We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scranton Seahorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

such a lovely place to stay. Thanks to Michael who welcomed us, put us in a lovely room and made us a delicious breakfast. Its a great place to stay right in down town Madison. I would recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room for you, they are so helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Seahorse and thanks for writing about it. Please be sure to get away more often and pay us a visit this winter! Next time I'll get you into the room with a fireplace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I happened upon this gem while searching for accommodations near New Haven. What a sweet surprise. The room was clean and comfortable..the bathroom spacious with a jacuzzi and rain shower. Great linens and a comfortable bed..ahhh. Breakfast was perfect and delicious. A small beach is within walking distance. We didn't have a chance to check out the quaint town and what looks like great food in the area. The host was welcoming and unpretentious..I felt at ease and at home.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonmama55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We're delighted that you were delighted. It was great meeting you and chatting over breakfast. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I traveled 10 hours to attend a memorial service for my aunt. We were also visiting other relatives who are getting on in years. Overall, it would of been a very stressful time if it weren't for Michael and the Scranton Seahorse Inn.

Michael met us with the welcome arms of a family member. He gave us our space while he politely attended to every detail that made us feel at at home. From the five star breakfast, good conversation and suggestions for local dining to those incredible sheets! He even looked after our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel while we attended the memorial service!

Michael and the Scranton Seahorse Inn will always be a go to place for us.

John, Rosemary and Dannie

Room Tip: The Madison Getaway even had a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We were thrilled to have had you all (especially Dannie) stay with us for a few days. We know that travelers aren't always here for pleasure and we were glad to read that your stay here was comfortable and peaceful given the special circumstances. We hope to see you here again soon and this time we'll set aside some time to visit the pipe organ at the church! Thank you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A most charming, lovely and relaxing 2-nights stay at the Scranton Seahorse Inn. We would go back in a NY minute. Michael is a fantastic host and we were welcomed like family. Even though the inn is located on the Post Road, it is very quiet. A gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in a queen room overlooking the driveway. Very quiet but a bit cramped with the kind of lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnecticutAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for the kind words. We get you settled in a room with more closet space next time so you can shop shop shop! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was traveling with my 9 year old daughter. We were going shopping and visiting a friend in the area. We only live about 1 1/2 hours away but decided to make it a mother daughter overnight.

The inn is what a bed and breakfast should be. Extremely clean and attractive with many common areas to relax in, both indoors and outside. There was a nice selection of books magazines etc to look at. At any time, coffee and tea and treats were available in 2 locations (upstairs and downstairs) as well as sodas and waters in the upstairs refrigerator. We had a nice size room. I think it was called seaside garden. Very nice. Very comfortable. Very clean. The inn was quiet even though it was on a main road. Our room had it's own thermostat which was good. A nice touch was in the upstairs coffee room there was a chalkboard with the names of everyone who was staying at the inn and where they were from. My daughter loved seeing our name up there.

The host Michael was very nice and helpful. I even forgot to give back my keys and felt so bad but he said no problem, just mail them tomorrow. Michael also made a very very nice breakfast. Yummy yogurt and granola followed by yummy eggs with ham, potatoes and homemade biscuits. There was also juices and fruit and extra biscuits.

The location of the inn is good. There are some restaurants to walk to. There isn't too much to do in this town but its clean and pretty. It's a small downtown with a few cute shops. There is a private beach, also walkable distance and you can get a pass for your car from the inn and go...Outlet shopping is nearby and many historical sights are within a very short drive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We loved having you and your daughter here for your mother daughter escape. Thank you for taking the time to write about the little details that we put a lot of time into. It was nice to read that you noticed some of them. Enjoy your summer and we'll see you on your next retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I have the occasion to travel to Madison frequently and we will be staying with Michael every time. First, not only are dogs allowed, they are welcome. That is a huge plus for us because sometimes we take our dog. However, even when the dog doesn't accompany us Scranton Seahorse is the place to stay. Simply put the Inn is really comfortable and cozy whether it is the room you stay in or sitting in the den. The breakfast is excellent - fresh and tasty - and there are nice touches like tea or coffee any time. Michael is great to talk with and a wealth of knowledge about not only Madison but the surrounding area. We feel like we have been on a relaxing pampered vacation after staying at Scranton Seahorse!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you! We look forward to your visits to Madison with the dog. I love that you come armed with questions about where to shop, eat and play. I consider it a personal challenge and am glad I haven't steered you too wrong so far. I'm looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Scranton Seahorse Inn on a trip to move our daughter out of a nearby university. This is not usually a relaxing experience. The ambiance of the Inn instantly put us at ease. We stayed in the "Madison Getaway" which is a lovely, private room on the first floor. It has a little sitting area that is perfect for reading, private access to the side porch and a FANTASTIC JACUZZI ! Breakfast was delicious and Michael is a gracious host; he is a terrific pastry chef. We were able to walk to the beach and also to a nice private bookstore and the main green of the town of Madison. We would love to go back to this beautiful inn.

Room Tip: The Madison Getaway is roomy and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newhavenbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

So glad that you found such comfort and joy in the jacuzzi in the Madison Getaway. It's perfect we to start or end a day. Or both! We're so close to New Haven so hopefully we'll see you when your back getting your daughter settled for another year. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
1 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
12.6 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
764 reviews
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#2 of 5 in Madison
83 reviews
8.1 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
706 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scranton Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scranton Seahorse Inn

Address: 818 Boston Post Rd, Madison, CT 06443-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: £118 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scranton Seahorse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Greek Revival built in 1833 is perfectly located in the center of Madison. Park your car and walk to the beaches, restaurants, movie theater and boutiques. Our inn is available for small parties, weddings, business meetings and luncheons. Call the inn to discuss plans for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scranton Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Seahorse Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing