We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Ask!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
214 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just Ask!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent an overnight at the Great Cedar Hotel. This was a comped visit. I asked if there were any complimentary upgrades and we were upgraded to a full suite on the top floor. There was a full living room with a window seat, full sofa, love seat and wet bar. Two bathrooms; one of which had a jacuzzi tub and separate water closet. The bedroom had a king size bed, window seat and a very large closet. The room was somewhat dated but the space more than made up for the 80's decor. My husband loved the room!

Room Tip: As the title says, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    93
    57
    18
    18
See reviews for
45
103
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I get a room here once a month just to get away and relax. The room is very wonderful and the price is very affordable. The view from one of the top floors are very pleasant. The service is great, the room service is great and the pool and spa tops off a wonderful stay at this hotel. We would recommend ANYONE to stay here if you have the chance to. Its a fantastic place and you would enjoy yourself tremendously. Great great place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mejias1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

First off, the location of the actual hotel was wonderful. Right in the heart of everything. HOWEVER, the location of our room was less than favorable. Which is a very polite way of saying it sucked.
If I hadn't had been absolutely starving when we arrived, I would have asked for a different room. Our view was of the bus terminal and I was a little jealous of all the guest here saying they had beautiful views if the mountains and trees. Also, we had a HUGE walk from the elevator to our room. And walking back after wearing 4 inch heels at 2 am was less than ideal. We looked for another elevator or another way down but couldn't find one. But I got over it.

The room in general was beautiful!!!!! I was quite impressed. The bed was great, and everything was clean. However, that mirror in the bedroom area has GOT TO GO! It was very warped!! Not at all what a girl wants to look into before getting ready for a night out! I actually climbed up on the bathtub to get a better view in the bathroom mirror! Hah!

I didn't use their pool, I looked at it, but decided to go over to the spa at their sister hotel which was fantastic and well worth the walk.

Overall nice stay. We had fun and would stay again, with a few requests!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a suite in the Great Cedar. It was great as always. We have stayed at the MGM and the Grand Pequot before and we always like the Great Cedar the best. The front desk is always nice. Housekeeping are always extra friendly and so is all the other staff. I definitely recommend anyone looking to stay in the casino to stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank country860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOSTON, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I prefer this hotel over the Pequot, because it is much closer and convenient to the main casinos. You don't have to use an escalator to get to your room, there's an elevator right next to the great cedar casino. The elevator service was prompt. The room is a good size and I like the windows, which you can also open if you want some fresh air. The beds and pillows were comfy and I thought that the bathroom size was average, I wouldn't say that it was small. There is also another sink and mirror outside of the bathroom. We couldn't hear any noise from any other rooms. Cons - The TV stations set up was confusing at first. You had to make sure the remote was pointed the right way at the TV to get it to change channels. There is no listing of TV channels in the hotel guide. The room temperature seemed to be either too cold or too hot. Our room was not available at our 10 am check in, but was ready around 10:30, they will call you. (not a con) I had to hunt for the bathroom towels, they are in a slot below the sink. You only get one small container of shampoo, conditioner, hand lotion and 2 small soaps, double the amount of everything would have been a little better. There is a fridge hidden with the drawers and a safe.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the elevators, our room was quite away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIANCA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Spent this past Friday evening (11/01/2013) here at the Great Cedar and enjoyed the stay in it's entirety. From checkin to checkout everything was as it should be - top shelf - Service was a real class act. Cleanliness was impeccable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a great stay! The room was very comfortable with a spectacular view of the Fall foliage. We also appreciated that we could open the windows and sleep well with the fresh air. Thank you for the great service!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.3 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods

Property: Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Address: 350 Trolley Line Blvd, Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06338-3830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like to be right in the middle of all the action, the AAA Three Diamond Great Cedar Hotel was made just for you. Spacious rooms and suites provide you with the best in comfort and amenities. That is, if you ever spend any time in them. Located in the heart of the casino, Great Cedar is close to all kinds of dining, entertainment, shopping and gaming options. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing