We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bookstore”

RJ Julia Booksellers
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bookstore”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Without a doubt, one of the best bookstores I have been to in a long time. The distinguishing feature is the HANDWRITTEN and PERSONALIZED reviews under many of the titles, so that you can see what the staff think. I really felt like I was making an informed choice about what I was buying. And SO MANY of the books had been read - not just the expected ones that you might expect to see reviewed. Wonderful. I wish I could have spent the whole day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Book Lover's Heaven”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

At a time when book stores are on line, or feel like a factory, here is a place that fills your soul. It is everything a book store should be. The books are lovingly arranged, the atmosphere is relaxed and the displays are lovely. The staff actually reads books and are very helpful with suggestions if you want them. Otherwise they leave you free to explore and enjoy,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francine2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
center
Level Contributor
248 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I am in love”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

In my last trip to the USA I was sure there were only two bookshops left; Hudson and Barnes/noble. Until we visited Madison and this was our first stop. The salesperson tried to help but with known writers and then I went off the beaten track to the shelves and found two writers I did not know about ( no browsing on Amazon and lack of stock at B&N) and have absolutely enjoyed reading. My only regret: I wish the café in back wasn't so enticing.

I wish that I could visit this shop more often. Its a delight. Make sure you go. They also have some items like scarves etc which were nicer than any other shop in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank shust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Madison's Place To Go”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Shop for your book, a unique gift & have lunch at the Bistro in back or the outside deck. Friendly staff and very knowledgable

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank homer279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic bookstore”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I love private bookstores and many of the ones near us have closed. This place was perfect, interesting, engaging displays, courteous and friendly staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank newhavenbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RJ Julia Booksellers also viewed

 

Been to RJ Julia Booksellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing