We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and consistent”

Friends & Company Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 49 Restaurants in Madison
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Madison, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and consistent”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We've now been to dinner here on 3 occasions since January. All experiences were excellent -- service, food, atmosphere. Good value for your dollar as well. No wonder it's been in business a long time. And, BTW, the chefs will not over cook fish if the server is given a request not to over cook!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

After various experiences over the years we decided to give it another try, We ordered the
special, pot roast,which came with a soup. We chose New England Clam Chowder, specifically asking if it had clams and were assured it did. While the flavor was good, there were potatoes
but it barely had three tiny pieces of a clam. Then aplate arrived with two huge pieces of meat and a few tiny slices of a carrot. Upon starting to chew we realized there was no flavor whatsoever to the meat and we suspected it was a leftover recooked as well. The waiter seemed attentive, but at the end of the meal, when he was given cash he said "Do you want change?" That was a turn-off. The was over-priced for the quality, and presented on the plate appetizingly. Just sitting there in a lump. We declined coffee or dessert. A real turn off. We do not recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connecticutosprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If the locals like it, it must be GOOD!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Friends & company is just that.....a place for regulars who want to kibitz, enjoy a belt or two and devour the good vittles from Brian and Orlando's kitchen. Friendly, consistently good, interesting menu that seems to change seasonally and always a longer stay than I expect because the bar chatter is always lively and fun. A comfortable at-home stop for the locals. Homemade bread and cookies. Hot dog stand for lunch. Great fun. Good food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nolilite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“After years of staying away”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

decided to give Friends and Company another try and was glad I did. Yes, the restaurant is small but as others have written, cozy. It also not only gives the feeling of being clean, is clean! Good service by an attentive waitress who gave my friend and me much time to enjoy chatting. Like the idea of being able to order a half sandwich from many choices - not the usual tuna or ham. As always, their breads are a delicicios bonus.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearl33814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent on all counts”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Very good wait staff, good and not overwhelming menu. The bread is to die for and is for sale. Smallish dining area, but capacious enough. I've never had a bad meal here. Desserts are quite good--brownie sundae is especially good. Toppings dish for salads is a nice idea.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank monocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friends & Company Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Friends & Company Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing