We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice @ the Great Cedar Hotel~ Resort Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I just get back from a mid-week getaway bus trip sponsored by Hazel Brandon (Nov 9-11) where I stayed at the above hotel. This was my first time @ the Great Cedar Hotel and I must say, I was impressed.The place itself, is HUGE! and WELL KEPT!

The Rooms extremely clean. My room was with a window-seat view on the 6th floor out looking the backside of the hotels fall foliage.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and professional. One of the employees went out of his way to show me were dunkin donuts was:)

The hotel has an array of casinos and people were winning! I won a nice amout on the penny slots! Friday there was a Veterans Day Parade, which was fun!

The Sidewalk Cafe offers enormous sandwiches (I had the roast beef there and Turkey to go! both were off the chain!) The Festival Buffet was good. Shuttle service is also available.

I would recommend the Great Cedar hotel-Casino to anyone who want take a ride to Connecticut and enjoy a wonderful getaway! ~ I sure did!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5going-places3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

Wanted to get away from home for a few days, so took a bus trip to Foxwood Resort. Stayed at the Grand Cedar hotel for 3 nites. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Went to all 6 casinos; lots of different slot machines to choose from. However return of our money was very very low. Not much to do in the area once you get tired of playing casinos.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

You will need your walking shoes....not your heels. This place is huge. We stayed in the Grand Cedar Towers. Small, clean room. Right off of the main shopping "streets:. Everything is expensive....from a cup of coffee ($3) to dinner ( salmon $22)....breakfast was about $14 for one person. Much to our surprise, at the Comix comedy club was Mike Eagan. We had seen him before in DC and he was fantastic. He was again fantastic. Kudos to the management there for having him. Mr. Eagan was gracious to us and a great time was had by all.
Gambling there is not much different than AC....except drinks are easier to get in AC than here. The waitresses disappear when given a drink order.
Other than bring money and walking shoes, this is a pretty place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PADancergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods this week and had a great time. The room was very nice and a good value.

We visited the Diana exhibit that is on display through January and found it to be a very moving tribute to her life. It is absolutely worth the $25 entrance fee. You have the option to buy an audio handset, but there is enough written descriptions on the various displays - you may not need it. You can always go back and get the audio if you decide later that you'd prefer it.

Even though we stayed at the Grand Cedar, you can use the pool over at the Grand Pequot which is much nicer than the pool at the Cedar.

All in all, a very nice getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelismygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed at the Great Cedar Hotel for one night. We planned a girl's getaway. This hotel is in a great location in Foxwoods. It was great for anyone in our group that needed to run back up to the room even by themselves. Room was clean, just needed a place to sleep. Only gripe is that we were woken up by a toddler and his parent who were very loud at 6 am. He was playing with the adjoining door as well. We went away to hopefully find some peace in the morning and sleep in and that surely didn't happen. We got woken up by someone elses child!!! When we mentioned this to the woman at the front desk, she really didn't care. For the amount of money you spend for one night, I want to be able to sleep in!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2weeones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Our room was beautiful but the view was even better! Very comfortable beds Clean bathroom. Costly but be convenient for spending time in the casino

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindakayclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband and I spent Labor day weekend at Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods Resort in Connecticut. Our room cost over $500 per night, a little high end for us, but we figured we would splurge and have a great time. Since we requested the non smoking floor, we were surprised when our room stunk like cigarette smoke. When we mentioned it to the hotel, the staff informed us that the hotel was sold out and we couldn't switch into a better smelling room. Then, as we unpacked we heard every detail of the conversation going on in our neighbors's room, I honestly thought someone came into our room, but it turns out it's just that the walls are paper thin. The view outside of our room was the lovely sight of the roof of the casino and the cooling and heating elements. Small amenities were missing that you would expect in a pricey room; magnified mirror, bathrobe, cotton swabs, full mini bar etc., just not offered. Although there is a very fancy bowling alley if you’re in the mood for a few strings!!

We did enjoy the spa treatments and the therapists were excellent, although the spa could use some sprucing up, frayed robes and towels, no products offered for after clean up. We found it incredulous that the “relaxation room” was directly across from the indoor pool that must have doubled for day care as it was loaded with rambunctious children having the time of their lives!! Relaxing it was not, expensive it was...

The restaurants were extraordinarily average, including having to send back a baked potato in Cedar's Steakhouse as evidently they forgot to cook it. After we checked out, we checked our luggage with the bellman and gambled a little bit more. We had a terrific time at the blackjack table and roulette wheel, although by the time we left on Sunday afternoon the lowest blackjack bet was $25, a little too rich for our blood.

All in All we had a good time but very overpriced – not heading back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingfingers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.4 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,860 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods

Address: 350 Trolley Line Blvd, Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06338-3830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range: £108 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods 3*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like to be right in the middle of all the action, the AAA Three Diamond Great Cedar Hotel was made just for you. Spacious rooms and suites provide you with the best in comfort and amenities. That is, if you ever spend any time in them. Located in the heart of the casino, Great Cedar is close to all kinds of dining, entertainment, shopping and gaming options. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing