We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Face Lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Poor Face Lift”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the casino before. However this is the first time we stayed in the Grand Cedars. We normally stay in the hotel formally known as the MGM Grand. However, the walk from the MGM always feels like an eternity. So we decided to try the Great Cedars. For those of you that don't know the Great Cedars is an older hotel at Foxwoods. We had a toe rom suite. The room was updated; however, it was very apparent that the updates were done in haste and little maintenance has been done to maintain the room. Out bathroom shower door handle was caulked back quite poorly and the shower door wouldn't shut. Therefore, we had water all over the floor. There was also puddles on water around the jacuzzi tub. That grossed me out a little. The hotel is old. Although they have tried to update it, I believe they were quickly and cheaply done. Maybe staying in the newer MGM is worth the walk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JackAttack3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    96
    61
    18
    19
See reviews for
50
107
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent the night on February 26th to celebrate my husbands b.d.Bad enough all of the comp rooms were taken(as they said)we ended up paying $94.29 for a miserable night.Put us on the 6th floor facing the bus area.All night long could hear buses coming and going besides the trucks making deliveries.It seemed as if all night long all we could hear was the flushing of the toilet from the room next to us.Went down to the casino at 7a.m. to get a cup of coffee,not one drink person in sight....I will never pay for another room at Foxwoods,if it wasen't for my husband's b.d.wouldn't had even gone.Left at 10 to go to Mohegan for their buffet as it is really worth the price,$10.00 it's really a deal and a half .Hopefully other gamblers have better luck at Foxwoods because for the past year or so they just take our money....so I really paid more than $94.29 for this horrible time spent there...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mashantucket hotels

Waterford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Went with mom and daughter for midwinter getaway. Room was Nicely decorated, beds very comfortable and nice view. Indoor pool area not as nice as grand Pequot tower, so was a little disappointed in this, small and outdated. Otherwise pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shannon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel located right in the casino. The room was ready much sooner than expected. The room was great but not as good as the Grand Pequot. For a night of dinner and gambling it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitojaluia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and were surprised that the quality we remembered from past years was gone. The staff were very good but the room was only OK. There were no towel racks in the bathroom so we had to be creative in hanging up the face towels. There were 2 sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. This was a nice touch, but they only provided one bar of soap so we could not use the second sink. We had requested a late checkout, but the room key stopped working at 11am instead of 12pm. The staff on the floor let us into the room to get our luggage and they were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean. The temperature control was warmer/colder with no temp settings.

Room Tip: Ask for a comp upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed here multiple times throughout the years. At one point, she preferred it over Foxwood's flagship hotel, Grand Pequot. Those days are gone.

The hotel looks worn. If you didn't know it, you'd think you were in a 3 star motel at best. At our last stay, my wife was struggling to find a comfortable spot on the mattress that obviously should have been retired years ago.

The bathroom is nothing to write home about (here again, it's what you would expect from a motel). Our kids found the triangular window seat charming when they were younger. They're still orange, behind orange sheers. We dump our luggage on the seat.

The walls are thin. Compound that with this being a casino hotel, and, well... don't expect a good night's sleep if you share the floor with raucous neighbors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent an overnight at the Great Cedar Hotel. This was a comped visit. I asked if there were any complimentary upgrades and we were upgraded to a full suite on the top floor. There was a full living room with a window seat, full sofa, love seat and wet bar. Two bathrooms; one of which had a jacuzzi tub and separate water closet. The bedroom had a king size bed, window seat and a very large closet. The room was somewhat dated but the space more than made up for the 80's decor. My husband loved the room!

Room Tip: As the title says, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.4 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,732 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods

Property: Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Address: 350 Trolley Line Blvd, Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06338-3830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like to be right in the middle of all the action, the AAA Three Diamond Great Cedar Hotel was made just for you. Spacious rooms and suites provide you with the best in comfort and amenities. That is, if you ever spend any time in them. Located in the heart of the casino, Great Cedar is close to all kinds of dining, entertainment, shopping and gaming options. So, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing