We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scranton Seahorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2010

The massage from Bob McCandlish was the icing on the cake! Just love staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsoxct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

I travelled to the coast of CT to visit a friend from Oregon -- she was visiting her in-law's home where there were five children and three dogs in addition to six adults! So at the end of the day was I glad I had booked my quiet 2nd floor corner room at the Scranton Seahorse Inn. My room's decor was restful -- and the innkeeper Michael had been very thoughtful and pulled the windown shades to keep the air conditioned room cooler in the 95 degree heat! The bed was very comfortable and the linens were cotton but felt like silk. In the morning before my shower, I helped myself to the coffee bar just down the hall from my room -- delicious Newman's Own coffee with half and half -- my morning was started! For breakfast my four table mates and I were treated to Michael's fresh berry compote, a yummy frittata, and whole wheat toast with homemade strawberry jam. For 'dessert' I helped myself to the moist apple cake and a blueberry muffin. Before heading out to meet with my friend again, I took a peek at the lovely gardens behind the inn! The town of Madison is picture perfect -- so I hope to return to Madison and the Inn for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LapinLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

From the minute we arrived Michael went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel right at home during our stay. We loved his personalized attention to detail. From the immaculately clean rooms to the warm and welcoming environment. The beautiful rooms and grounds that make up the inn gives its guest space to relax and unwind as well as provide any amount of privacy and respect you may need. The Seahorse In was an excellent choice. It was very accommodating with flexible options. (my partner especially enjoyed the fresh foods and cheese plate which made an appearance in our room around 10:00 p.m.) Wonderful and flavorful, it was exactly the the refreshment we needed after a long of sightseeing in New Haven. Excellent place for a couples getaway. His overall approach to running the B&B and connecting with the guests made all the difference and we look forward to being back soon. Thank you so much again for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Madison is a charming village with lots of activities to offer. The Scranton Seahorse Inn is a lovely historic house that offers a peaceful getaway from city life. It is tasteful and peaceful. And Mike's breakfast's are superb! This is definitely a place where I will return with my husband for a vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntann99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My partner and I did a one-day quick getaway to this charming Bed and Breakfast to get away from the hustle and bustle of New York City, and we had an absolutely delightful time. The house is charming, and the innkeeper, Michael, was extremely gracious and accomodating. Due to a room cancellation, Michael actually upgraded us to a bigger room free of charge!!! The breakfast was delicous and the grounds of the property are beautiful. This place gets 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillnyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed here for an extended time as we were in the middle of a move and were completely satisfied with our entire stay. It is right in the middle of town and personal touches are apparent throughout.

Michael and his family (and dogs) were the ultimate hosts and his breakfasts were fantastic. They were absolutely accommodating and made us feel like part of the community. We also really enjoyed meeting other people that were staying in the inn during breakfast.

We now book all of our visitors here and they all have nothing but great things to say about the Seahorse. What a breath of fresh air!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandLBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed in the Town View room for our anniversary and were amazed by this inn. The room was clean with a great Jacuzzi, comfortable bed, TV w/DVD, and a small dining area. Super romanitc room for a anniversary! Great gardens to share a bottle of wine in or read a book. So relaxing. Michael's breakfasts were to die for definately worth getting up early for! Olive was a aweetheart great friendly service all around. Great conversation with some other guests. I cant say enough. Madison is our favorite getaway town and now this is our favorite INN. Can't wait to return! I know we said 6 months from now but I am not sure we can wait that long. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyMaesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
1.0 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
12.6 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
748 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
62 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#2 of 5 in Madison
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scranton Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scranton Seahorse Inn

Address: 818 Boston Post Rd, Madison, CT 06443-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: £120 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scranton Seahorse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Greek Revival built in 1833 is perfectly located in the center of Madison. Park your car and walk to the beaches, restaurants, movie theater and boutiques. Our inn is available for small parties, weddings, business meetings and luncheons. Call the inn to discuss plans for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scranton Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Seahorse Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing