We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melody of Flavors”

Jia Mei Asian Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 49 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Melody of Flavors”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Tasty, fresh, and very clean. I ordered the shrimp on a skewer with chilli sauce and was great. Shrimp lightly fried and nothing oily at all. Portion size was good enough for me and reasonably priced for a lunch special. Not crowded and owners very hospitable. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kipnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We looked on this site for a restaurant in Madison and this one came up good so we tried it. I had a fish dish which tasted awful and had a texture like rubber. Then I tried the General Tso's tofu which was equally as bad. My wife had some shrimp in a stick dish which was deep fried, overcooked and tasted bland. Wish I knew what others see in this place but I'll never return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"My new favorite restaurant"”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

While enjoying lunch at Jia Mei today and loving my current favorite dish ~ vegetarian fried rice with string beans in garlic and ginger sauce ~ among other gluten free choices, I overhead a party of four on their way out, say: My new favorite restaurant!" -- I agree! They have the very best vegetarian fried rice I have ever had.

Kevin and his wife, Fiona, serve only excellent ingredients from the quality of the rice, noodles, vegetables, meats and fish. Their food is fresh, crisp, pure,and simple. I order more than I can eat, and have balance for dinner. Why cook!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FireFlyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband I and went to Jia Mei with my aunt who is a retired, successful restaurant owner. She recommended the place and we were not disappointed. We ordered the Avocado Shrimp while our take-out order was being prepared. Crisp, succulent shrimp covered in the most delicate of avocado creamy sauces. Absolutely fabulous! We have never had such a delicious shrimp dish. We also order a General Tsao which had great flavor with a bit of a kick. All the food was superb. The owner was kind, gracious and friendly. The service was spot-on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fresh Asian Food”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I am glad the shoreline has finally gotten a consistently good Asian restaurant. I hesitated to review it because it is "my" hidden gem! The food is beautifully prepared with fresh veggies galore. Tonight we tried the basil beef and garlic chicken; both were outstanding. Their BBQ pork appetizer is delicious and the hot and sour soup is loaded with chicken, tofu, bamboo shoots and mushrooms. I have enjoyed all my meals there as well as take-out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KRTRIPSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jia Mei Asian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jia Mei Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing