try this spot. To start we waited almost 45 minutes for an outside table after the hostess told us a 5 minute wait. They kept giving tables away to people that just arrived. If that wasn't enough of a waste of time, we sat at the seat for another 40 minutes, not even served water. We were completely ignored by the waitstaff, and the manager.
Although I was lucky enough to not try the food, I heard people complaining all around me. One woman was complaining to wait staff that the 4 dollar each shrimp tatted like rubber. Somebody else told us to leave because they had to get the owner over just to get a drink. I would avoid this spot at all costs. There are only so many weekends in a summer. Don't waste your time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Johnm33798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very friendly staff, excellent service, the restaurant is very good. Would highly recommend to anyone seeking a deluxe hotel on the Connecticut coast

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, CT
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and I ate here on a Friday night in late June 2012. It was recommended to us by her parents. We arrived with no reservations around 6:00pm. The hotel has complimentary valet parking. The valet was very pleasant and even showed us the way to the restaurant. There were tables inside that were available, but we wanted to eat outside on the balcony overlooking the beach so we waited. We sat at the bar and had amazing drinks and good conversation with the bartenders. The bar was very nice and we could have easily ate there. We were seated after about 30 minutes.

The setting outside was very nice. The service was very good and the food was spot on, but maybe a bit pricey. The fillet was $44.00, we didn't get that. The calamari was excellent for about $12. The $23.00 strip steak was good, but nothing to write home about.

The Madison Beach Hotel Restaurant gets my overall approval.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
13.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
106 reviews
16.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
60 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
8.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 94 W Wharf Rd, Madison, CT 06443-2905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a curve of the Connecticut coastline,with a clear view across the widest stretch of Long Island Sound, stands the Madison Beach Hotel, Connecticut's only hotel, resturant, banquet and coference faciltily located directly on the beach. The Madison Beach Hotel is undergoing a transformation and will re-open as a world class, luxury hotel in 2011, a casually elegant boutique resort with a traditional New England beach front ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing