We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Consistent”

Friends & Company Inc.
Ranked #13 of 49 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We discovered Friends about a year ago and have been back several times. The atmosphere is comfortable with booths for 2 - 4 people that are quite private. Great, dark bread is served upon seating. The specials are wonderful, and the chefs know how to cook fish (not over done). It's our go to restaurant in Madison

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
375 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good food; needs attention to details”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Nothing can start a meal off worse than being seated by a hostess, then waiting several minutes for a wait person to show up with a menu, water, to say "Hi, I'll be right with you", or take a drink order. Hopefully this is not the norm; but these days when everyone with a smartphone is reviewing your restaurant - you should be more prudent, no? The bread they bring to the table is room temperature and nothing too extravagant. The butter dish they provide is enough for one serving and four people are at the table - I guess we have to practice sharing? The wine glasses are the same whether you order red or white - a short goblet style that is surely not proper for a malbec. You would usually get that wine glass when you eat at the local pizza shop and the owner just bought glasses in bulk. The entrees were a positive sign. They were all prepared well and our company was pleased with dinner. I had the shrimp scampi bianco and thought it was very good. We even stayed the course for dessert and shared the mud pie with happy chocolate contentedness. Overall, Friends & Company Inc. has some good meals, but needs to pay more attention to some of the other details to get my vote.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OSProfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's name -- you will feel welcomed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Friends & Co. consistently has good food and great service. While it's not coffee-shop casual, it's not a high-end, too-fancy-for-bringing-the-kids place either. Another plus is the reasonable spacing between tables and the general noise level, allowing you to actually hear what your guests across the table have to say. This place has regulars for a reason!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rufus4423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Twenty years later and still delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

I last ate at Friends & Co as a child more than 25 years ago. Dining there again this past weekend, I was convinced the place couldn't possibly meet my nostalgia-influenced expectations. But it did. The herb bread was just as delicious, and everything we ordered had a home-cooked touch. And the service made me feel like a regular despite my lengthy absence. I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staceyinnyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
291 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Love the herb bread and salads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Friends and Co. has long been a favorite of mine. I love their home made breads and healthy salads. I miss the seed tray which they no longer offer. However, their menu always has healthy offerings and great specials.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MM8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friends & Company Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Friends & Company Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing