We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful mini vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a wonderful mini vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our daughter, grandson, my husband (in a wheelchair) and I stayed at this hotel two nights. The hotel is on the beach, the rooms face a beautiful shore line, the rooms are large, clean, comfortable and have balconies overlooking the beach. We swam, picnicked at the nearby State Park, enjoyed the lounge chairs provided by the hotel, ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel both graciously done. Each staff member was caring and pleasant, from the valet parking guys to the housekeeping people to Trish who went out of her way to help us make arrangements as we checked out. The accessible room was excellent. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    123
    54
    21
    21
See reviews for
145
310
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I went to your brunch on Sunday July 20,2014. We sat on the deck and enjoyed the most wonderful food and service. Our server was Lauren, she was pleasant and very professional. The view was breath taking, we watched a dog next door swim in the ocean. The weather was perfect, the food was perfect, the service was perfect, we had a wonderful time, thank you for making our 35 anniversary so memorable. Joann and Kevin Horan

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Well what can I say, this trip was better then all prior ones. Abby the manager has ALL the great qualities a manager should have, hospitality, personality and a total package of kindness while able to fix any mistakes with speed and accuracy on a very complicated to most computer system.; thus this is why she IS the manager! I do not want to forget John, the general manager, so polite and a personality that fits the hotel! I had the pleasure of meeting Mat Rutty, great guy and definitely goes way beyond his job..I spotted him lifting and moving heavy tables from outside @ 12midnight...you cant ask for a better crew! Seth is such a doll he also went way beyond....along with stephanie and evelyn who went so out of they're way to please us! I also have to mention Kate and PJ and the blonde girl who i thought was Stephanie!
I must mention houskeeping, Raven was very kind and helpful. But one morning my mom ask some little spanish housekeeper to come back @ 1130, as my mom was not feeling well, this woman told my mom that she eats her lunch at that time! I did not appreciate that but its a small problem that PJ fixed right away!
I have to comment on the girls who handle to beach. I watched them drag those heavy wooden lounge chairs back and forth so many times and to boot, dug holes for people who (I know for a fact) that were not guests but ate at the buffet and these hard working girls did'nt even get a tip! They are amazingly hard workers and have a smile constantly and so curtious to everyone I had to mention it!
What can say about Tyler, he is as wonderful as Abby and and runs a tight ship in the restaurant. Anna, Devin and all the girls that hosted were beyond wonderful. Branko also handles all situation when he sees fit and is so kind always smiling! Kathy is and experianced pro who needs no comments but she is fabulous and so hard working! All the staff Jay Thomas Kurtis and everyone does a great job even when it gets crazy in there!
The boys who park the cars are all great and "boston" their boss(forgot his name) is also mentionable as doing a great job! Trish the concierge is also so kind and hospitable and does a great job at fixing a problem even though she wasn't aware if it and did a great job in defusing a problem when we checked out!
All and all we all had a great time and Roni our dog also had a blast, it is like home to myself , my mom and my brother! We are looking forward to returning very soon!
Dana

Room Tip: all face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana318928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. It is very clean and has amazing views. We had a king size bed with a nice sized balcony overlooking the beach. The bathroom is also great, with a large shower and also a separate tub. There were bifold doors above the tub, so we could open them and still see the view outside. The BIG downside of this place is the service. Actually, the lack of service. They have coffee makers in the room, but if you want sugar or cream, you are apparently out of luck. Even after calling and asking for some to have for the next day and being assured they would arrive,along with the face cloths hat we never received, they did not arrive. After speaking with the manager all of this was rectified. But, with the money they charge, the service should be better. The restaurant also had poor service(except for the bar area). We had our utensils removed from the table before we even had eaten. So then we get our food, and have to wait for utensils! There is more to say, but again, it's just a service issue. The place and the beach are beautiful!

Room Tip: I would be surprised if there is a bad room. The views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were guests for the first time this year after many disappointing July 4th holiday weekends at Water's Edge. We will be back to the Madison Beach Hotel every year now! The hotel is small, intimate, with excellent food. However, it's the staff that really shines here. The owners have trained the staff to constantly ask if there is anything else they can do for the guests. I'm sure every guest there felt like the most important person in the world!

It was wonderful to stay in a comfortable room with a nice view. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently were there for a wedding and although the wedding was beautiful the appetizers and meal were NOT good. Yes I know it is wedding food, but if you are paying $175 a plate you expect it to be edible. The appetizers were okay at best. The brie filo pockets were okay but everything else tasted like frozen boxed appetizers. One waiter came around with what he said were jalapeno popper balls and I went to put one in my mouth and my brother screams "it's a crab cake" don't eat it! I am VERY allergic to crab and thankfully he had eaten one first because I would of ended up in the ER. His response was, "oh is it?"

They brought out the salads in at the dinner and we proceeded to start eating them when my family member next to me realized at the bottom of the plate was pecans which he is allergic too. The waitress never asked anyone at our table if they had any allergies or told us that the salads contained nuts. Thankfully he did not accidentally eat one and he is not as allergic as some people to nuts.

So after all this I was banking on the filet mignon dinner being good since they had upgraded the beef dinner... I was wrong. It was not filet mignon no matter what they say. It literally tasted like beef pot roast with a weird red wine. It was incredibly dry and had the consistency of pot roast. The few small carrots and patty pan squash it came with were raw and hard. They wouldn't even be considered al dente steamed, they were raw.

Another person at my table got the chicken it was pink inside from being undercooked. Another family member next to me who was a vegetarian (the same person that is allergic to nuts) asked what he would be served and they said it would be a vegetable ravioli. She later came out and apologized saying that it was a grilled portobello mushroom. It was a barely cooked portobello mushroom with the raw vegetables.

Bad food and the servers really should be aware of allergies. Ok granted maybe we should of asked about the nuts but I asked what was being served and they said Jalapeno Popper and it was a crab cake!!! BEWARE

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Christina C -
Thank you for taking time to share your concerns about your experience with us. I am very alarmed about the situation you described. We take great care when planning wedding menus to review any and all allergies. Our contact with the wedding party provides us with attendees' menu choices and advises us of allergies. We review these allergies at our pre-event meeting and note where the guests with allergies will be sitting. We also advise our staff of any food items that contain ingredients that are allergens. Of course, there may be attendees with allergies that the wedding party was not aware of. For this reason, and due to your comments, we are now taking the additional precaution of inquiring at each table about allergies. Your comment about the jalapeno poppers is especially concerning as we do not have, nor have we ever had, such an item on our menu. Perhaps you would be so kind as to contact me directly to discuss your experience in more detail.
Best Regards,
John Mathers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I needed to travel to coastal Connecticut from Virginia and we were lucky enough to find this perfect spot and room availability for 2 nights just before the 4th of July holiday. Michelle at the front desk was terrific, Valet /Bellman assistance from Enzo was superb, he took very good care of my husband's newly purchased car as did Dane who made some great suggestions for our trip to Mystic (see my review for dinner there).Anne on the beach was very gracious to us as well and we enjoyed all of these young people as it was clear they were well trained and enjoyed their jobs.
Our room had a great view and a very long porch which wrapped around. Plenty of closet space and a lovely shower and bathroom area. The bed was very comfortable, albeit a bit soft for our taste, but linens and pillows were of a fine grade. There were 2 TV's in our suite and a mini refrigerator which we did use. I missed 2 things in the room that I would have liked; a full length mirror and our room did not have a listing of the TV channels...not that we watched much but it took a while to find FOX News while flipping through a lot of marketing channels :)
We met some lovely people and had a quiet and restful few days at this resort. I would tell anyone who wants a friendly atmosphere run by genuinely nice people who care about their staff and who ensure that their staff care for their customers to stay at the Madison Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakemates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
13.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
16.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
2.8 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
16.7 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
8.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 94 West Wharf Road, Madison, CT 06443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a curve of the Connecticut coastline,with a clear view across the widest stretch of Long Island Sound, stands the Madison Beach Hotel, Connecticut's only hotel, resturant, banquet and coference faciltily located directly on the beach. The Madison Beach Hotel is undergoing a transformation and will re-open as a world class, luxury hotel in 2011, a casually elegant boutique resort with a traditional New England beach front ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing