We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Planet
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Long Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Hill View(Port Blair)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Haywizz(Port Blair)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TSG Emerald View(Port Blair)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Hotel Sentinel(Port Blair)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aparupa(Port Blair)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
SeaShell, Port Blair(Port Blair)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
19
19
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
19
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmerk baylocal beachper nightbackpackersislandferryjettyhillary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5nights at Blue Planet. Our room was in Jungle Camp...only 10min walk away. It was very pleasant do we didnt mind it at all. Maybe carry a stick at night incase there is any barking dog.

The main site is atospheric and cosy. The food was good too...the friendly staff and cook made it all the more enjoyable. Remember its an island so they depend on sea transport for most of their ingredients..this means that there is not much variety or that things arent always available.

The only drawback was that they dont sell beer in all the island, not even at Blue Planet. We totally respect this as it causes unneserary garbage and may cause disruption between some guests... Even so, alcohol was quite visually present in the kitchen for some of the staff and that made it a little annoying. Maybe they should change their strategy...

Other than that, the food and the staff were great and helpful. The beach by the resort is deserted and WONDERFULL!!!

The 2h trek through the Jungle to Lalaji Bay is a HIGHLIGHT and taking a boat to Merk Bay is also a must.

We would go back again. It was the most special part of our Andaman trip!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank namaste_moni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We couldn't stay here as long as we wanted to; however, we were there for a couple of days. The rooms are very reasonable and clean. The owners, Iftekar and Hillary (I didn't meet her at the time) are very friendly and helpful. Iftekar will in all probability also be your divemaster if you wish to go scuba diving. The place is beautiful, situated around a big tree; and all the bottles that wash up ashore are apparently put into their boundary wall around the tree. Makes it look really beautiful.

A word of caution: There is no transport from the jetty to the resort, so be warned. Iftekar will probably meet you at the jetty and carry your luggage onward if you inform him beforehand, but that's about it.

Also, keep a day in hand if you plan to get back via Port Blair immediately after Long Island (or any other island other than Havelock perhaps.) The reason being the government ships might cancel out any day due to any of a number of reasons (happened to me) and it is bloody difficult getting off the island otherwise - i took a beautiful boat ride for 2 hours in the rain across the sea to catch a bus to Port Blair, but you might not always be so lucky)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diptish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a great time at Long Island. Thank you Hilary for making it a memorable trip. Friendliest people in the world are in this Island. The huts are decent do not expect too much luxury. Its a solitude. Its useless if you stay one night only. Try to stay atleast 3-7days. Experience the lifestyle and reflect upon your life. The beach behind blue planet is too good.So soak in it for hours in morning. Lalaji Bay is 2hours trek throught the jungle. One should go for it. Its a trek through Jungle, Ocean Must experience [you can take a boat trip instead]. We did not like Guitar Island[took a boat trip] we felt it was not worth it. Other than that explore the village market and the village people. Have food once at a village shop. Its away from all the touristy places. Staffs are really helpful. If you go for one night stay you cant see the beauty. I would definitely go there every year. Food at hotel is also good.

Room Tip: If you dont mind sharing bathrooms take those 300rs ones. Else go for Rs1000 Little andaman and Strait are good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrashTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Set on a beautiful little island with really not much to do except laze away. The chill out communial area that is surrounding the big tree is a really great place to meet other travellers. The budget 350rupee rooms were clean and cool; bathrooms were also in good condition; and, the food was great. It's the only place to stay on the island.

Room Tip: The budget rooms with shared bathrooms are the way to go if you're not fussy on having a private bathroom, you'll save a whole lot of money!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleycrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The best holiday accommodation, I think, is one which reflects the environment it resides in. And in this respect, Blue Planet succeeds.

I spent just over two weeks on Long Island in November 2011, stationed in a comfortable en-suite room, complete with clean double bed, mosquito net, and electric fan, which are all welcome luxuries in the humid air.

To get from Port Blair to Long Island is no small effort in terms of travelling exertion, but that’s the pay-off to get to somewhere as remote as this. Having said that, it’s no small matter that after the journey I was ecstatic to find I could also get hot water from the shower!

The living arrangements are set out so you’re likely to be conjoined to either one or two other huts, with only really a sheet of bamboo between them, so were you unlucky enough to have disruptive neighbours then the noise would be quite clear, but then that was never one of bamboo’s highlighting properties, and I’d conjecture it’d be quite unlikely to have those problems in a place like this.

That is, because clearly, the accommodation cultivates a very social environment, bringing together people from all corners of the world for fleeting moments. I would describe it as something between a hotel and a tourist enclave, with a very welcoming central courtyard where people can relax, eat and mingle, should they choose to.

And also, going back to the privacy issue (if it is one) the owners at the time said they were constructing some bungalows on another part of the island, so that might be worth investigating.

It is however difficult to do a review of the accommodation without doing an overview of the island, because you’re choice in where you can stay is limited, though fortunately in this case this isn’t a problem. There aren’t any shops as such, but there are 8 or 9 manned (or womanned) stalls with various essentials and local curiosities. There is a local beach about five minutes walk away, but you’ll certainly want to take the dinghy/small boat to either Llanji Bay or Merk Bay, as whilst sand flies can occasionally be a problem in the former, as long as you’re prepared then you’ll have a beautiful beach almost to yourself. On that point though, it might be an idea to club together with fellow travellers to keep the cost down, not that the price was that prohibitive at the time.

It’s probably important to note then that Long Island, where I stayed and where also Blue Planet is located, is by no means a ‘tourist hotspot’, but for some (including me), this is its attraction. Me, with my book, in a hammock, with no distractions whatsoever, paradise!

If anyone ever asks me the best place to ‘get away from it all’ (as in my head I’m the best at giving hypothetical recommendations), then without reservation this is where I would suggest.
The food was wholesome, in that sometimes you would get a whole fish... though the exact menu and quantities were dependant on what fish they had caught that day, or what was in season (one day I was offered papaya juice because one of the trees was flowering!! (I happily acceded)).

For me though, a traveller with friends, this setup was ideal, and I would be extremely hesitant to compare this to a hotel in a more Western milieu, as the entire point of having somewhere like this in a place like this is that it has a limited footprint on the local environment. And as alluded to in the introduction, with its friendliness and inconspicuousness it manages to sit neatly as part of the island, rather than take-away from its surroundings, which unfortunately the now tourist laden Havelock Island arguably suffers from.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank OnTraceLaFabien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews