We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Tasting Was A Rip Off”

Alta Strada Foxwoods
Reserve with OpenTable
Alta Strada Foxwoods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Mashantucket
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 2
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We attended a wine tasting on their patio which was billed / touted as offering numerous wine and appetizer entrees. The majority of apps were pizzas, made with different toppings or cheeses. There were small trays of Italian salamis and there were several marinated vegetable offerings. All of them were appetizing / well prepared and, to the credit of the restaurant, were replenished frequently (in part, necessitated by the very small size of the serving plates).
Now the negatives:
- Reservations were (supposedly) required to limit the number of attendees. Despite this, there were only enough tables for about half of the guests.
- The event was held on a Sunday. Sunday happens to be the day when the MGM (where this restaurant is located), holds their "pool party". The pool is immediately adjacent to the restaurant's patio and there is VERY LOUD BASS driven music being played by a DJ. The bass is so loud that it literally vibrates one's insides and makes conversation impossible. However, it does help to encourage digestion. :-/
- Worst of all: the wine pourings were, honestly, less than a shot glass full each time. One could literally take one sip and be done. Of course, one could purchase a moderately sized glass of any of the wines for a mere $10. The whole wine experience was RIDICULOUS and completed, what we view as a total rip off at $20 / person + tax! Stay away from their wine tastings! If you're willing to pay the price, sit inside and enjoy the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The place was wonderful. Great food and service. The pasta dish I had was cooked to perfection. I normally don't put too much emphasis on atmosphere but this was really nice

Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Really good dish seafood meadly dish. Food was good. Be careful is pricy apps and drinks same price. To be expected in fine dining. I will go back but will watch the alcohol consumption.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tophat411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn M, Guest Relations Manager at Alta Strada Foxwoods, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi,

We first off want to thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent dining experience at Alta Strada. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Seafood medley and appreciate your feedback regarding the pricing. We look forward to the opportunity to showcase a new spring and summer drink list and hope you can join us on the patio on your next visit!

All Our Best,
Alta Strada Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant due to its location to MGM theater. I ordered/ate Mushroom Ravioli which was good with average portion, but not worth $24 . Ginger-ale was more seltzer than ginger favor , so we sent it back. Friend ordered Chicken Parmesan appetizer, which they were quite pleased with for half the price and similar portion. If I go again, I'll order appetizers .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iliketotaketrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn M, Guest Relations Manager at Alta Strada Foxwoods, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi,

We first want to thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent trip to Alta Strada. We are less than pleased to hear of your take away from your visit but appreciate the feedback regarding pricing. Alta Strada prides itself in quality and service and we look forward to the opportunity to see you on your next trip, hopefully in time for our new Spring menu!

All Our Best,
Alta Strada Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Went before a concern last weekend; was going to choose a chicken dish until they told us that all the pasta (except the rigatoni and spaghetti) is handmade in house. Wow. Had a taste of everyone's at the table and they were ALL excellent, especially the tortellini with leeks and pistachios. Starve yourself all day so you can splurge on this pasta. Well worth it and our server was fantastic.

Thank vespucciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn M, Guest Relations Manager at Alta Strada Foxwoods, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi!

We would like to first thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent trip to Alta Strada. We are love to hear you enjoyed the pasta selections and we look forward to the opportunity to see you upon your next visit!

All Our Best,
Alta Strada Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alta Strada Foxwoods also viewed

Mashantucket, Mystic Country
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 

Been to Alta Strada Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing