We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel located right in the casino. The room was ready much sooner than expected. The room was great but not as good as the Grand Pequot. For a night of dinner and gambling it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitojaluia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    93
    59
    18
    19
See reviews for
47
103
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and were surprised that the quality we remembered from past years was gone. The staff were very good but the room was only OK. There were no towel racks in the bathroom so we had to be creative in hanging up the face towels. There were 2 sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. This was a nice touch, but they only provided one bar of soap so we could not use the second sink. We had requested a late checkout, but the room key stopped working at 11am instead of 12pm. The staff on the floor let us into the room to get our luggage and they were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean. The temperature control was warmer/colder with no temp settings.

Room Tip: Ask for a comp upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed here multiple times throughout the years. At one point, she preferred it over Foxwood's flagship hotel, Grand Pequot. Those days are gone.

The hotel looks worn. If you didn't know it, you'd think you were in a 3 star motel at best. At our last stay, my wife was struggling to find a comfortable spot on the mattress that obviously should have been retired years ago.

The bathroom is nothing to write home about (here again, it's what you would expect from a motel). Our kids found the triangular window seat charming when they were younger. They're still orange, behind orange sheers. We dump our luggage on the seat.

The walls are thin. Compound that with this being a casino hotel, and, well... don't expect a good night's sleep if you share the floor with raucous neighbors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
225 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent an overnight at the Great Cedar Hotel. This was a comped visit. I asked if there were any complimentary upgrades and we were upgraded to a full suite on the top floor. There was a full living room with a window seat, full sofa, love seat and wet bar. Two bathrooms; one of which had a jacuzzi tub and separate water closet. The bedroom had a king size bed, window seat and a very large closet. The room was somewhat dated but the space more than made up for the 80's decor. My husband loved the room!

Room Tip: As the title says, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I get a room here once a month just to get away and relax. The room is very wonderful and the price is very affordable. The view from one of the top floors are very pleasant. The service is great, the room service is great and the pool and spa tops off a wonderful stay at this hotel. We would recommend ANYONE to stay here if you have the chance to. Its a fantastic place and you would enjoy yourself tremendously. Great great place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mejias1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

First off, the location of the actual hotel was wonderful. Right in the heart of everything. HOWEVER, the location of our room was less than favorable. Which is a very polite way of saying it sucked.
If I hadn't had been absolutely starving when we arrived, I would have asked for a different room. Our view was of the bus terminal and I was a little jealous of all the guest here saying they had beautiful views if the mountains and trees. Also, we had a HUGE walk from the elevator to our room. And walking back after wearing 4 inch heels at 2 am was less than ideal. We looked for another elevator or another way down but couldn't find one. But I got over it.

The room in general was beautiful!!!!! I was quite impressed. The bed was great, and everything was clean. However, that mirror in the bedroom area has GOT TO GO! It was very warped!! Not at all what a girl wants to look into before getting ready for a night out! I actually climbed up on the bathtub to get a better view in the bathroom mirror! Hah!

I didn't use their pool, I looked at it, but decided to go over to the spa at their sister hotel which was fantastic and well worth the walk.

Overall nice stay. We had fun and would stay again, with a few requests!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a suite in the Great Cedar. It was great as always. We have stayed at the MGM and the Grand Pequot before and we always like the Great Cedar the best. The front desk is always nice. Housekeeping are always extra friendly and so is all the other staff. I definitely recommend anyone looking to stay in the casino to stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank country860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.4 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods

Property: Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Address: 350 Trolley Line Blvd, Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06338-3830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like to be right in the middle of all the action, the AAA Three Diamond Great Cedar Hotel was made just for you. Spacious rooms and suites provide you with the best in comfort and amenities. That is, if you ever spend any time in them. Located in the heart of the casino, Great Cedar is close to all kinds of dining, entertainment, shopping and gaming options. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing