We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seaside Gem!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

EVERYTHING WE WANTED AND MORE! My partner and I longed for a romantic weekend escape from NYC and got more than we expected with the Madison Beach Hotel. This stunningly renovated accommodation went from sleepy inn to gorgeously appointed hotel with everything guests could want. The rooms are luscious, with regal linens and toasty fireplaces, deep bathtubs and stone showers from which we could even view the sea. Our room had a lovely sea-facing deck from which we delighted in wine and cheese one evening, and coffee the next morning. It was hard to ever leave the delight of our room. But there was the beach, the restaurant, the inviting deck below.

Just outside the lobby was a terrific deck bar where we enjoyed the breathtaking sunset over the sound with some cocktails and fresh oysters. Indoors every evening, we savored romantic fireside dinners once the sun set. The staff went out of their way to make our stay wonderful, even driving us to the next town during a hurricane in order to catch a train. They are a terrific group who truly understand the word hospitality. Everything was perfect and we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from one of the function rooms, since they will have groups or weddings also enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tessa_derfner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    128
    57
    22
    23
See reviews for
156
323
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

There is no better place on the CT shoreline to stay or dine! There are stunning water views from every room. The hotel is impeccably designed---and the quality top notch. We have stayed in several rooms--as a couple and with our son. All the rooms are spacious with great bathrooms. My favorite views are from the South Wing. All rooms have balconies. We are internationally travelled foodies--and there is no better food to be found for miles on end. This is Manhattan quality! The Sunday brunch is the best we have ever had---extensive raw bar, homemade poached salmon, homemade crab cakes, carving stations, homemade omelets and waffles, salads, charcuterie, pastas and more. The desserts are exceptional. Be sure to ask the pastry chef for her recommendations. I loved her tastings of creme brulle (including chocolate espresso). Her warm carmel-chocolate bread pudding and individually made strawberry shortcakes with hand whipped cream for brunch were delicious. Maybe the brunch at the UN is comparable, but this is a third of the price! Plus here you have the view! My husband grew up in Madison, CT. His father had been living in an assisted living facilty in Branford for the duration of his illness and subsequent death. We stayed at this hotel on and off during this sad time. We even hosted the repast for the memorial here. The staff could not have been more caring or accommodating. It became our sanctuary. I have been coming to Madison for 28 years, and always complained of the lackluster quality of food and accommodations. Well, no more!!! The only thing I would suggest to the owner would be for them to put dressers in the rooms. The closets have shelving, but I do like more drawers. We heard that the owner and his wife (who designed the hotel) live at the hotel. That says a lot right there. Go.

Room Tip: The South Wing was my favorite. I like the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannamacomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After a movie in Madison on a Saturday night , my wife and I checked the GPS for a nearby water view restaurant and the Madison Beach Hotel came up.

We took a chance and were extremely pleased with the experience. I have already recommended the place to a close friend and intend to go back.

We were immediately seated at one of the tables in the bar and our waitress took our drink orders within ten minutes.

We ordered from the pub menu. The wait for our meal was within reason and the price, quality and quantity were all very acceptable.

The bar was lively and cheerful and the waitress was attentive and friendly.

While we didn't eat in the dining room, we did check it out with an eye to eating there in the future. The place looked inviting and was filled to capacity. Only criticism was the noise level.

Overall a great Saturday evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

MAGNIFICENT, MARVELOUS, MAGICAL EXPERIENCE !!!! I LOVE this hotel and I LOVE the people even more. It is such an enjoyable, relaxing, breathtaking experience to stay at the Madison Beach Hotel and to experience the most amazing caring customer service you will ever see. From valet to front desk, concierge, room service, house keeping, restaurant, the entire team at Madison Beach Hotel treats you like family. I usually travel for business but the hotel is my home away from home. An unforgettable experience if you have the pleasure of staying there even if just for a short stay, it is a tru GEM !!! THANK YOU to whoever had the vision and fortitude to build such a beautiful hotel and then hire the best people to reflect its beauty. CONGRATULATIONS, you did it all in excellence !

Special thanks to all including Dave, Michelle, Maggie, Paige and others (amazing front Desk team), Scott , Trish (great concierge), Lucas (Restaurant-awesome service, Thanks Lucas, Brunch is outstanding), Jamie & entire valet team (awesome gentlemen) , Marcus, Chris and so many more.

Room Tip: every room faces the ocean, all rooms are stellar !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya_J1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending one night at the Madison Beach Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were promptly greeted as we pulled into the driveway and treated so nicely by the friendly, efficient staff every moment we were there. We were greeted with a smile by most staff members every time we left our extremely clean and comfortable room with a fantastic view of the Long Island sound from our balcony. We had dinner in their restaurant and the food was great and cooked exactly how it was ordered. Our breakfast was delivered very quickly by room service and absolutely delicious. We stayed on the property for several hours after checkout and enjoyed a last stroll on the beach and a late lunch on the balcony. We liked the creme brule and the deconstructed banana split desserts. Beautiful and clean property. Has a well equipped gym. Have lots of DVDs available for all age levels. Extremely comfortable bed. No noisy ice machines. Just request ice to be delivered to your room when you need it. We both feel like we were given the "Royal Treatment" during our stay at the Madison Beach Hotel. We plan on returning for our next anniversary (if not sooner).

Room Tip: I imagine that the fourth floor has the best views (which is where we stayed) all rooms have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pomfret
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

All we can say is wow. This was one of the finest hotels we have ever been to and just think, Its at the coast in Connecticut. We have traveled around the world and we have found our home away from home.

From the time you arrive in the parking area you are treated like a king and queen. The valet Scott met us with a smile as soon as we pulled in and helped us with are luggage. Paige at the front desk was cheerful and went out of her way to make us feel at home. From there Scott brought us to are room and gave us the grand tour of the entire area from the balcony. We were going to go out to dinner and he was happy to share with us his local favorites which were great.

The restaurant in the hotel was also amazing and you must try the Sunday brunch which is exceptional and also includes live music. The only thing that was disappointing to us is that we couldn't stay longer.

Do yourself a favor and try this hotel. We promises you that you will not be disappointed. If you find something wrong the staff will go out of their way to make it right.

Room Tip: It seems every room faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I have had the pleasure of spending a couple of days in the Madison Beach Hotel. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, service was excellent, and the view from the room was spectacular. Missing a toothbrush, I think it didn't take more than 30 seconds for the front desk staff to send someone bring one up to the room !

We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant, The Wharf. The service was good, the scallops (appetizer) where the best one I've had in ages. However, the chef seems to want to complicate things a little bit too much, so the food was ok, no more : a little disappointment. The strangest thing is the arrangement of the Dining room : a huge open space, with bad accoustics. We had dinner there on a saturday evening, the place was full, I'm happy for them... but it was extremely noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
13.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
709 reviews
16.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
57 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
129 reviews
8.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 94 W Wharf Rd, Madison, CT 06443-2905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a curve of the Connecticut coastline,with a clear view across the widest stretch of Long Island Sound, stands the Madison Beach Hotel, Connecticut's only hotel, resturant, banquet and coference faciltily located directly on the beach. The Madison Beach Hotel is undergoing a transformation and will re-open as a world class, luxury hotel in 2011, a casually elegant boutique resort with a traditional New England beach front ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing