We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring breakers ruin our trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spring breakers ruin our trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Came for a few days with my son. Stayed at the former MGM which is now called Fox Tower. Spring Breakers were everywhere. Drunk, disorderly and disrespectful. A group stayed in a hotel room adjacent to ours. Parties, slamming doors, obscenities and loud music from 8pm-4:30 am. Called security 5 times. No answer last two calls. Drunken 20-somethings slumped in hallways and throughout the hotel. The Shrine Night Club had some kind of spring break special.

Other guests had similar complaints. Now I understand why the rooms were discounted. Never come during spring break. I asked to be moved to a different part of the resort but they could not accommodate my request. Just a nightmare.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radiiochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory M, Front Office Manager at The Fox Tower at Foxwoods, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good afternoon radiiochick, My Name is Cory Merriman and I am the Front Office Manager at The Fox Tower. Please accept my apologies for the uncomfortable situations you encountered during your last visit. Please know that we are working on ways to control these type of situations. I would like you to contact me directly when you plan to return to our property so I can work with you in blocking your room and planning your stay. Thank you for your candid feedback, I look forward to hearing from you.

Cory Merriman
Front Office Manager - The Fox Tower
(860)312-8759
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    459
    174
    84
    88
See reviews for
196
688
45
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a very satisfying property. The room was well appointed and fully equipped except it lacked a room safe.

There was no information about restaurants, shops or other features that might be available; hopefully this will change by our next visit.

We were on the 24th floor with a magnificent view of southeastern Connecticut. During the early morning hours we were awakened by water pouring down on us from above. The staff moved us to another equal room several floors lower. At 6 am in the morning, after finally getting back to sleep, a cleaning crew was in the hallway with an industrial sized vacuum cleaning the rug. Needless to say it woke us up, at first the operator did not want to stop but after my suggesting she call her supervisor she ceased.

Upon check out we replayed the overnight events to the front desk manager was asked about some compensation as a result of the mishap; she said that they would give us a complimentary night equal in value to what we had. This was perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNYWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is the second time we stayed at the hotel/casino . The service and accomodations were excellent. I always leave a tip for the houskeeper for a properly cleaned room but this is the first time I have ever had the houskeeper leave me a thank you note and also thank me in person for the gratuity. That could be good lesson for other hotels to emulate as it lets you know that it is genuinely appreciated. The only negative I have about the hotel is that there is only one casual restaurant and one gourmet restaurant. Even though though the connection to the other hotels is indoor, the walk is long and can be hard on anyone with physical problems. I can say that Juniors Restaurant in the MGM is a great place to eat based on the qualityand quantity of their servings. The wait staff and all others are very pleasant and make it very enjoyable to eat there.
Even so, more choices would be nicer rather than the small food court they have. The casino is rather small but you can go to the other hotel casinos which are much larger . I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor especially for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awesomebillfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed that the MGM Grand for one Saturday night. The room was above average, but the bathroom was extremely nice, great shower, all glass/tile/granite, great vanity, soaps/shampoo etc from a local spa-nice touch. Ordered room service and it came quick. Great stay. Would go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandaman711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is located inside the casino with it's own entrance for valet parking. This hotel is a bit modern compared to the other hotels there. We had a two bedroom room with 2 queen beds which were comfortable. There was a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room and an ice machine a few steps down from our door. The bathroom was rather large with a stand up shower and plenty of towels. When you enter the elevator you will have a choice of going to the main floor of the cedar's hotel that way you are right where the action is. There is breakfast place that you can either sit down or a fast eatery and a few stores within the casino area.
There are slot machines and also table, craps and roulette.

There is one night club on this side that caters mainly to a younger 20's crowd but many at Foxwoods to choose from. All in all our stay was relaxing and enjoyable.

If you want to walk to Foxwoods gambling area it is a long walk so be prepared.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I received a complimentary room through the mail. We had the week off and said what the heck, let's hit the casino.

We were very pleased with everything. We arrived early and they let us go to our room immediately.

We had a great view. The windows in the bathroom are floor to ceiling, make sure you close the one by the water closet. :)

The shower had a built in seat.

The best part, at the foot of the bed stored a rising flat screen tv, with remote control. Loved that!

David Burke Prime was a great option for lunch. The lobster bisque was amazing!

Room Tip: second floor, corner room, lots of windows and great view of forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for one night and overall enjoyed our stay. Booked with Groupon and received VIP check in, which was great and got our $25 dollar dining coupon.

The hotel room was very clean and nice. We stayed on the 27th floor and got a beautiful view of the woods. There were some negatives however. Our mini bar was completely empty and we were missing a sheet from our bed. The coffee machine in our room was also broken.

I really liked the MGM Grand even with a few flaws. I would definitely return, especially if I find the same Groupon deal again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topher787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.3 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
#3 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
0.3 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Tower at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Property: The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Address: 350 Trolley Line Boulevard, Mashantucket, CT 06338-3830 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower at Foxwoods 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the AAA Four Diamond Fox Tower is everything you've imagined. As soon as you step into the circular lobby, all your senses become engaged. You see the modern design. You hear the upbeat music. You can't wait to taste, touch and experience all the incredible shopping and entertainment options. And it gets even better when you arrive at your beautifully appointed room and meet our ever-accommodating team. A visit to the incomparable G Spa and grand outdoor pool make the fantasy complete. The Fox Tower isn't just a hotel. It's a dream come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Fox Tower at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing